We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good way to see some sights you might otherwise miss”
Review of Go-Etna

Go-Etna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 2009 we have made it our business to make sure that visitors of our beautiful island have a most pleasant stay. Our multilingual guides (English, German, Italian, Spanish etc.) have become a real trademark of Go-Etna. Who could bring a foreign country closer to you than a local? Getting to know the place by taking a “look behind the scenes” – we have been following this principle for years. Beside the classical highlights, our guides will show you the authentic Sicily from their perspective. Among our standing and satisfied customers we reckon hotels, camping sites, cruise ship passengers, company clients, travel agencies, tour operator and tourist facilities in the area of Catania and Taormina. The GO-ETNA team and our partners have the ability to meet the requirements of all our customers, with a team of experienced staff, a well-equipped vehicle fleet and technical material. Our business is to offer the perfect service to every client, to make come true even the most challenging, individual requirements and to leave no question about Sicily unanswered.
hastings
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A good way to see some sights you might otherwise miss”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked the half day tour which as it turned out to be one of the hottest days if our holiday was just as well! We were picked up from our holiday rental dead on time which is always a good way to start. We set off and met up with three other jeeps which then take you literally across country to the lava flows, cave, (you get to take a torch and wear a proper helmet)and then to a landscape that resembles the moon .there is only a very small amount if walking involved but do wear shoes with a safe grip as the volcanic earth can be rather slippery underfoot. The guides are very knowledgeable and you stop at a refuge where you can buy something to eat and drink, and there is a loo but do take some water with you if it's a hot day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    40
    15
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent and very knowlegable English speaking guide on tour.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I used this company for several transfers from Catania airport and from one hotel to another for myself and my daughter. Very reliable service. I also did the Etna full day tour. Excellent English speaking guide called Natalie . She was extremely knowledgable and provided an excellent full day. Definatly got your monies worth!
Would strongly recommend this company for both services

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eagleyes928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mt Etna”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a very interesting and exciting tour on the Etna. We saw a lot of interesting place and got an idea of the power of a vulcano. The tour was good organized and we had a lot of fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Auristos M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Full day tour of Mount Etna”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a wonderful day with our guides Gianvito and Francesco and other members of the group. We learnt a lot about the history and geography of Sicily without feeling that we were on a school trip! The morning activities were very varied and we did far more that I expected. Autumn is probably the perfect time for this trip as it wasn't too hot and the colours of the trees were beautiful. Our lunch stop was at an "agritourism" farm and the food was fantastic. However, you need to pace yourself for the many courses! The afternoon was at a more gentle pace and we were dropped back in Taormina at 6 pm. The full day was very good value and we enjoyed all aspects of this trip

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank London1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go-Etna”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Using Go-Etna, with Andrea Ferri as our driver and guide, was a fantastic way to see Etna with the short time we had (we did the half-day tour). He was knowledgeable, entertaining, and totally reliable - he picked us up/dropped us off at exactly the specified time and place. His English was very good, and I believe he also knew some German and French.

You will see/experience everything promised on the Go-Etna website. You get a great view of the volcano and of the Valle del Bove from up high in a forested area; you will walk through a lava cave, and have the opportunity to hike up to the top of a crater. There was also a stop along the way in which you can walk out on a field and see all the green, flowering growth that eventually happens in the wake of an eruption. And you can collect some rocks (perfect for a rock-hound like me!). Andrea provides informative commentary for those who don't know anything about volcanoes, and was an expert tour guide.

This tour is not for the serious trekker. There's no long, strenuous hike, and you're only up about 2100 meters. There's no apparent danger or risk involved, which wouldn't have bothered us, but if you have limited time and want to get a good look at the beauty and devastation of an active volcano, this is a great bet. I imagine with a full day, the guides can be more adventurous, and as volcano-philes, this is what we would have preferred had we had unlimited time.

The Land Rover used accommodates a maximum of 8 passengers, tightly packed (1 passenger in the front, 3 in the back seat, and 4 in the rear cargo area w/ a small seat for two on either side). My guess is you will likely be in a full vehicle, depending on when you go. We were in a full vehicle on 26 Sept, and although it wasn't very comfortable if you have a car-load of large adults (as we did), it didn't matter. The views and the experience were totally worth it.

Take water (and a snack if you think you'll need it) - neither is provided. There is an opportunity for a bathroom break, though, when you stop to hike up one of Etna's many craters. This is at a place where tour buses stop, so there are bathrooms, snacks/water, and souvenirs.

I highly recommend Go-Etna, without reservation. You'll get to see plenty, and the company was very professional in email communications prior to the trip, and in providing an excellent guide for the tour. The price, at 50 Euros/person, was very reasonable (I shopped around).

Despite my worries about booking something like this well in advance and online, everything went exactly as promised. Go-Etna!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go-Etna also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Viagrande, Province of Catania
 

Been to Go-Etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing