We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wondeful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We have just spent two nights at the Glen-y-Afon House Hotel and I have to say it was brilliant. We really could not fault it at all. Easy to find, good parking facilities, exceptional friendly staff, accommodation immaculate and the food was superb. During our stay from Friday evening to Sunday morning, the staff was catering for three weddings but this did not effect the service we received in anyway. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you so much for an enjoyable weekend break. Viv O & Gwyneth C

Room Tip: We had a twin room overlooking the front of the hotel and we had no problems with any noise. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Vivienne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 470 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a friends wedding. The hotel is situated in a lovely location. The staff are friendly, rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast was nice with no complaints. The bar area for the guests is a bit small for weddings but I would recommend a stay at this hotel. You get the option to have breakfast in bed and there are coffee facilities in the bedrooms. Very pleasant stay.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had our wedding at the Glen ur afon just yesterday (16th August) and I just couldn't wait to write a review. I have never written any reviews in my life but this place really deserves it.

It as such an AMAZING hotel, I was overwhelmed with how professional, attentive and just perfect the staff were. The personal touches the hotel does on your big day are just so touching - but I won't say too much because it was a lovely suprise for us.

I had 115 guests in the day, and everything run like clockwork. All food even though there were choices were served so quickly and directly by the waiters. So stress free. The room was decorated beautifully and the food/service was outstanding . So many guests made comments at how brilliant it was. The harpist creates a lovely atmosphere. Alex the manager and carol do such an amazing job, no need to be stressed with them around they will go out of their way for you.

We had an extra 40 guests for the evening and the room was transformed so quickly by the staff it again looked so beautiful! Anyone using breadbox bridal for their flowers, the led flooring is worth every penny and creates an amazing effect! The guests couldn't believe it. Hog roast again was stunning .

All in all Id like to thank all the staff for making it a perfect day for us and id recommend this place to anyone, it's the PERFECT wedding venue so don't hesitate in booking yours there as you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaurenCollins123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We went to this hotel over one night for a wedding, on arrival we were met by the friendliest crowd I have seen in a hotel for a long time. Nothing was too much trouble, Food was good and portions were not stingy. Our bedroom (No.31) was fantastic, comfortable and clean, no nasty mould marks in the bathroom and it looked as if it had recently been refurbished. Breakfast was great too and all the butter, marmalade and condiments were NOT in those nasty little packs. A bit pricey but I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you book 31 you won't be disappointed. Try to get one to the left when you enter the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We got married at the Glen-Yr-Afon on 14th June 2014. We cannot thank the staff enough for the incredible job they did, to make our wedding so completely and utterly perfect. From booking the venue in 2013, to little hiccups along the way (not due to the hotel I might add) they could not do enough for us.
Carol - the nicest, most helpful person you could wish to co ordinate your wedding. Nothing is too much trouble for this lady, she will do her utmost to help you with anything you can imagine!
Matt - what a little legend! Such a polite, helpful, hard working young guy. He made that much of an impression on my Father and brother that they actually mentioned him in their speeches! He is a massive asset to the Hotel.
Everything on the day ran like clockwork. The staff were incredible, food was fantastic. Our guests were completely overwhelmed by the amount and quality of food, especially at the buffet in the evening. A few guests even said it was the best wedding food they had ever had.
They pay so much attention to detail. Matching colours on tissue boxes, calling you by name not "sir" or "madam", a beautiful engraved photo that they had taken of us presented at the reception, a CD when we got back to the room of the photos they had taken, the digital photo frame of our day in the foyer...the list goes on.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable and the bridal suite was beautiful.
Breakfast the following day was lovely.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Glen-yr-Afon as a wedding venue, it's no wonder they have won awards, it is thoroughly deserved.
Thank you once again to you all for making our day completely perfect.
Mr & Mrs Morgan

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank EleanorJMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

On Thursday 31st July we had our son's wedding. What a day. Service and staff very helpfull. The meal was lovley. The hotel, staff and surroundings where fantastic. Could not fault them on anything. Anyone wishing for a wedding venue would do themself's a favour in giving the Glen yr afon a chance. We did not stay at the hotel, just had the wedding, would recommed it 100%

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cerdav22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

On Saturday 26th July my husband and I had a meal in the restaurant at the Glen yr Afon in Usk to celebrate our anniversary. The meal was excellent, the service from the staff especially a young man called Dave was first class, nothing was too much trouble. We were presented with a card wishing us a happy anniversary from the staff, our whole evening was very enjoyable and we were made to feel special. I cannot fault anything and would certainly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
534 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
11.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Address: Pontypool Road, Usk NP15 1SY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range: $173 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel. Our South Wales hotel offers relaxation and a high level of personal service and attention, all in a rural location in the lovely county of Monmouthshire overlooking the banks of the River Usk. The small picturesque town of Usk is just a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Yr Afon Hotel Usk
Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing