We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Birthday Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were very impressed, right from the initial planning through to the party itself. The room looked lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. We had a very good selection of dishes to choose from when planning our menu and were guided through the whole process with kindness and professionalism. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 375BJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    53
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
124
145
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Beautiful food, as a vegetarian I don't normally get any choice when I eat out....at Glen Yr Afon there are always 4 or 5 vegetarian options, and all of the ones I have tried have been delicious and very generous portions....well worth the money! The staff are the most professional and polite I have ever come across at a hotel or restaurant and nothing is too much trouble! I cannot recommend Glen Yr Afon enough! Love it!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenp1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

From the moment we entered the hotel to enquire about holding our wedding here, we were treated really well, every member of staff we met was courtious and extremly freindly, Carol the wedding Coordinater was fabulous just seemed to know exactly what we wanted, which was a small and intimate wedding, we had two more meetings with Carol and it all seemed to be too easy, Come the day 10.10.13, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel so special nothing was too much trouble for anyone, we actually got married in the library and had a banquet style reception in the restaurant for 25 people, it was amazing the table was set magnificently and looked fabulous as did the library, a Gentleman called Matt aproached my husband Rob and told him he was there to help him throughout the day and he was amazing so attentive without being intrusive, the food was 1st class as was the service by all the waiting and bar staff, Matt took Photo's throughout the day and what a lovely suprise to see them rolling on the TV screen throughout the day, it was all the extra's that we got that also added to our day like the beautiful gift we recieved at the reception so quietly placed in front of me beautifully wrapped, I wont disclose what it was as Im sure this is something they would do for all brides and I dont want to spoil the suprise, but just to say we were delighted and all my guests loved it , also the photo in our room along with some lovely Sparkling wine and all the photos taken by the hotel on discs , I really cannot thank the Glen-yr-Afon Hotel and all the staff enough for making our day the wonderful celebration it was, all my guests commented throughout the day on the amazing day we had there and if anyone reading this is thinking of holding their wedding here please go and chat to Carol and her staff as nothing is too much trouble im sure you like us will be made to feel like yours is the only wedding ever to take place here. Thankyou The Glen-yr Afon Hotel and fingers crossed you get the wedding venue of the year 2013 award because you thoroughly deserve it xx

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlytopWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We attended a friends wedding here on 12th October 2013 and i just have to say this place is absolutely perfect!! the attention to detail was second to none and nothing was too much trouble for any of the hotels staff. Each and everyone had a smile on their faces from beginning to end. This food was incredible, rooms were clean and well maintained. In our opinion a perfect place to have your wedding. Definately 5stars!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Having held our wedding reception here in 2007, we periodically return for an anniversary break away. We are always very impressed with the staff`s professionalism and organisational skills. They can not do enough for you. The rooms are amazingly clean and our most recent room had a new bathroom. Each room seems to be individually styled with no noise from neighbouring guests. The food is excellent value for money and the quality is amazing. The hotel sources as much as possible locally which is lovely and adds interest to the menu. The portion sizes are fab too. We love this place and the surrounding town of Usk is very pretty.

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding here on Sunday 15th September and I know every couple say their day was perfect but ours was truly magnificent, Jamie our wedding organiser on the day was fabulous. Our every need was catered for. A truly 5* hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumaya80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staying at this hotel has been a real highlight of 2013. I have travelled extensively around the world and have to say this is one of the loveliest hotels I have stayed in. Usk is a pretty town in Wales. Very green and peaceful. The hotel is in a lovely setting but what makes this hotel outstanding is the staff, the service and the food.
We enjoyed the most delicious dinner there on a Saturday night and have to commend Javier on his wonderful service. The staff were very attentive and friendly..smiles all round. Alex, one of the owners is a real credit to this hotel and I cannot praise him highly enough. We arrived at around 4pm on Saturday and the staff went out of their way to prepare us an afternoon tea..which again was superb.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as we will definitely return. It is a quiet haven away from the hustle and bustle plus they allow pets!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyJaneK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
874 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
13.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Property: Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Address: Pontypool Road, Usk NP15 1SY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel. Our South Wales hotel offers relaxation and a high level of personal service and attention, all in a rural location in the lovely county of Monmouthshire overlooking the banks of the River Usk. The small picturesque town of Usk is just a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Yr Afon Hotel Usk
Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing