We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and very comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Salmons Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff and very comfortable beds”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Right from the beginning of my visit I was impressed by the staff. Throughout my visit they really could not have been more helpful. I don't think I have slept in a more comfortable bed in a hotel anywhere.
The rooms and connected en-suite are a little tired and will soon be in need of renovation, but this should not stop you visiting.
The breakfast was first class with a myriad of choices that the staff help to make you aware of.
I would certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Be aware that this hotel is situated on a fairly busy road junction, so ask for a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    91
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
59
100
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely little hotel in the beautiful village of Usk. My room was in excellent condition with a high quality bathroom, big fluffy towels & stylish decor. The room was large & the bed very comfortable. What's good to see is that the website was a true representation of the room quality & overall feel of the place. This hotel is perfect for romantic trysts, a gathering of friends or in my case an overnight stay for business. Breakfast was good! Service was personal & it's a shame I was only there for one night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GS-Smugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here in June last year for business. The hotel has a relaxed and comfortable feel and the food in the restaurant is generally of a good standard - I especially enjoyed the breakfast. I would consider staying here again in future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
459 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Having stayed several times in Cardiff in the past few weeks decided to try something different and headed off to the very pretty village of Usk. The Three Salmons is right in the town and has it's own car park which unlike most hotels there is no charge for using. Check in/out was swift and professional.

The bar/lounge area's are well decorated and maintained looking fresh and clean. The bedrooms are quaint and what you would expect of a hotel of it's age, IE features that you would not see in a modern hotel such as beams and odd shapes. The bedroom was clean and well decorated again in keeping with it's age where most modern hotels would have painted walls in this hotel there is wallpaper.

The bathroom was modern and had a shower over bath, with a good range of complementary toiletries. We had a room on the top floor and again as is typical of hotels of this age there didn't appear to be a lift so would need to consider this if there are mobility issues and request a room on the lower floors.

The hotel is well known for it's restaurant so we decided to have dinner in the hotel (which for us is unusual) and we were not disappointed having had an excellent meal. Had a few drinks after dinner in the bar and there was a good crowd of friendly people in who appeared to be local. Again unlike a city bar here the customers were chatty & friendly.

I feel the service merits mention and from check in to check out the service was without question highly proficient and professional whilst still being warm & friendly. I was really impressed with this hotel and will no doubt stay again in the future if I am looking for something different to a weekend in the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Commz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

tried the xmas do again, where to start, the goods, all staff helpful and friendly, good range of drinks in bar and at fairly reasonable prices. The party was ok , DJ managed to keep most people on the dance floor, the meal was ok, starters good, desserts good, mains the sprouts were firm, lack of gravy, and why not have boil potatoes?? the room was ok, bed fine, bathroom fine, one problem with room was too much furniture in it, no room to walk around without banging in to something. Breakfast next morning, food ok, One issue why on Sunday morning after a late night have it served from 8am to 9.30am, why not a little later. Overall a good night, would i go again, Hmm yes

Room Tip: room in main building have lots of steps up and down
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlidwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Went for a meal here last Saturday and what a surprise, customer service was very good, everyone very helpful and the food, was excellent and the presentation was outstanding, we was a party of 6 and everything was spot on and everyone commented on how superb the food and service was. Price was very good too. Would highly recommend for a meal I can't wait to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKA2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here with friends, on arrival the hotel lounge bar was full which had a lovely atmosphere about it, unfortunately we couldn't dine in the restaurant as they were full, this was no real problem as there are many local eateries. The room was large with high ceilings, huge double glazed window which blocked out all road noise, two armchairs and tables and kingsize bed.Bathroom was really clean and also had a mist free mirror which was great ! Very nice breakfast was served the following morning, quality bacon and sausage, no complaints at all. The staff all seemed quite young and all very friendly, service was great. I would definitely stay here again. Well done.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bishoptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
0.3 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
499 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
9.5 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Salmons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Salmons Hotel

Property: Three Salmons Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Usk NP15 1RY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Salmons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Salmons is the only 3* Hotel in the town centre of Usk. A 17th Century Coaching Inn, located in the centre of this small historic market town, yet with easy access to Newport, Cardiff, Monmouth and to the M4 and 5. The hotel offer sthe tranquillity and beauty of rural South Wales that you will not find in other Monmouthshire hotels. The river is only 100 metres away from the hotel and the beauty of the Usk valley, with its walks and sightseeing, is only a stone's throw. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Three Salmons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Salmons Hotel
Three Salmons Usk
Three Salmons Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing