We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Country-Inn feel,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Salmons Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Relaxed Country-Inn feel,”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends. The ambience is one of a relaxed coach house. The food us excellent and the staff are really helpful and friendly. The rooms in the main house are probably the better standard.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    90
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
59
98
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my girlfriend for lunch , food was very good , small quantities however , atmosphere non exsistant . Il let you in to a little secret travel 8 miles up the road and try the cripple creek it's a better option !!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracebbbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a long weekend at the Three Salmons and have only praise for the hotel and its staff. We were part of a large group, with the function room booked for the Saturday of our stay. Despite the hotel being extremely busy for most of the weekend, the staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times, and the food was really good. There was a great atmosphere. Bar prices were reasonable, and although noise from the bar and the road could be heard upstairs in our room, you do have to accept that if you book a room at a popular hotel at the centre of a town on a busy crossroads and if you have a room over the bar, you're going to hear it!
Our room was very spacious, huge bed, nice bathroom, lovely hot shower.
Would definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank hildev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here. We arrived to a twin room (our mistake) but the Manger quickly rectified this for us whilst offering us a 'drink on the house' in the bar. Our room was clean, cosy and had a very comfortable bed. Unbeknown to me, my boyfriend had planned to propose to me. The deed was done and he had arranged with the hotel manager that we were served a rather large bottle of champagne upon arriving for dinner that evening. All the staff were very welcoming and congratulated us. We were then showed through to the restaurant where I have to say we were served an amazing three course meal. The waiting staff were amazing and made the evening perfect. I could not fault one thing about the food or the service. The waiter even bought us a slate platter decorated with 'congratulations' in icing and a sparkler with chocolates, a lovely touch.
Unfortunately due to a wedding party in the hotel we had a very bad nights sleep as they partied on till at least 2am, this was a shame as everything else was perfect. This issue was soon forgotten however when we sat down to beautiful breakfast. I would recommend this hotel and will certainly stay again, I just hope there are no wedding reception parties staying there on my next stay, I will bring ear plugs just in case !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Longblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stay here regularly with work. Top tip; ask for a room in the main house. You do take a gamble on the rooms but the food is excellent and staff are professional and efficient. A comfortable pub with accommodation. The rooms are a little pricey compared to some of the other options nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night and found the menu looked fairly mundane. Having looked at other restaurants we decided to eat in the hotel after all. How pleased we were as the food was fantastic - unlike the description on the menu. The staff were friendly and efficient. Our room was a bit on the small side but the bed was very comfy! As we were only staying over night it was more than adequate. Everything was very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11JAN51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went for a friends birthday for dinner here a year ago.

The menu is not huge, but there are a good selection of meat dishes, the usual fish and veggie stuff.

But what made me really like it, was to see Hare on the menu. My friend had it, it was Hare three ways. Presented beautifully and with pride it seemed.

Reasonable prices considering the area we are in, and the staff , although very busy that evening, were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimlouise80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
0.3 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Salmons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Salmons Hotel

Property: Three Salmons Hotel
Address: 57 Bridge Street, Usk NP15 1ZY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Salmons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Salmons is the only 3* Hotel in the town centre of Usk. A 17th Century Coaching Inn, located in the centre of this small historic market town, yet with easy access to Newport, Cardiff, Monmouth and to the M4 and 5. The hotel offer sthe tranquillity and beauty of rural South Wales that you will not find in other Monmouthshire hotels. The river is only 100 metres away from the hotel and the beauty of the Usk valley, with its walks and sightseeing, is only a stone's throw. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Three Salmons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Salmons Hotel
Three Salmons Usk
Three Salmons Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing