We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Generic Wine Country Getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Santa Anastasia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Santa Anastasia
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castelbuono
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Generic Wine Country Getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It's apparently part of the Angala chain and maybe that's why I felt let down -- sometimes haughty/indifferent attitude at the front desk and a sort of generic, cliche "wine country getaway" feel to the whole place. It reminded me of some similar Napa Valley properties 30 or so years ago -- after the initial rave reviews they moved into a sort of stasis that nonetheless did not prevent them from attracting tourists, honeymooners and conference-goers for years to come.
However, the Relais is convenient if you want or need to be in the Madonie mountains or near Cefalu.

The lobby is nicely decorated. My room seemed sort of "modern posh country generic." The "reading room" or "library" that looked so cozy and inviting from the outside had a sort of over the top roccoco Versace-esque feel on the inside -- with piped-in Italian pop music to boot! Not my kind of reading place. The breakfast was only average and the staff there seemed harried.

I stayed there for 2 nights in mid-October.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank QQ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    108
    42
    11
    1
See reviews for
94
237
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent two lovely days here. The grounds and pool were beautiful, with gorgeous views. The public rooms are extremely attractive, and our room was spacious and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant both nights and found the prices to be reasonable and the food delicious. We drove up to Castelbuono one day - a very picturesque town quite close by. A tour of the winery at Santa Anastasia was a highlight and Paulo was a terrific guide. The rest of the staff was also very accomodating, and Maria Anna in reception was warm and friendly, a gracious woman who made us feel we were valued guests. We hope to return one day for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoandNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This place was so hard to find but well worth it when you get to it.
The entrance off the main road is a long steep lane through acres and acres of Vines and olives, such a pretty sight.
The hotel is a renovated Monastery and is in good condition, the staff were professional. Our room was very dark but nice and had plenty of storage with a nice size bathroom with plenty of toiletries, the tv was only so so and the mini bar was very poorly stocked. There are plenty of places to relax within the hotel. The pool was cool when we were there in October but the area is big and well furnished. WIFI is only available in the reception area. The breakfast is plentiful and tasty but having to keep getting the staffs attention for coffee was a bit off putting. The bar served good snacks and the restaurant was superb and good value. They have there own selection of wines and they are great value, but the best thing is you can taste them at a tour of the winery or in the restaurant and you can buy wines from them as cheap as the supermarkets.
I don't think it steps up to the five star international rating that you get from other international hotels such as Jumeirah Beach Dubai or Dromoland Castle Ireland. The Hotel, staff and surroundings have so much going for it that it's a pity it falls that little bit short.The Church on site is so romantic, if you are planning a wedding in Italy, this is the place to do it. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Make sure to visit the viewing area. Try the wines, savour the restaurant. Enjoy the drive through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The-Brummie091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wonderful place to spend a couple of relaxing nights. I think you need a car to get here, there is absolutely nothing around for miles.
Service in the restaurant is quite formal. Food is wonderful and there are some wine tasting lists that you can try out, which make it fun.
The pool area is nice and quiet, with plenty of sun loungers.
We drove to the town of Castelbuono in about 20 mins. It is a wee gem of a place with a fab castle and church to visit. I would stay at this place again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maeve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a very quiet place in a pretty setting - I wouldn't suggest kids. Two of us stayed in a standard room which was plenty big enough and full of character. We opted for dinner in the restaurant with the "premium" wine tasting for two (€20 each). Dinner was excellent. Very good service throughout. There are some beautiful rooms to explore, relax in and you can climb the hill above their vineyards to view the sea. Generally, we were completely pleased with the experience already but then I couldn't believe how low the bill was at the end. Outstanding value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phantom_in_Cobham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hidden-away off the road into the mountains from Cefalu to Castelbuono, this quiet old monastery has some lovely rooms and a beautiful swimming pool overlooking the north coast. The room we had was spacious and comfortable. Quite dark - not much light and lots of dark wood giving the impression of a hunting lodge in winter. It's a short drive either to the beaches of Cefalu or to the pretty hill town of Castelbuono. Would recommend eating out of the hotel as the restaurant experiences we had here were frustrating - the food, when it came, was ok but service was shambolic, and for a winery restaurant I was surprised how difficult it was to get a glass or two. Breakfast spread (and service) was poor compared to other similarly classed hotels we had stayed in in Sicily. 

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_tedders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gharghur, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Relais Santa Anastasia for 1 night. It's not easy to find but once you get there its lovely. Amazing views, food, service and comfortable large rooms. The relays is an old abbey and is full of character. There is also a pretty little chapel and a cosy reading room with a very large fireplace. Great place.
Will def be going there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelbuono
5.0 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 36 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
59.7 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
92.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#10 of 72 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
40.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
66.8 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Santa Anastasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Anastasia

Property: Relais Santa Anastasia
Address: Contrada Sant'Anastasia SNC | Autostrada A20, 90013 Castelbuono, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Castelbuono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castelbuono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Santa Anastasia 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Relais Santa Anastasia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Santa Anastasia Castelbuono, Sicily, Italy
Relais Santa Anastasia Hotel Castelbuono

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing