We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel - Restaurant du Chateau
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Combourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend break. First impressions on arrival were good, the receptionist spoke very good English. Our bedroom was quite small and a little old fashioned but it is an old hotel so this is what you should expect. The room was spotlessly clean. There was a TV and a mini bar in the room. The bathroom was quite large but no shower curtain over the bath made it difficult to have a shower without soaking the floor! Toiletries were supplied in the bathroom as was a hair-drier. There were no tea or coffee making facilities.

We did not eat in the restaurant here but we did have breakfast which was very good, plenty to choose from and as much as you cared to eat. No cooked items though except if you want to boil your own eggs which was quite interesting! The cost of the breakfast was 11 euros per person.

There is free parking to the front and side of the hotel. The location is great and the town of Combourg is lovely plenty of shops, bars and restaurants and they are right on your doorstep as is the amazing Chateau/Castle which is right next to the hotel.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely return as we found it very good value for money, the staff were very helpful and the location was great and very peaceful.

Just for reference it takes about 5.5 hours to get there from Calais .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CarolBenfleet_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Hotel - Restaurant du Chateau
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 200 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

The restauraunt is exceptional the service does not equal the talents of the Chef which is a shame.

The hotel is becoming shabby and in need of a refurbishment. The location is very good with Combourg and the Chateau close within 2 minutes walk of the hotel.

It is expensive for what is on offer in the rooms, the cleaning leaves a little to be desired and could do with a little more attention to detail like cleaning behin doors on top of thins under things etc.

Room Tip: This hotel is becoming shabby and in need of a facelift. Choose the club rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o1jerkbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel sits just below the castle and across the road from the lake so some lovely views. Room maybe needed an up-date but was large, clean and comfortable [no a/c but two opening windows] Staff were very friendlyand helpful. Superb food [but limited to shell fish/fish/rare beef or rabbit] Lovely gardens to relax in and a very nice breakfast room that overlooked them. free car parking outside hotel.
Combourg its self is a lovely village to base yourself if visiting this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ssalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were hoping that this hotel would serve as a base for the three days we were spending in Brittany and lower Normandy and it met that goal and then some.

Rooms were not luxe in the style of say the Georges V in Paris but were clean and ours had a new renovated bathroom. Only issue was no a/c but we were fortunate that the wicked hot weather broke the evening we arrived so it was pleasantly cool and comfortable. Staff pleasant and agreeable though it helped that we speak passable French having lived in Paris and Brussels.

Dinner was outstanding, with a marvelous St Pierre for my wife and perfectly prepared Ris De Veau for me, this is a dish often poorly done even in 1-2 star restaurants. I have gad to send it back more than once elsewhere.
From the amuse bouch to cheese and the creative desserts everything was done well. I am looking for excuse to go back and would come for the restaurant alone. Wine list full though I wanted to taste local wines on this trip so paired our entrees up with a local white that was fine if not memorable. An excellent coffee ended a great meal. Service was correct in the old style - there when needed invisible when not.

Room Tip: No elevator and we did lug our own bags only because the staff when up the stairs with elderly coupl...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Greg_from_Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for one night. Family Room (19) was large and very clean but nothing special for the price. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant made our kids welcome. The superb evening meal more than made up for the room however. Menu plasir at 38 €. Innovative and unusual dishes and uniformly superb. The lobster ball and St Pierre stood out. Bravo!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sallyandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nice Hotel,very friendly staff if few of them, not far from Mont St Michael. Town itself worth a visit, market day on Monday. Room comfortable some road noise, lovely lake just outside. Good breakfast selection and A La Carte evening meal excellent for money. Did go on a special deal and would return but not at usual room price but they may discount.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Moira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Somewhat disappointed with the ambiance and run down state at the hotel.Really barely a 2 star building with no lifts to the bedrooms and a narrow winding staircase the only access.The staff though pleasant and accommodating were not numerous enough to help with the luggage.The receptionists doubled as waitresses.The dinner was unusual affair with two of the courses consisting of a kind of a kind of meat or fish ball.Three of our party were happy with what they ordered the others not so.There was a total lack of atmosphere in the restaurant as we were the only diners.The outstanding course was the soufflés really excellent.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combourg
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 2 in Combourg
123 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel de L'Abbaye
Hotel de L'Abbaye
#1 of 2 in Le Tronchet
217 reviews
7.5 mi away
Saint-Malo Golf Resort
Saint-Malo Golf Resort
#2 of 2 in Le Tronchet
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort
Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort
#2 of 5 in Dol-de-Bretagne
810 reviews
8.4 mi away
Le Vieux Moulin
Le Vieux Moulin
#1 of 1 in Hede
138 reviews
16.0 mi away
Maison Tirel-Guerin
Maison Tirel-Guerin
#1 of 1 in Saint-Meloir-des-Ondes
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel - Restaurant du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel - Restaurant du Chateau

Address: 1 Place Chateaubriand, 35270 Combourg, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Combourg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Combourg
Price Range: $84 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel - Restaurant du Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel - Restaurant du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel - Restaurant Du Chateau Combourg, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing