We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway”
Review of Fairways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairways Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Salt Rock B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We booked this hotel with a groupon voucher. Due to unforeseen circumstances, we needed to change our booking dates at the last minute. Stefanie was very pleasant and accommodating with all our changes.
The room was tastefully decorated and the bathroom was stunning.
Beds were hard and aircon was noisy, reducing sleep quality. TV was in an awkward viewing position with not many channels to choose from.
There was no braai stand available for us, but we were then allowed to use our own braai stand.
Clean jacuzzi & pool. We did not eat at the restaurant, although the breakfast did smell & looked great.
Some lovely restaurants and pubs in da area.

Room Tip: We had room 9, which was quiet, and did not get any smell of fried food from the kitchen or cockroac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharnay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    38
    15
    26
See reviews for
41
77
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed as a family of six from 6 to 8 December 2013. The location is great and the rooms tastefully decorated. The only issue I had is that all the food is fried and the entire establishment has a smell of fried food at mealtimes. I would prefer that an option of grilled food be offered. An extraction fan in the kitchen is essential.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor rooms facing Fairways road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinstone84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Excellent location. A stone throw away from the beach. The rooms are very romantic. Meals are excellent and the hospitality received from Samantha is in a class of its own. Samantha treats you like royalty!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Not a 4 star at all must be a B&B, I will not give this place a 1 star!
Bought 9 days through Groupon, stay only 6 days.
Cleaning lady at reception.
Place needs a serious renovation, cracks in bathroom, patio in very bad condition.
Dust on bathroom blinds.
No extractor fans in kitchen, oily smells in our room.
Food and display below average, the serving dish covers over the yogurt are cracked.
I will never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kobus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salt Rock hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We did not have high expectations but boy were we surprised, the room was a amazing, the bathroom even more so, the service outstanding, the food very good and amazing wifi and conveniently located across the road from the beach, we really were pleasantly surprised by this small establishment that really knows how to look after their guests and will certainly be our place of choice on the North Coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

i have to say that myself and my family had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We occupied 2 rooms.
We had a wonderful stay and will definitely come back, as well as refer our friends and family too. All the facilities were clean, maintained and modern.
The rooms we stayed in were "out of this world" and the bathrooms were stunning. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The service very good. The restaurant had wonderful food and the service was excellent!
The staff where so friendly and helpful. they couldn't do enough for us!
We come from UK and our stay certainly gave us a feeling of what South Africa is all about!
AWESOME!!!!
You can walk to the beach from this hotel..... so refreshing !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dueban
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay and will definitely come back, as well as refer our friends and family too. All the facilities were clean, maintained and modern.
The bathrooms are stunning. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The service very good. The meals very nice

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
0.9 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
83 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Montagne
La Montagne
#5 of 17 in Ballito
257 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Beach Forest Lodge
Beach Forest Lodge
#2 of 17 in Ballito
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petite Provence B&B
Petite Provence B&B
#3 of 12 in Salt Rock
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lalaria
Lalaria
#1 of 3 in Shaka's Rock
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways Hotel

Property: Fairways Hotel
Address: 3 Fairway Drive, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fairways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing