We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gem found in castelbuono.”
Review of Nangalarruni

Nangalarruni
Reserve with
Nangalarruni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Castelbuono
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Level Contributor
353 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great gem found in castelbuono.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and that weren't wrong. Great little place with a cozzy atmosphere off the betten track a little. This plae had the next steak we have had I. Sicily yet and the pasta was good. Our friend had the four course vegetarian chef special. It was great too. The wine recommended was fantastic too. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmccauley2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    244
    73
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg
Level Contributor
500 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Genuine food for food lovers”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Rustic? Yes. Authentic? Definitely. Passionate? Without any doubt! Addictive? YEAH SURE! We got recommendations for this restaurant (who comes with lots of praise from Tripadvisor contributors and Guide Michelin as well) before leaving for Sicily, from friends who had been there. The staff at our lovely hotel (the Relais Santa Anastasia) agreed. So, of course, our journey started here, day after arrival. And we just kept coming back... You have to book! Not necessarily long in advance, but book. So many people get turned away in the door. Remember, this is a small place. The chef, Guiseppe Carollo, is famous from TV, Slow Food and magazines. He was present all the time we were there (even if we overheard him telling some Italian friends that he was going to Rome to make a TV show for Rai earlier this week). The place is packed with people every day, and they work hard in the kitchen to fulfill everyone's needs. Lots of locals, visiting Italians and foreigners (but the latter group were in minority). There is a menu, some set menues and also an offer for a Chef's menu (at €32 for four courses) or the Chef's degustation starters (€14 for one, €18 for two persons). This is a bargain!! Top food quality, mountain food, lots of funghi (right now basilisco, see photo), wild boar (which is the pig from an area not far away from the Madonie and Castelbuono, where they have a small black wild boar delivering lots of goodies, like meat and ham to various dishes). All pasta is made in the house and usually wholemeal (!!). The stinco (leg of wild boar) is to kill for. Or die for. The tagliata with truffle and a purée of onions and potatoes, too. Cheeses, salami, ham, ricotta with condiments as well. Even the desserts! A substantial wine list when it comes to Sicilian wines, and some really good other wines as well. But why go elsewhere? Try the best of Sicily!! One of the wines we had came from chef's own cellar! He is the president of the U.V.A. club - uva is Italian for grape, but in this case an abbreviation for Unione Volontare Alcollizzati, something like the union of the volontary alcoholdrinkers. Our only regret is that Nangalarruni is not next door to us! Just go there!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanochBarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic mountain cuisine”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Small, ethnic restaurant in the centre of Castelbuono; very interesting menu strong on wild boar and funghi. Charming patron who knows the best local wines. Great atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oldromantics66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
235 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“A real treat up in the hills”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nangalarruni was a recommended restaurant: it took a bit of exploring Castelbuono to find it, set just off a main street. The interior is warm and woody, the proprietor is warm and helpful. The clientele is a mix of local families celebrating special events and well-dressed tourists looking for the food experience. The truffle dishes are superb and service was attentive. The Sicilian wines are a wonderful accompaniment, the house wines are full and smooth. Recommended, start to finish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss out!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you are anywhere near Castelbuono then Nangalarruni is a must! Our charming guide Carmelina Ricciardello ( great great person and guide) introduced us to this comfortable, genuinely rustic restaurant. We had a light lunch that we do not think can be duplicated anywhere. Every dish was superb. If you like mushrooms you will not ever eat them again like this! They were beyond delicious and not to be missed. Our genial host specializes in funghi (mushrooms and truffles). There are many other choices including home cured and roasted meats, cheeses and items such as seasonal wild asparagus and greens ( all collected from the surrounding country side by local people and brought to the restaurant daily). There is also a fine selection of wines both Sicilian and mainland to choose from. We had an organic red from the district which was superb. The service was expert and friendly and for what we had very reasonably priced!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoustonTexasUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nangalarruni also viewed

Castelbuono, Province of Palermo
Castelbuono, Province of Palermo
 
Castelbuono, Province of Palermo
Castelbuono, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Nangalarruni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing