We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly campsite in a lovely area”
Review of Camping Zoo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Zoo
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Arco
Certificate of Excellence
Colne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A friendly campsite in a lovely area”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a campsite we would be happy to go back to. The staff were friendly and helpful, speaking good English (very handy as our Italian is non existent.) During our stay in the middle of September, all the facilities were kept clean and tidy and the swimming pool was a delight to return to after a warm day's climbing or cycling. There is a lot to do in this area - walking, climbing, cycling/mountain biking and the town of Arco, only a couple of km away, is charming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lele R, Responsabile reception at Camping Zoo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for the review, and hope to see you soon!
Best regards
Fam. Salvaterra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
36
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nice place to stay, with many possibilities for trips and activities. Bathrooms and toilets are cleaned often enough, but some campers are not so tidy! Many different nationalities. During the last weeks of the holidayperiod not much teenagers, so our teenage son had no friends. Friendly but distant owners. Swimmable river is very nice. Tiny shop in the reception has all essentials. The animal cages must defenitly be renewed! And offcourse campers use there bbq!!! It is the outdoor holiday, so anyone who is complaining about that is a .... After 23.00 h, no noise at all, but the river.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Smits S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lele R, Responsabile reception at Camping Zoo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for the review, and hope to see you soon!
Best regards
Fam. Salvaterra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spend a couple of nights here with some friend for Mountain biking. Have a look here for routes : http://gerribe.ch . The staff at the reception were super friendly. The camping shop has the bare necessities, the bread in the morning was delicious and fresh. The cleanliness in the showers / toilets was a hit and miss. It certainly is not super dirty, but having some moist towels with you is not a bad advise.

The pool area is great! You can really work out in the pool. Arco itself was 3-4 minutes on bicycle, so perhaps 15min walk. The little town is very nice.

The camping has free WiFi! around the reception area, so it is worth picking you spot there if those things are important to you. There is a possibility to rent bikes and sport equipment at the campsite.

We will return...

tschau zsäme

Room Tip: close top the reception area is free WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cowsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lele R, Responsabile reception at Camping Zoo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for the review, and hope to see you soon!
Best regards
Fam. Salvaterra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merkelbeek
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Camping Zoo is situated on the most beautiful place in Riva del Garda. Each time as we make the walk from the campsite to the little relax village of Arco I'm enjoying the scenery. The rocks, the castle on the top and the beautiful trees. We come here since 15 years and it never get's dull. There so much to do here, you can make beautiful hikes, make nice tours by bike, For watersport you can go to the lake which is 5 km away or in the river Sarca next to the camping. The camping is very nice and clean. The owners very friendly. The places are surrounded by beautiful plants.
In Arco you can eat good pizza's and icecreams.
Each year we come with a lot of friends and they also keep returning to this beautiful spot. Ciao from the Adams-family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andrelen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lele R, Responsabile reception at Camping Zoo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Ciao Adams family,
thanks for the review, and hope to see you soon!
Best regards
Fam. Salvaterra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We arrived for a week and left after just two nights, never to return. Camp owners absolutely insisted to keep our passports for the whole stay although I was willing to pay the whole stay upfront. They turned VERY UNFRIENDLY when I insisted that I want to keep our passports. Shower drains were clogged and smelly at least on two occassions. Very loud party camped next to us, noisy most of the night without owners willing to take any step to intervene. Poor dish-washing facility with no place to put washed dishes aside. Kids wandering around the camp with iPads hunting for free-wifi well past midnight. This is no hikers' campsite surrounded by mountains. It is a noisy lazy-bum town place that pretends to be something it is not. Oh, and the best bit: we did have to pay the whole week although we decided to leave after 2 nights.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lele R, Responsabile reception at Camping Zoo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi! We'll consider your point of view about the review.

Wish you all the best
Camping Zoo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vught, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We come here with oure family for many years. Every year there are new surprises in à positive way. Its a nice and clean campingsite with friendly owners. Big places with a lot of shadow and a swingingpool with clean water. Posibility to go fishing in the Sarca or climbing on the rocks or mountain on the otter site. A good place to rest after a day of mountainbiking, walging or surfing in the lake of Garda. Schouwers and toiletspiegel are clean and there is a good pizzeria in the nebourhood. Iets also posibel to rent a safaritent or a familyhome. We come here from 1976 and we like to come there for more years because iets feals like coming home and reuniting with the family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Koas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lele R, Responsabile reception at Camping Zoo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Google Translation
Thanks for the review, and hope to see you soon!
Vriendelijke groeten
Fam. Salvaterra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Rijp, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were here for te second time. It's a very nice campsite, friendly owners.
The bathrooms are clean but simple. Some toilet doors could not lock!
The campsite is beautiful, nice and quiet. There are places in the shade, and open, sunny places.
The swimming pool is great for the kids! There is a lifeguard all day (until 22u).
It's a great camping if you want to walk, mountainbike of climbing.
Every day there is fresh bread you can get in the shop of the campsite.
In Arco (5min by bike) you have the best ice creams you've ever tasted!!
The only thing we didn't like: the animals in the small cages :(

We will definitely come back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lele R, Responsabile reception at Camping Zoo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Google Translation
Thanks for the review, and hope to see you soon!
Vriendelijke groeten
Fam. Salvaterra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arco
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pace
Hotel Pace
#2 of 14 in Arco
138 reviews
6.8 mi away
Camping Daino
Camping Daino
#1 of 2 in Pietramurata
132 reviews
3.9 mi away
Camping Brione
Camping Brione
#9 of 40 in Riva Del Garda
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ab&c Arco Bed And Camping
0.7 mi away
Arco Camping
Arco Camping
#24 of 36 in Arco
24 reviews
4.2 mi away
Camping Maroadi
Camping Maroadi
#2 of 18 in Torbole
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Zoo

Property: Camping Zoo
Address: Via Legionari Cecoslovacchi 24, 38062, Arco, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Arco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Arco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FROM 24,00€ !! The ZOO CAMPING, managed by the SALVATERRA family since its opening in 1976. Offers an opportunity for a restful and ricreative holiday, sport and entertainment.We are 2km from the town Arco in a quiet area, far from traffic and immersed in shady trees. We also have places in the sun, to satisfy every request. The river Sarca flows next to the camping for all its length and is ideal for a picnic and a campfire or simply sunbathing. If you don't like the river we have a large swimmingpool (12x24m) at your disposition when open during the Summer.The children's playground is near the pool where little kids can pass their time with other children. If you have a dog or a cat, it is welcome without cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Camping Zoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing