We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall average experience”
Review of Fairways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairways Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Salt Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The "hotel" is more of a B&B but without the welcoming owners to make the experience homely.
There is no reception, we were greeted by a maid who couldnt answer any questions about the hotel or the local area. She simply presented us with a preprinted page. The hotel is sold as a boutique spa, however we were given no details of the spa, and on further enquiry there is just a room a few local girls use from time to time to do treatments. This is hardly a spa. On our last day we found out there was a jaccuzzi and pool, but no-one mentioned these facilities prior to us discovering them, as there is no in room folder that is usually present at hotels.

The breakfast is below average, with a small selection of food that is repeated daily. The "orange juice" is more of a concentrate mixture.

The reception area houses a comfortable couch with plenty of local reading material.

However the room itself was lovely. Tastefully decorated, with an HUGE en-suite bathroom, containing an almost outdoor shower and a spa bath. The bath products provided were good, and I love the touch of the candles. The maid service was amazing, and they even packed our personal bags properly, which was surprising to discover.

The hotel was being renovated during our stay, so there was quite a bit of noise, however the place needed it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 152 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Although the rooms were comfortable, this is not a Four star experience or what I expected from the expectations created from the hotel website. The kitchen staff double up as everything. There were no reception on arrival no manager or host to be seen for an entire 3 days we stayed. The hotel is in serious need of maintenance and in some places just cleaning up. this was a very disappointing experience coming from a four star bed and breakfast I really expected for this to a better stay.This hotel is not recommended for the price and what the entire experience offered. This hotel is in serious need of the owners involvement and attention.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VdC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is not a hotel but rather a local b and b. Does not deserve 4 star rating. No host for dinner. 2 cooks that double as waitresses. Full view of kitchen from dining area. Not a fine dining experience.dining area looks neat though.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank durbz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A very well situated small hotel. Room was very comfortable with an amazing bathroom - only problem was that the water pressure slowed to an absolute trickle when other taps in other rooms were in use.Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauPaSat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel is in a very pretty location, virtually opposite the beautiful Salt Rock Beach on the Indian Ocean, in Kwa Zulu Natal. The design of the room I stayed in was very chique, pleasant, relaxed and the staff were very cool. I booked and paid via the internet for a stay of ten nights. On the morning of the third day, I was told that all the other guests had left, I was to be sole occupant and that no other guests were due for seven days. That presented a problem, since I was a woman travelling solo, and there was neither management, nor security in the hotel after early evening. The maintenance man, was the security. Can't imagine why this hotel was to be devoid of guests for a week, it is so pretty, but I didn't feel comfortable to be the only person in the entire place. I asked for a refund, since I felt for security reasons I could not stay on my own in this building, but the owner, would not refund Rand 4,500, or in fact refund any money at all.
So, the decor is good, the surroundings are excellent, but the care of the owner, leaves something to be desired for a traveller from overseas.

Room Tip: A good location, rooms not too bad, although some guests had electrical issues, and hot water shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Got a bit worried when our reservation was not found in the system - but situation wass corrected. Room was well laid out. surprised with the fridge and welcome drinks.
Have never seen a bathroom like this before - took lots of photos and may steal some designs.
Walked 400 meters to the restaurant for dinner.
Breakfast was ok - but if i wanted better i should have paid for a better hotel.
The late night swim was wonderfull.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mathias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
0.9 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
105 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petite Provence B&B
Petite Provence B&B
#3 of 12 in Salt Rock
180 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Sheffield Beach
B&B Sheffield Beach
#8 of 12 in Salt Rock
1 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Jaime
Villa Jaime
#3 of 18 in Ballito
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways Hotel

Address: 3 Fairway Drive, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Rock
Price Range: $82 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairways Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Fairways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing