We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reputations BUT are expectations met??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great reputations BUT are expectations met??”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have written of this small friendly very professional run hotel before. I have stayed a few times and have eaten here many times – it was because we had been so pleased in the past with the quality of the food and service that we couple of old age pensioners decided to get married here on 27th May.
Were our expectations met – YES of course they were 100% and more – everything was perfect.
You are welcome to look elsewhere for your wedding – but my advice is do not book anywhere else before you have been here and spoken to Carol Knight the wedding co-ordinator – she is magic. Do not waste you money on a wedding organiser the team at Glen Yr Afon will do it all for you.
Perhaps this is not the cheapest place around – however if you want the best of quality and professionalism then don’t bother to look elsewhere – start and finish here.
Will we be back? – well not to get married again but we will return for Sunday Lunch and New Years Eve – that is how good this hotel is – professional from top to tail.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    53
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
124
145
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Went to a wedding here recently, the service was fab and the food was amazing! Best wedding food, you even got a choice! we had lovely weather and the seating on the lawn in the sun was fab! One of the best wedding I've been too, would highly recommend it to any one considering this place as a venue.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MummySofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I booked a meal for my family for our 20th Wedding Anniversay on Saturday 24th May, 2014 and I must say we had fantastic service and the food was excellent. We wanted to book here because we had our wedding reception here 20 years ago which again was wonderful. We all enjoyed our meals as the food was top notch, we liked the way they laid the table out for us and they presented us with a card wishing us Happy Anniversay, which I thought was a nice touch. From the moment we arrived they looked after us very well and the choice of food on the menu was very good, we could not fault any of it and we'll definitely be coming back again very soon. I can't believe we left it so long, the best hotel I've been to for ages.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Customer_is_KING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

From being escorted by a member of staff, beneath a very welcome umbrella, from the car park to the front door of this charming house hotel yesterday to checking out this morning there was nothing I would have changed. The staff were friendly, helpful and plentiful. People on our table commented the wedding breakfast was the best food they have eaten that had been prepared for a large number of people. Everything was cooked to perfection and was faultlessly served. Drinks at the bar were certainly not over priced. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable. At breakfast the staff were friendly and obliging. The food was again of a very high quality and its presentation faultless.

Room Tip: Had we not been with the wedding party- the noise from the disco may have been disturbing- BUT it en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport south wales
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We attending at wedding at this hotel yesterday. What a venue. The small ballroom served as the wedding room and looked stunning. Flowers, candles and the chairs decorated beautifully. This room was later transformed into the reception room yet again looked stunning. Atmosphere was very relaxed because the staff were so attentive and did everything possible to make sure everyone was happy,. The food was excellent and came out piping hot considering there were about 80/90 guests this was an achievement. Yet again this room was transformed for the evening with specialist lighting and candles and everybody enjoying themselves. The food in the evening included a hog roast and a buffet this again was excellent. We stayed the night along with a lot of guests and the comments I heard from everyone was that they could not praise the hotel enough. The room was immaculate and the bathroom spotless it looked like it was fairly new. I can only say this the staff are amazing and reading other comments can confirm that nothing was too much trouble for them. Added to all this was the breakfast which was served to order and cooked really well. All I can say what a wonderful place to have a wedding and as we do not live far away we are considering going to the restaurant for dinner very soon. Well done.

Room Tip: No problem wherever you have a room there is a lift to the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altrincham, cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a beautifully located hotel of attractive appearance set in lovely gardens within walking distance of Usk town centre. The hotel is very professionally run and nothing seems too much trouble for the friendly staff. Our bedroom at the front was excellent andll we ate twice in the hotel and both times were very satisfied. the hotel also provides Free WiFi which is a real bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soapyarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just attended our sons wedding at this hotel. Everything about the hotel was wonderful, the staff are amazing and do above and beyond their duties. They are polite,pleasant and very helpful.The grounds are stunning and the hotel is well worth a visit. The food was excellent with all the guests at the wedding commenting on the quality and quantity of food served. the rooms are luxurious and kept very clean. Thank you all for making it a day to remember.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
874 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
13.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Property: Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Address: Pontypool Road, Usk NP15 1SY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel. Our South Wales hotel offers relaxation and a high level of personal service and attention, all in a rural location in the lovely county of Monmouthshire overlooking the banks of the River Usk. The small picturesque town of Usk is just a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Yr Afon Hotel Usk
Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing