We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper ol' pub!”
Review of Cross Keys Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Usk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Proper ol' pub!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a great old pub in the centre of Usk with easy parking and an atmosphere built on centuries of local trade. The bars are low ceilinged with beams and the cheery log fire is a great focal point and source of warmth.

The welcome is friendly enough and the food is simple - good and honest pub grub - very well cooked and served and piping hot. Not a great range of choices and styles so not a gastro establishment but you certainly won't leave here hungry! Haven't stayed so can't comment on the rooms but would certainly go back for a hearty meal anytime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clivecornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
28
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a lovely peaceful stay last week at this great pub. Our room was as the picture showed and very comfortable. En suite was small but clean and adequate for our needs. We were made to feel very welcome and the landlady and landlord were very accommordating. Make sure you have the breakfast, it was just about the best we've ever had. We will be visiting again as we have family and friends in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a friends wedding at Glen-yr-fron. When we booked we were worried about the wedding being at 1pm and if we could get an earlier booking in time. Got a response straight away saying we could book in earlier no worries. We arrived Saturday morning and were shown to our room, got the ground rules etc and left to get ready. Nice room, comfy bed and extremely quiet during the night. We left the wedding earlier and had a quick drink downstairs in the bar which was lovely, roaring fire, nice pubby smell that you can't replicate in these new chain-pubs anymore. Woke up to breakfast and had such a choice, fella had the full English and I had the biggest bacon sarnie ever. Really good pub and place to stay. Next time we are in the area we won't think of staying anywhere else.
Thank you very much
Amy & Kev

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumford07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We only stayed one night while on family business and just wanted a few drinks, quiet evening and good nights sleep.
Our Room was ideal, very clean and everything you could need. The breakfast was excellent. We like to watch the Hotel Inspector and can imagine her comments and the only thing she might say is about your B&B and that is you are far too generous. Huge portions of good quality food. Very pleasant stay, thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EXPERIENCED_IMBIBER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a great afternoon at the cross keys the welcome was warm just like the roaring log fire .
the owners and there staff could not do enough for us, as we have a young family this is not always the case at many places .The food was excellent home cooked and plenty of it mmm, the chef cooked food just for our children that was not on the menu that was a nice touch ,a great pint of beer best i have had in a long time . a spotlessly clean bar and eating area We will be back many thanks to you all at the cross keys ,we only found this place by chance on a family day out the rain was pelting down and need some where to shelter and what a place to shelter this is a qem , when the rain did stop the owners let our children use there trampoline that was a nice touch to .Having looked at some of the other reviews about the cross keys we were shocked that a minority of people could say such awful things have they ever been to the cross keys i think not. but we were there and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank big c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Having read some of the reviews before I wasn't looking forward to staying here however i am a well travelled person and know that you have to look at the overall picture. I was delightfully surprised!!! I did mention the bad reviews to the owners and shall we say that - it is a typical example of retail jealousy without going into too much detail... read into it as you will. I shall therefore give you my impression and as you will see from my other reviews, i go into detail. stayed in the last 2 weeks.

I only live 15 miles up the road from Usk but me and hubby wanted some 'us time'. 1 night of fussing for us. we have stayed elsewhere in Usk in 2 other hotels but to be honest this one ticked all the boxes for us. The room was ready on arrival - we got there about 12noon. value for money rooms - has all you would want. tea / coffee facilities (dont get that everywhere), we had a room over the bar with a bath (FAB!), towels changed everyday, clean lovely smelling sheets, variety of home cooked food, prices good, the owner loves her bleaching so much so that her cleaning obsession is an ongoing joke in the bar.

Anyhow yes there are creaks (what do you expect) its an old pub... the dog does its job but barked only once when we were there. There are a variety of people staying there from what i can make out - professional 'suits' to the tourists on hols. chatting to them and the regulars and it is apparent that they do come back.

Free Wifi is available, large open fireplace which is lovely. The owner may get you doing some jobs. You are made to feel part of the family - we were assigned to keep the fire topped up. haha.

We could choose our breakfast time - cereal, tea coffee (as much as you wanted), toast, cooked breakfast - cooked value. veggie options on the food. great as im a vegetarian. Note that they just had there environmental check from the local people and got a 4 / 5. Me being nosey asked what you have to do to get a 5. only thing needed was a lick of paint on the kitchen windowsill... Well you cant get better than that!

Try for yourself and if you have any concerns / requests let the owners know. They want to make your experience a good one. Special requests for gluten free etc they also do. parties as well....

We have been back a few times for drinks and a meal with family. Excellent time!!

Overall a good decent homely pub. B&B. Clean rooms, good hot cooked food with a roaring log fire. May even become our local. we would stay again. x

Room Tip: if you want a quieter room ask for one at the back. Ask if you have any special requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samikinspie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a lovely stay, the staff cannot do enough for you, the locals were very friendly. I have recommended my fellow work colleagues to stay here from London, they loved it too! Cool place. Food wasnt over priced nor the accommodation it's central to the whole village, you can walk everywhere lovely walk by the river just 2 mins away. Beautiful. Nice memories of a lovely break away.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SQuinnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
0.1 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
0.2 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
290 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
9.5 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Keys Inn

Property: Cross Keys Inn
Address: 24 Bridge Street, Usk NP15 1BG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Cross Keys Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Keys Inn Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing