We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I've been there this weekend 23/25 mar”
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Hotel
MALTA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I've been there this weekend 23/25 mar”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were there this weekend its really far from the centre of catania the receptionist wasn't that nice too !! dogs really could be heard barking . nice rooms and clean too . but to far to get back to after a long day shopping in catania or else could appriciate a little more privacy at our room . Really difficult to find believe it or not even our last day we still could not find it easy to get to the hotel with the gps obvious !!!

Room Tip: its a nice hotel and clean. staff not that polite ,and far from centre and difficult to find the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALEX S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    80
    59
    13
    6
See reviews for
35
57
5
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The property looks like it has been a very good hotel, and it still is of great value. We stayd here 2 nights in late July and really enjoyed it. Very, very quiet place, fabulous pool area in the garden, 25 m pool where you can actually have a swimming workout or just lay down lazy. No trafic around, you can really hear the birds singing. Free wifi is very nice for the price. You need a car to stay here, some 10-15 mins from cental Catania (=Duomo). We had some problems finding our way back in the dark after dinner. The hotel has a restaurant but we never tried it, looked nice but a bit expensive if you compare to room price. Extremely helpfull people at the front desk. Surprisingly few customers, the pool could handle 50-100 people easily, but there was less than 10 any given hr of the day, very calm and relaxing. The breakfast buffet is not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel, but it is reasonable and eatable. Great free parking area.
If you are looking for great pool, free wifi, midlevel rooms, good parking at a reasonable price in Catania, this hotel is a very good choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scandinavian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

The Garden Hotel was modern, clean, and the staff was helpful and friendly. A standout was Lorenzo, our driver that picked us up at the airport and shuttled us to/from town. You have to know going in that this hotel is miles from Catania proper. You can take a shuttle into town from the hotel, but it costs 35 Euros each way. It is located in a residential neighborhood, so there is really no where to walk/shop around the hotel. The restaurant in the hotel was quite good and we enjoyed each meal. One night I had the "fish of the day" and it was supurb. Breakfast was substantial and included hard boiled eggs, cheese, meats, breads, fruit, cereal, yogurt and beverages. On our last morning, the shuttle driver overslept (not Lorenzo) and we were taken to the airport 45 minutes later than we had originally planned. All connections were made, but it did cause stress. This hotel was an overnight stop to and from our final destination, so the remoteness didn't bother us too much. If we had assumed it was in Catania, we would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinghomebody09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We were really looking forward to my stay in this 4* hotel as the pictures (especially the swimming pool) looked amazing and were couldn't wait to get there.
The hotel was in the middle of nowhere but wasn't that far from the airport, so we had to pay astronomical amount for our taxi (90 Euros). The location of the hotel is really inconvenient as there is no town in a walking distance apart from a little caffe and a shop. So be prepared to spend lots of money on a taxis. The pool is CLOSED out of season and we were not informed about this. There were no sun beds near the pool. The pool itself doesn't look very well maintained out of season either.
The food in the hotel was awful, we found it tastless and we suspect nothing was cooked from fresh! The restaurant had two menus, one being the pizza menu which was not available. The dinner menu was printed only in Italian (We don't speak Italian). Then we were charged 50 euros for this dinner at the end of the stay which wedon't believe was correct?
The breakfast was very limited to bread, ham, cheese, boiled egg, croissants and yogurt so after seven days eating the same menu we were not impressed. I'm not sure how we would feel after a two weeks stay!
The hotel room's walls are very thin so you could hear everything going on in the room next to you, which wasn't pleasant. We had to move rooms once as we were woken up by a guy snoring in the next room.
The double bed had two single mattresses which separated while sleeping, it was very uncomfortable.
The hotel was clean but quite old for our liking.
I have stayed in 4* hotels abroad elswhere and I would not rate this one as 4*, I would not stay in this hotel again out of season. It wasn't worth the money spent. I expected much more. I came back feeling disappointed.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank Tika_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Giovanni la Punta hotels

UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

The Garden Hotel is not easy to find, although close to the motorway. If you are driving yourself, get a good map and have plenty of patience. You need a car unless you intend staying in the hotel all your stay.
The hotel is pleasantly decorated, clean, tidy and fairly well maintained. The staff were helpful. Unfortunately the
pool(outdoor) was closed during our stay in mid-May. The food at breakfast was limited in choice...cereal, bread, cakes, pastries.
The evening meal was OK.

  • Liked — Clean, tidy, pleasantly decorated
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Check if pool open during your stay
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POL269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 30, 2005

Top hotel but you will need a car to get around.
When Booking we were told that the hotel wason the outskirts of Catania but that there was a bus stop a minute away. This was true but it omitted that the busses were very few and far between and a taxi into the city was 25 euros. the traffic was horrendous and on more than one occassion it took an hour to travel the 6 kms. If you intend to drive in Catania you will need to be brave as it is survival of the fittest.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni la Punta
Villa Del Bosco Hotel
#16 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
#1 of 1 in Viagrande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
#1 of 11 in Aci Castello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Property: Garden Hotel
Address: Via Our Lady of Tears, 12b, 95037 San Giovanni la Punta, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > San Giovanni la Punta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Giovanni la Punta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Province Of Catania, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing