We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad food, dark rooms, charmless hotel”
Review of Villa delle Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa delle Rose
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Arco
Reviewed November 1, 2012

this hotel is not recommendable! The whole building is very dark and makes the stay quite uncomfortable. The wine selection is bad, which is a shame when staying in Italy.
Especially the food was a bad joke. Vegetarian food is a foreign word there, the dinner menu changes between tomatoes with (bad) cheese, plain omelette with chips (4 stars hotel??? no way!) and pasta with packet sauce.
This is not ok, absolutely not worth the money.
The "swimming pool" is just a hole in the ground, the water in it is green and there is lots of dirt on its surface.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 372 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We arrived back on 20th October 2012 after staying in this dreadful hotel. The staff are very unhelpful the food (if you can call it food) appalling and the rooms are cold as the heating was not working. We booked on a Groupon offer with a company called holidaysbooked and I would advised people to avoid this company.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day all inclusive trip. Room was clean and serviced every day but the food was awful. The wine on tap was also dreadful which is a pity as there are many fine wines in Italy.
Reception was totally useless regarding advice on how to get anywhere. We booked on a Groupon offer with a company called Holidaysbooked.com and paid for transfer to and from the airport in our case Milan(Bergamo). We arrive very early in the morning but unfortunately the transfer did not. We spent a long time on the phone to both the hotel who insisted that they had nothing to do with the transfer and the travel agent. According to the Information Centre at the airport this is a regular occurrance with this company. After a two hour wait we called the travel agent again who informed us that the transfer was not coming and we should take a taxi to the hotel and they would refund us. The taxi cost 200 euros at the present time I am still waiting for my refund. The whole of the holiday was spoilt because nobody could tell me if the transfer would turn up for the return journey so I had to restrict my budget to allow for another 200 euros.
The only compensation was that Lake Garda was wonderful and I would recommend it but not this hotel and especially not Holidaysbooked.com

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adrasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay, basic but clean, clean towels daily, breakfast ok, dinner dreadful, staff nice. Good as a base to see the fantastic sights. Forget any reference to spa. We went as a group on offer so it was a good deal. The hotel is very dark, you have to search for light switches along all the corridors. Shame the poor food lets it down badly, otherwise pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Dark Dingy Damp Dull Decrepit Depressing!!

Our room was very dark and depressing. It had a decent shower. Serviced every day. For some reason there was an additional single bed in our room, this was badly broken and unusable so no point putting it in there...weird! My husband knelt on the bed and went straight through the middle! We were so displeased with the room when we arrived that we asked to be moved, the rude girl refused even though the hotel was absolutely deserted and they were not expecting more arrivals until late that night.

We were there for 5 nights unfortunately on an all inclusive basis. The food we were given was a luke warm insult so after braving 2 evening meals and one breakfast we gave up and ate out, an additional expense we did not expect or budget for. Afternoon tea consisisted of a plate of very poor quality swiss roll, tasted disgusting. Tea and coffee comes from a vending machine. The waiters were nice and tried their best. One waiter walked past our table waving his arms saying "The food is s*** the hotel is s***" And that really sums it up in a short sentence. My husband enjoyed the red wine on tap (you go and help yourself).

The outside pool was filthy with green gunge growing over the sides and base. The Spa area is completely closed with the indoor pool empty and spa rooms full of junk.

I do understand that some people have had a positive experience here, the staff are friendly and if you go with low expectations and extra money to eat out then fine. We however expected a decent 4* quality hotel, what we got was barely 2* Thankfully we got over it very early on and once we accepted that we were just going to use the hotel for a place to sleep and nothing more then we got on and enjoyed the stunningly beautiful Lake Garda. We will return to Lake Garda but not the Hotel Villa Delle Rose! Tired Tired should be Retired!!!

Room Tip: My Tip for choosing a good room....Go to a different Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NettyNoodles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Whatever you do, consider this hotel 1-star rather than what can only be assumed is a self-awarded 4-Star rating.

This is a very basic hotel. The rooms are very sparse/basic but do offer a place to sleep and have a shower, but nothing more. I would ignore any reference to a pool. Yes, there is a hole in the ground with water in it but the contamination floating in the pool made it more of a garden pond.

The food on the 'all-inclusive' option is to be avoided at all costs - the quality is appalling. Likewise the 'all-inclusive' self-service bar simply offers on-tap beer, white/red wine and a couple of bottles of Soda.

The whole ambiance of the hotel is dark, characterless and tired. Consider it a basic hostel rather than a hotel.

Do not surrender your passport on checking in. They will be rather persistent in insisting you leave your passport throughout your stay but be aware, they will leave it in an unsecured open box on display for all to see. The reception is rarely manned so your passport could be stolen at any time.

Okay ...you have read this before, but the staffs really are obnoxious. One waiter snatched a full plate full plate of salad from under the diner’s nose and confiscated it because the poor woman was sitting at the wrong table!


In summary, if you can get this hotel at a £20-30 per night, and are looking for a hostel rather than a hotel, it's a good location to explore Lake Garda. Otherwise, book elsewhere.

Room Tip: You will hear the traffic from any room you chose. One guest had to switch rooms 4 times for various...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Smudge_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Rooms spotlless,great staff .only there for 3 nights so food wasn't a problem.Great location with views of the castle. For all the time you spend in the hotel I have nothing negative to say about my break. and would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivo
Hotel Olivo
#5 of 14 in Arco
109 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Cantinota
La Cantinota
#4 of 14 in Arco
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pace
Hotel Pace
#2 of 14 in Arco
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#7 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
614 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Hotel Il Vigneto
2.5 mi away
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
#9 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa delle Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa delle Rose

Address: Via Santa Caterina 4/P, 38062, Arco, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Arco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Arco
Price Range: $97 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa delle Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern- relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa delle Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Delle Rose Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Delle Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing