We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well looked after at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well looked after at this hotel”
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Stayed here after visiting the Millenium Stadium in Cardiff and the Hotel was very easy to find. Arrived in the evening & were made to feel very welcome. The room was excellent, spacious, clean & warm. We ate in the restaurant, which was very good, if a little expensive. Breakfast was also very good.
It is hard to fault this hotel, had a very relaxing time, nothing was too much trouble.
Worth mentioning that Usk is a very pleasant little town.

  • Liked — Comfort and Hospitality
  • Disliked — Hard to find fault, room a little dated.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    50
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
119
140
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
magor newport
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Excellent Hotel

We stayed there last weekend for my friend's wedding reception.

The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, they were all friendly and smiling as though they were really enjoying their jobs.

The food at the reception was fantastic. A choice at the table and all served fresh and hot, and good sized portions. (the wine flowed really well too!)

Our room was spotless and really comfortable. We are not far away and will certainly be back.

  • Liked — Great food, great service and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Going home
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thedoctor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston Lancs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Stopped at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel for one night I found the hotel very clean the food, I ate at night and had a full English breakfast was excellent in fact I left some of my breakfast there was that much. The decor is a bit "your favourite Aunt" but I can recommend this hotel to all.

  • Liked — Clean excellent food
  • Disliked — Some of my colleauges said the rooms were too hot
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestonPrestonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

A surprising find! We booked this hotel for our first night in the UK. It was a charming little hotel in a quiet location just into Wales. The service and friendliness of the staff was what made it so extra special.

We arrived early having just driven over from Heathrow. It was before check in time and our room was not ready, but the staff made us very comfortable in a sitting room, brought us sodas, and had our room cleaned immediately. Because we were very tired from our flight from Los Angeles, we didn't want to have a large restaurant meal. When we asked for a place to get a simple quick meal the staff offered to provide us with sandwiches before the dining room opened.

A very pleasant experience, and we would definitely return if we are in the area.

  • Liked — The outstanding service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicQuilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Excellent Customer Service.....nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were comfortable and cosy (we've stayed in two and both were impeccably clean, comfortable and warm...important if like us you're visiting in the Winter months).

The food was excellent....from the choice at breakfast (with menus printed in three languages), to the perfectly cooked steak we had the evening before the wedding.

The staff were attentive and friendly...we saw them chatting to children, teenagers, adults and ensuring that every one of them had the perfect stay.

The wedding...seamless, they really know their stuff - they make it easy to plan and they seemed to take anything in their stride...no dietary requirement a problem. On the day, the choice of menus for your wedding guests goes down well, the perfect service, the wonderful catering (which included second puddings for those who just couldn't make up their minds)...keep those guests happy.

The little touches...a birthday card for the bride, an excellent harpist, Green and Black chocolates, it 's a much longer list than this...all make for a very special stay. We're off back there for Sunday lunch with the family this week. B&A.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BethWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

I have become used to staying in chain hotels where the reception from the staff is polite but superficial and you feel as though you're being treated as they've been instructed by a handbook.

This wonderful family run hotel brings a whole new meaning to the word 'hospitality'. From the moment I arrived at the hotel for my freinds' wedding, I was greeted in a warm and friendly manner. Throughout the meals the staff couldn't do too much to help. In fact throughout the weekend the hotel was fully booked and not once did their customer service falter.

Although some of the bedrooms will probably need some updating at some point, the wonderful food (far better than that served in the 5 star Randolph Hotel in Oxford) and service made sure that we all left with smiles on our faces.

I hope they are fully booked all of the time - they deserve it!

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a weekend break/venue for a wedding.

Wonderful!!

  • Liked — The food was excellent
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ironbridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

My wife,daughter and I have just come back from a friends wedding at this Hotel and have had the best weekend ever. The staff and managenent are highly professional and well trained, the service was outstanding, and the food was mouth watering and freshly cooked. We especially liked the fact that the vegetables were fresh and not reheated from a microwave!!!
The rooms are well decorated and very comfy.
They are currently a three star property and I think that they deserve more as the whole experience from the minute you walk through the door to the time you leave is first class.
well done to the team there and we will definately go back and would recommend it to anyone like a shot!!

top marks 10/10

charles dornton

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IronbridgeHilltop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
5.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
16.8 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Property: Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Address: Pontypool Road, Usk NP15 1SY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel. Our South Wales hotel offers relaxation and a high level of personal service and attention, all in a rural location in the lovely county of Monmouthshire overlooking the banks of the River Usk. The small picturesque town of Usk is just a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Yr Afon Hotel Usk
Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing