We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Salmons Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Usk
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could do better . . .”
Reviewed July 5, 2009

My wife and I spent a Friday & Saturday night here in June 2009, a hundred guineas a night, B&B. We thought the inside of the premises rather laclustre, in a can't be bothered sort of way. Reception on arrival was "sign here, the room's up there," with nary a welcoming smile. The room was OK although the base of the double bed was frayed and filthy, the TV elderly. Our table at dinner was sticky, the adjacent window very dirty, the meal OK, but only OK (my wife's risotto was more rice & peas than anything like a true risotto). At breakfast No1 I was perfunctorily, by an underemployed youngster, told to move to another table, although the room was almost empty; this was to save the young waitress the trouble of moving some butter and jam, and at both breakfasts the toasted bread was of the thin, cheapo Mother's Pride variety. The pats of butter came in foil envelopes which inevitably covered my fingers in grease, the jams/marmalades in little individual packs. All this suggests that the owners have little regards for their guests. If this place has one saving grace it is in the form of Ramon, the delightful maitre d', and maitre d'everything else to do with this place's catering outlets although we understandably didn't see him during the breakfast hours. Usk is lovely and begs a return visit or more, but when we do come back it's unlikely we shall be bedding down at the Three Salmons, sad to say.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtduerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    91
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
59
100
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Pleasant staff, good food and great value for money, will reccommend and be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RepOnTheRoad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Well, were do l start. The hotel was extremely ordinary and very overpriced. The rooms were as small as they could be. The staff were extremely unhelpful - particularly when the music began! There was a wedding or something going on down the hall in their function room and the music was horrendous and extremely loud. All the doors into the function room were kept open throughout the night. All complaints were ignored and brushed off. We were planning to drive a fairly long distance the next day so it got ridiculous in the end.
Every time you want to leave the carpark you have to go to the reception and collect a token for the carpark gates. The "double bed" was actually stapled together!! We found the whole experience dreadful and it really spoilt our last night in Wales. 1.5 stars at the most - that's generous!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macdonnelliensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linslade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We enjoyed an overnight stay in this charming inn, with its creaky floorboards far-removed from what we have come to expect from most modern city centre hotels. Our room, along with much of the public areas, benefitted from a recent redecoration including secondary double-glazing and had a decent sized bathroom in good condition.
As on previous visits, service was excellent, from check-in to the bar (open to non-residents) and through into the excellent restaurant.
The restaurant was about half full, with a mix of residents and locals. Due to our planned late arrival, I had telephoned beforehand and was advised that 'last orders' were around 9 - ish. However, I think that there may be some flexibility as we were by no means the last to arrive.
The restaurant is well-known for its choice of fish dishes and with scallops to start, followed by grilled lemon sole, both dishes were an excellent choice. A misunderstanding over the selection of side dishes was promptly rectified without fuss by Ramon, the Maitre'D who retains his Spanish accent despite almost 40 years in Usk. With dessert, coffee, all wine, plus a digestif to finish, the cost for two was a reasonable £105 that included tax/service.
Our room rate included full Welsh breakfast, that was freshly cooked, with a choice of cereals and juices, plus tea/coffee and toast. Again, good value at £105 for two people sharing.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2008

My partner and I had been looking forward to our stay in Wales and chose this Hotel for it's special offer of a 3 Night stay with 2 dinners [food good too].
It was great value and we both thought it was good, my partner liked the Stowfords Cider especially. We spent a bit of time in the beer garden and walking around the town. We especially liked the Castle.
Room was fine, clean and tidy with a great TV and large bathroom. Breakfast was good and dinner marvellous.

  • Liked — Great Price
  • Disliked — Room could do with a bit of a makeover
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthLondonHarrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights. The straff were really friendly and helpful. The room was big and clean. Would definately stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

I would say this is a 2 star hotel at best, if a Travelodge is a 3 star, for comparison. I guess the best thing I can say about the place is the staff were friendly enough, althought the guy on reception who booked me in was a bit quirky but, well, that's just being picky. My room had a very uncomfortable single bed, that was on a pretty steep slope. The pillows were wafer thin, the window didn't shut properly and the door didn't lock properly, so I had to drag the chest of drawers across it to make it more secure. The worse thing though about this place is the noise. The cars/lorries/boy racers screaming passed until all hours kept me awake until 4am. If you want peace and quiet, DO NOT stay here. I mentionned it to the receptionist in the morning and she said that it was a really bad problem. Do not be deceived into thinking that this is in a nice quiet little country village. Staying on main roads in London is more peaceful than here.

  • Liked — Not a lot
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBoyle, Director at Three Salmons Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2008
The management and staff of the Three salmons are extremely disappointed with this review. We are trying to contact the guest and offer compensation for what was undoubtedly a terrible experience.

This type of comment is extremely rare and thankfully our volumes of repeat business speak for themselves.

We apologise for this exerience and will continue to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable at our hotel

Steve Boyle
Director
Brent House Hotels Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
0.3 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
499 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
9.5 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Salmons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Salmons Hotel

Property: Three Salmons Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Usk NP15 1RY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Salmons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Salmons is the only 3* Hotel in the town centre of Usk. A 17th Century Coaching Inn, located in the centre of this small historic market town, yet with easy access to Newport, Cardiff, Monmouth and to the M4 and 5. The hotel offer sthe tranquillity and beauty of rural South Wales that you will not find in other Monmouthshire hotels. The river is only 100 metres away from the hotel and the beauty of the Usk valley, with its walks and sightseeing, is only a stone's throw. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Three Salmons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Salmons Hotel
Three Salmons Usk
Three Salmons Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing