We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous venue for a wedding and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I attended my sisters wedding last Thursday and would like to highly recommend this hotel as both a wedding venue and a place to stay. I have been to many weddings but this was by far the best. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. We booked to stay over and was delighted our family room was housed over 2 floors overlooking the gardens to the rear. My son loved having his own floor . The wedding itself was fabulous. All the staff are fantastic but I would like to say thanks to James for ensuring everything ran smoothly throughout the day. He was brilliant. I especially loved the photos that the hotel took which were played to guests through the day. The wedding breakfast was was scrumptious. Everything was hot and to have a choice of starters and desserts was a nice touch. The evening was lively with good food and lots of music. After a great nights sleep, I totally enjoyed my hearty Welsh breakfast. A great wedding and stay. My family loved it and we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 462 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We selected Glen-yr-Afon as the location for our wedding based on recommendations from Trip Advisor and their reputation as The Wedding Venue of Wales and we were not disappointed.
From the moment we were introduced to Carol the Wedding organiser we were made to feel comfortable and at ease. Carol helped us with our choice of date, gave us info on the Monmouth Registrar and a brochure to show us what we could expect of we decided to pick Glen-yr-Afon. All this without making us feel as if we had to book a date just because she had spent time with us.
The Hotel and the grounds are stunning and as you drive up the drive you can see what a special place it is. The red carpet that runs up the steps, the flowers in reception and the attentive staff who can not so enough for you regardless of your reason for being there.
As my husbands family are from Lincoln we wanted a venue with rooms for family to stay. Carol reserved the WHOLE hotel for our guests and told us she would not release the rooms to the public until a month before the wedding. This was unexpected. Ive never heard of a hotel doing this before and made us and our guests feel really special to have the whole hotel to ourselves.
The service Carol offers is second to none. She was on hand to answer any of my questions, delivered each and every one of my requests and sent me emails to prompt me of things i needed to do before hand and when I needed to do them. I was made to feel as if nothing to too much trouble and her knowledge and attention to detail left me feel confident that i was going to get the wedding I had dreamed of.
The staff! Well what can I say! They were exceptional. My in-laws and I went for a meal to try out the menu. A young man named Matt waited on our table and I have to say the service he have us is by far the best I have ever encountered. He was polite, friends, bantered with us and made suggestions in regards to the menu. All this without hovering and making us feel uncomfortable.
If this was the service we received at a meal out I was intrigued to the service we would receive on the day.
WELL IT EXCELLED! The evening before the wedding a few of our guests stayed at the hotel while I stayed with the bridal party at the cottage. They dined in the Library and each menu had "Welcome guests of Robert and Marie's Wedding", the food was outstanding and the service again was warm and welcoming as well as being professional.
The wedding day, my flowers and button holes were delivered to the hotel and the staff made sure we had them to hand. The Ball room was beautifully set up for the ceremony with all the flowers Carol had said she would deliver. They made sure that all guests were seated before collecting me from the cottage so no one would see me before my entrance and I was made to feel like royalty as I waited to enter the ceremony room.
After the service Matthew was seen meandering around the grounds and we didn't realise he was actually taking photographs which were later fed onto a screen in the reception area and then a copy left for us in our Bridal suit. The waiters made sure that all guests had the post ceremony drinks and that everyone was seated to eat on time.
The turn around from ceremony space to dining was so perfectly executed. The room was breathtaking and as everyone sat down the waiting and serving staff were attentive and so professional. They called everyone Sir or Madam, They made sure that glasses were full, food was served quickly and efficiently. Matt again has to have a special mention as he remembered everyones names on top table, prompted the best man and came along with a special gift of an engraved photo-frame for Robert and myself.
The evening hog roast was delicious and the Dj kept the dance floor full all night.
Friend commented that this was the best wedding they had been too and I can only atribute this to the Venue and the staff.

THANK YOU xxxx

10/10

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristmasColes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here as part of a wedding party. My family and i stayed in the lodge situated a very short walk from the main hotel. The lodge is really lovely, tastefully and comfortably decorated. Everything was clean and immaculate. There was a little gated courtyard to the front with space to park a car and still for children to play. My only criticism was at breakfast, suffering from dehydration after an evening on the pop i was desperate for a refreshing orange juice but they kept bringing out large tumblers on saucers filled about a quarter of the way up with juice so i was constantly asking for more! Also the fruit salad didn't taste fresh, as if they had been made up the night before. But the staff are patient, hard working and pleasant so although i felt bad for nagging they didn't let on if i was getting on their nerves.

The hotel is beautiful, the surroundings are idyllic, if you are needing a place to stay in Usk then this is definitely where you should go.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a business trip in April 2013. Hotel itself is lovely as are the rooms. Food was outstanding. What really made this hotel wonderful however was the staff. There was not a single staff member that was less than pleasant, all more than helpful and happy to assist with even the most basic questions. I really felt welcomed here. A number of weddings took place during my relatively short stay and, while I didn't have the pleasure of attending, they all looked absolutely beautiful. I travel all over the world for my job and while this hotel wasn't as gorgeous or modern as some, I'd rather go back to this hotel than 90% of the places I've stayed because the people are that considerate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mconnell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Me and my partner booked a Sunday saver. For £145 we booked the lodge for our overnight stay (which had its own drive and parking space, garden, two bedrooms, kitchen, lounge, bathroom) included in the price was a champagne tea, 3 course Sunday lunch and welsh breakfast. Great value for money. Both me and my partner were blown away by this hotel. the staff (Michael) was extremely friendly and went out of his way to accommodate us. There was a wedding on when we arrived but all the staff had time for us even though they were busy with the wedding party. I simply cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. I have to say this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. I can not praise the staff enough. So kind and accommodating we were made to feel very welcome during our stay. We would certainly come back again to stay here. Absolutely magnificent.

Room Tip: Choose the lodge :-)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katamanda31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Read reviews on T/A so was looking forward to our stay hotel was very nice and housekeeping was spot on staff very polite the only thing that let it down for us was the food which makes your trip memorable might have been having a bad day but we would not stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloudnineing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Birthday treat of afternoon tea with family. Such a variety of freshly made wraps ,sandwiches, cakes, scones etc,etc. Couldn't possibly eat it all although we tried very hard. Staff as always second to none in the way we were greeted and served. Thank you again Alex and your team. Last visited for our Ruby Wedding in April, Sunday lunch which was superb. Never been disappointed yet on a variety of occasions. Food and environment always special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank valerie097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
532 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
11.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Address: Pontypool Road, Usk NP15 1SY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range: $179 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel. Our South Wales hotel offers relaxation and a high level of personal service and attention, all in a rural location in the lovely county of Monmouthshire overlooking the banks of the River Usk. The small picturesque town of Usk is just a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Yr Afon Hotel Usk
Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing