We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Booked this hotel using Amazon Local deal- £119 for two nights bed and breakfast with dinner (value of £21) included on the first night. Situated very close to the motorway which meant easy access to many places of interest. Hotel room was in new part of the hotel. Good, clean and comfortable with tv and tea/coffee making facilities. Staff very friendly and courteous. Extensive choice of hot and cold items at breakfast. Meals in the brasserie were very good. In particular the starters which were huge and nicely presented. Would recommend the baked camembert which came with crunchy celery sticks, tons of warm crusty bread and was accompanied by a lovely tangy pickle. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us. We are very pleased that you found the hotel convenient, clean and comfortable and great value for money. We pride ourselves in providing good customer care and your kind comments regarding friendly and courteous staff are gratefully received and will be shared with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 711 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had originally booked the hotel for my wife's birthday treat in March on a bargain break offered by Amazon. . In fact we had to cancel because of an eye operation being scheduled for the same week. The hotel happily rebooked us for the end of Easter week on the same voucher, and we were impressed by the helpful and welcoming staff. Very good choice of dinner - the sea bass was good with crispy skin and the sticky toffee pudding was clearly "home made" as were all the desserts. Very wide choice of breakfast dishes. With the M5 only about 500 metres from the hotel access to all the local beauty spots is easy and yet the hotel is in a quiet spot on the now empty A38; and one can hear the birdsong not the motorway in the morning . And if you do plan a revisit - if only en route for Cornwall down the old A38.. you will be given a voucher to experience the Gables hospitality again within 7 months - at the same amazing price as the Amazon offer (less than £30 B&B per person a night for FULL breakfast both days and a dinner to a value of £21each on the first night included!!! No wonder the franchise group is called BEST Western!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review and for the high rating that you have given us. We of course are delighted that your stay with us met all your requirements and your positive comments regarding the food at dinner and breakfast in particular are much appreciated. We do pride ourselves on excellent customer service and quality food as you will see from previous reviews and we are therefore delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction, even the bird song!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Booked two nights as we were invited to a friends wedding meal and reception on the Saturday night. The Hotel was very easy to find. Only a couple of minutes off the M5 in a rural location. The girl in the reception was very welcoming and helpful throughout the booking in process. She booked us a table for an evening meal we thoroughly enjoyed. The room was upstairs at the back. It was of adequate size,clean and comfortable. The wedding meal was very tasty with each course served by highly trained staff and was an enjoyable experience. The evening reception went very well with plenty of seating good dance floor space and choice of two bars. Breakfast was excellent. A buffet format with a very wide choice of quality items to pick from especially, the sausages. We had an enjoyable and relaxing two day stay and highly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Firstly thank you for sparing the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at The Gables. We are all delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the Wedding reception itself, both during the day and for the evening reception too. All your kind and positive comments will be shared with the Team here at the hotel and they will be delighted to have earned your personal recommendation.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

A most enjoyable stay..breakfasts and evening meals good.nice quiet room.clean and tidy hotel staff friendly..good value for money.In easy reach of motorway and local places of interest..we would not hesitate to stay here again even just for a stopover

Room Tip: Stayed in a room at rear of hotel an upgrade as it was my partners birthday..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us here at The Gables. We are all pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and found the location ideal for your purposes. Thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Went to this hotel on a cheap deal with amazon only went for one night hotel was clean warm and staff very helpful and pleasant food was good too. Only one issue which we have brought to there attention a crack in the bath panel which I would have thought someone would have noticed and replaced or even said they knew about it and was going to replace it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Backchatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us and the kind and positive comments regarding the hotel, the staff and the food that you experienced. I also thank you for pointing out the damaged bath panel and would reassure you that we were aware of it and a new panel has arrived today.
Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Usually stay here when in the area although if they are full I stay at the more upmarket nearby Tortworth Court. This hotel, like Moor Hall in Sutton Coldfield, which I have also previously reviwed is owned by the Webb family which appears to be a guarantee of quality i.e. well trained friendly and efficient staff, clean well furnished rooms and public rooms decorated to a high standard (plenty of pictures on the walls). The Gables (which we originally knew under different management as the Bristol Inn) obviously gets its name from the fact that it has as its core a large house with gabled windows at the side of which has been built a large two story extension. Reception area, bar and restaurant appear to be in the original house, as are a few bedrooms on the first (second if you're American) floor. The remaining bedrooms are on the ground and first floor extensions. On this occasion we had a ground floor room with a good sized bathroom with large bath with shower over. Wash basin in vanitory unit with plenty of room to put your "stuff". Good sized tv with plenty of channels. Free wi fi worked well for me. Breakfast (buffet style) was good with all the usual choices you would expect plus a little more. It is such a pleasure to have clean white linen table clothes at breakfast now sadly rarely seen in the large branded hotels with flower in a vase on each table (good imitations I thought they were real until I touched one). Stayed two nights and hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkCunard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for posting such a comprehensive and complimentary review of you recent stay with us here at The Gables. We always try very hard and focus on complete customer care and when we get reviews such as yours, it makes it all worthwhile. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Nice standard hotel. Stayed for a short weekend a few weeks ago and didn't find any problems with this hotel. Check in was very quick and easy and the receptionist was very kind. The room were clean and standard could do with a bit of decorating but overall nothing wrong with them, sleep-able bed, good shower etc. This hotel is also very good for parking with lots of spaces available. The meal we had in the restaurant was very nice and served quickly (served by Emma) Breakfast was also very good, with lovely fresh hot food available, the staff on were very helpful and went out their ways to make sure we had everything we wanted.(James & Rihanne). Overall my experience here was very good and I would not hesitate to stay here again. I would also recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a good reasonable priced hotel in south glos.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Many thanks for posting a review of you recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear all the positive comments regarding the room, the food and the staff, particularly Emma, James and Rhianna who will be delighted to have been singled out for personal praise by you. We do share all our guests comments and feedback with all the Team members here at The Gables.
Thank you again for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falfield
1.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
453 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
387 reviews
9.8 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
715 reviews
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel

Address: Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Falfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Price Range: $46 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Gables Hotel is situated in rural South Gloucestershire, just half a mile off junction 14 of the M5 and within easy reach of a host of attractions including Bristol, the Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust and Berkeley Castle. There are 46 well equipped comfortable bedrooms and a spacious Brasserie and Bar where you can enjoy a drink, snack, afternoon tea or meal at any time of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Falfield
Falfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing