We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise 60th Birthday Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I had the opportunity to attend a Birthday Lunch at this fantastic venue over the weekend. Many people could say that I'm bias as I work here as a contractor and know it to be a magnificent venue. This time I was sat as a customer and along with everybody that attended we were all totally delighted. As always nothing was to much trouble for any member of staff. From arriving at the hotel and being greeted at reception to be seated in the Clarkes Restaurant every detail was taken care of. The food was undeniably the best I have ever tasted the service so swift and professional. A BIG THANK YOU to all at the Glen Yr Afon House Hotel. This really is quality at it's best.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 475 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We got married at the Glen Yr Afon in December 2013 and I have to say I'm glad we didn't choose any other venue.
The service from Carol in the build up to the event was second to none, and thanks to her advice we found excellent photographers and children's entertainers. On the day a member of staff stayed with us closely, making sure we always had everything we needed. Everything was perfectly set up and exactly how we wanted it.
The food was superb, with guests taking pictures of every course because the presentation was lovely, and everyone commented on how delicious it all was. I would also recommend having a wedding tasting session- it's amazing!
The rooms were lovely. Having stayed at the venue the night before the wedding it was a pain to have to switch to the bridal suite halfway through perpetrations, but the staff kindly helped us to move everything quickly.
The staff at the Hotel were very friendly, and very accommodating, and helped to ensure our day ran smoothly, and for that we are extremely grateful.
Definitely a venue I would recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welsh1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Was very quiet when we went. We had room 2 with a 4 poster bed and it was nice and clean. The bathroom was lovely with a walk in shower and separate bath. We had food at Clarkes both nights. Menu is small but the food was perfect and reasonable. Drinks I thought were a little overpriced. Think we paid about £21 for a bottle of mediocre wine.
The building itself is lovely and the grounds kept well.
A short walk over the river and we were in the town. There's not a lot going on there. Pubs scattered around and a spar and a few shops. Was quite for a Friday. But was a nice walk around the town.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank caj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

As parents you have to make many important decisions when arranging a wedding. The best decision we made was to have the entire wedding at the Glen - Yr - Afon. From our first meeting with wedding planner Carol Knight, we became aware that we were in the hands of true professionals. Our daughters wedding on May 9 2014 was a triumph, and all the staff at this hotel made it such a memorable day for all. They have set new standards in hospitality. Glen Yr Afon will forever be a special place for us. Stunning venue, stunning food and excellent accommodation. We would recommend it to anyone.
Alan and Georgina

Room Tip: All rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

If you have your wedding here you will not be disappointed! We got married here on the 4th May this year and the GYR venue and staff excelled in every way. The pre-wedding organisation from Carol is superb and she puts you at ease from the moment you meet her. Nothing is left to chance! The organisation and help from the staff on the day was wonderful (Jamie was a star!!) and we felt very relaxed and at ease throughout. The food was unbelievably good with not a single complaint from anyone. The choice and quality is so, so good! The rooms are exactly what you want - clean, cosy and comfortable - and the grounds are lovingly attended to. We had an unbelievable day made even more special by the venue, it's fantastic food and their brilliant staff!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Attended a family wedding here on 31st May - This was a lovely venue for a wedding and the wedding meal was one of the best we ever had. The staff were very obliging and the rooms were small but comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yogut83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have written of this small friendly very professional run hotel before. I have stayed a few times and have eaten here many times – it was because we had been so pleased in the past with the quality of the food and service that we couple of old age pensioners decided to get married here on 27th May.
Were our expectations met – YES of course they were 100% and more – everything was perfect.
You are welcome to look elsewhere for your wedding – but my advice is do not book anywhere else before you have been here and spoken to Carol Knight the wedding co-ordinator – she is magic. Do not waste you money on a wedding organiser the team at Glen Yr Afon will do it all for you.
Perhaps this is not the cheapest place around – however if you want the best of quality and professionalism then don’t bother to look elsewhere – start and finish here.
Will we be back? – well not to get married again but we will return for Sunday Lunch and New Years Eve – that is how good this hotel is – professional from top to tail.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
5.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
546 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
11 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Address: Pontypool Road, Usk NP15 1SY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range: $183 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel. Our South Wales hotel offers relaxation and a high level of personal service and attention, all in a rural location in the lovely county of Monmouthshire overlooking the banks of the River Usk. The small picturesque town of Usk is just a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Yr Afon Hotel Usk
Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing