We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Palace Citta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Citta
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Arco
salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for a week from the 18th September. It was a special deal with Island getaways. However it was cheap because the room was awful. The only good thing was it was clean. Very substandard. The bathroom was 1950's. The shower base had a big crack in it and the shelves etc were yellow plastic! Ugh. There was no mirror over the dressing table. The mirror in the wardrobe was so high I could n't see and certainly nt full length. I am 5 6.1/2 so not short. The hairdryer had a crack in it and was kept together with tape.
The food was o.k but the breakfast had a lot of processed food unless you wanted lots of pastries/croissants. Some of the staff were really nice and some were not so.
Arco was a pretty area away from the lake worth visiting and with a bus stop opposite the hotel made it easy to get about. Lake Garda was beautiful, clean and tidy with lovely Venetian architecture. I have difficulty in walking distances but there were loads of seats about which was very helpful. We took advantage of excursions and the Dolomite's were great. Wonderful scenery and a brilliant tour guide with Armish, a funny man with good local knowledge.

Room Tip: Make sure you get rooms lower than level 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalisburyAvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    61
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
32
65
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very friendly, bedding/towels changed daily, continental and English breakfast, beautiful location, quieter than on the Lake, but plenty of things to see and do, lots of bars and restaurants in the town, stunning castle. Very reasonable drinks and snacks. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was not one of the better rooms, although we still had a small balcony. I would avoid book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionAna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed here seven nights. We had a great week. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Pool ideal for lazing by. Food very good (but because there were some incredible but inexpensive restaurants across in the piazza we decided to eat out on a few evenings). Hotel is in the middle of beautiful medieval village, complete with castle. Lots to see and do in Arco. Bus to Riva Del Garda goes from opposite hotel every half hour and costs very little. Very nice riverside walk or riverside cycle down to the waters edge of Lake Garda. We loved Palace Hotel and Arco and feel any other sane person will love them too.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony room. Views of the mountains are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Manfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Good lounge and bar area. Staff friendly and helpful. Food got better as week went on (continental breakfast and four choices of evening meal, nice sweet's) Pool area nice but not heated. Rooms large as was the bathroom very modern with bidet. Although this hotel is 5km from the lake, there are stunning views from the rooms and a bus station opposite the hotel which is convenient to travel to different parts of Italy cheaply. All in all we had a wonderful holiday in Italy which we shall remember fondly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed for three nights and apart from one night lamp not working and not getting fixed after being promised, and there not being quite enough parking spaces, we had a great time here. The room was spacious and clean with good furniture and the pool was great, with enough lawn chairs for all. We did not dine here so cannot rate the food apart from breakfast, which was pretty much standard. All in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zzzjerrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze, Toscana, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I had to go to Riva del Garda for a wedding ceremony and I was especially excited when I called this hotel and they immediately welcomed us with our dog. I plan weddings all over Italy and I know that the country is not particularly pet-friendly. I was looking for a place to stay close to Riva to meet up with the couple getting married and I had called many places that claimed to be pet friendly but turned out to be unfriendly when I actually requested a room. The Palace Citta not only was accommodating for our pet needs but it was also clean despite having quite a few four-legged guests. Although we ended up leaving our dog at home with family, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the hotel restaurant was excellent. The Palace Citta hotel is located in downtown Arco, a lovely sports-minded village just up the hill from Riva del Garda. A bike trail takes you all the way to the lake and the villagers are all friendly and helpful. There's a beautiful botanical garden with an enormous Redwood straight from home in California. If you're travelling around Italy, put Arco on your itinerary and definitely stay at the Palace Citta hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine, on any floor as there is an elevator. Although located on a main road there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The street outside is one-way but sat-nav didn't have this update. Good parking and entrance lobby gives good impression with PC and WiFi available. Restaurant looked superb, we didn't eat there but an English guest said the food was good. Reception staff very helpful.

The stair carpet looked very tired probably due to overuse because the lift is smaller than a phone box!

The room was excellent in terms of space, wardrobes, bathroom and balcony. Modern good quality furniture the only thing to mar the room was a bulb burnt lampshade.

The spa pool had mould in the bottom but the main pool was clean

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arco
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Il Vigneto
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pace
Hotel Pace
#2 of 14 in Arco
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olivo
Hotel Olivo
#5 of 14 in Arco
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
832 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
988 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Everest Arco
Hotel Everest Arco
#11 of 14 in Arco
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Citta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Citta

Property: Palace Citta
Address: Viale Roma 10, 38062, Arco, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Arco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Arco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Citta 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Citta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Citta Arco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing