We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect In Every Way”

Llanwilcae Farm luxury Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Usk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Llanwilcae Farm luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Usk B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2012

It is a rare treat to discover somewhere that you could describe as faultless, but this is genuinely how we feel about our stay at Llanwilcae Farm. Impressed by the beautiful pictures on their website and previous Trip Advisor reviews my expectations were already high and yet they were still exceeded from start to finish. The farm sits in a stunning Welsh valley location, which we were lucky to visit in all its autumnal glory. The accurately labelled luxury accommodation is provided in a self-contained barn conversion, which must be at least triple the size of the largest 5 star hotel suite, and has been furnished with great artistic flair to feel both stylish and comfortable. Arriving weary from our journey we were warmly welcomed by the lovely Diana who settled us in with delicous cakes, drinks and a roaring woodburner. Later in the evening Diana returned with members of her charming family in tow, delivering the most amazing meal of Beof Bourguignon and Pavlova. We sank into our comfy beds that night feeling truly pampered. In the morning we enjoyed a delicious and extremely generous breakfast, served in the oak extension of the farmhouse, made all the more enjoyable by chatting with Diana and looking out at the beautiful views.
Our one night stay was planned as a stop over on the way to our holiday in a cottage deeper in Wales, but we had so enjoyed ourselves we decided to return for an extra night on our journey home. A return visit in less than a week must surely be a good recommendation!
As we returned to Llanwilcae it felt like we had come to stay with friends. Our second visit brought yet more delicous food (Diana really is an amazing cook - I am still dreaming of her Lemon Merangue Roulade), a fabulous nights rest and lots of laughter and great hospitality. This really must be the best B & B in Wales, no anywhere!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 36 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a really lovely overnight stay with our toddler in the beautiful barn conversion - ideal if you have small children as meals can be brought to you in the barn, so you don't have to leave the accommodation to eat out! Very spacious, so plenty of room for everyone to relax in.

We were really well looked after, food was excellent and Diana and her family are very friendly and welcoming hosts. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IK790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Couldn't fault my stay here and would highly recommend it. Diana and her family are lovely and very welcoming. The location is a bit hidden but away but once you get there it's well worth it. The pictures of the barn conversion don't do it justice. It's stunning and you get so much more space than in a bog standard hotel room. Diana is a diamond and no request seems too much trouble. And to top it all off she is an amazing cook as her husband quite rightly boasted! My wife and I will definitely be staying there again. Many thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munkycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Beautiful location and lovely accommodation in your own converted barn with walk-in shower and double height sitting room. The breakfast was absolutely first-rate and Diana is extremely welcoming. We generally go for hotels - this B&B has changed our minds. Highly recommended in every way.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheerychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband found this delightful barn conversion as a surprise for my birthday. Diana was friendly and helpful from the moment we booked, when she mentioned a local festival in the area that we weren't aware of. Being festival lovers we quickly made arrangements to go for the day. Diana took us to the site and collected us in the evening and then made a wonderful meal of our choice, which we enjoyed in the privacy of our spacious living area. A lovely welcome on arrival too with freshly baked cake and flowers. We loved the luxurious wet room and fluffy white towels and robe and as It was a warm w/e, Diana had made sure we had a fridge to keep snacks and drinks cool. There are so many personal touches that made this stay feel really special without breaking the bank, from the chats about chickens to the books in the living area. I feel certain that Diana and her family wouldn't mind us using their grounds to play in but we weren't 100% sure if there was a bit of land associated with the barn that we could use. Perhaps a little bbq area to the back of the barn in the future could be the icing on the cake? We are really looking forward to coming back with our new baby when, hopefully this time I can explore the area on foot!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Llanwilcae Farm for just one night on the way out of Wales, en route to The international Air Tattoo at RAF fairford, and both instantly wished we had stayed for a lot longer!

We were greeted by a very gorgeous bouncy dog on the drive, and Diana was brilliant, showing us the barn, chatting to us like an old friend. The barn should be on grand designs! It's just fantastic, bed up on a mezzanine floor, loads of nice throws and cushions and beautiful high beams. The bathroom is a brilliant wet room with lovely toiletries and bathrobes. There's a lethally comfy sofa in the living area, wifi, and a TV with all the channels you would ever need, plus welcoming cakes. :)
It's very quiet, which for us was perfect, and lots of cool wildlife (not just Farm animals, we had some quite quirky close encounters with baby birds, which was unexpected but actually brilliant! )

Breakfast was just sublime, brilliant start to a very long day which involved camping in a very wet muddy field. Again, Diana chatted to us about our trip, and it was just like staying at a friends house- just lovely! Ollie is now completely sold on country living after our experience here, which I think speaks volumes from a die hard City-dweller!
We ate in the Black Bear, which in all honesty probably should have a review of its own- but I can't recommend it enough. We didn't book, assuming a Thursday night in a very quiet rural location wouldn't be busy, but it was crammed! This wasn't a problem at all, and we sat at the bar for about an hour chatting to some lovely people about tattoos and our London accents! Dinner was exceptional, and very reasonable - again we were treated like friends, not customers, which is unfortunately something we don't experience at home very much. Diana has a little folder in the barn with all the local eateries listen in, so if you don't want to wait, all the info you need to book ahead is in there, although I'd urge anyone to just turn up and soak up the atmosphere!

I can't really express how much we loved staying here, and will absolutely be back. For longer! - my one tip would be to ignore your satnav - you'll end up in the wrong place - the farm is on a single track road, we got lost a couple of times, but neighbouring farms were very accommodating with directions. It was all part of the adventure. -thank you so much for such a lovely stay! - Jo & Ollie x

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olliesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed with Diana and Syd for a weekend while we visited a couple of NGS open gardens, and loved the quiet rural simplicity of Llanwilcae. The Elephant Room is spacious 'loft living' and the open plan sitting room was much appreciated by our 2 dogs. Diana's attention to detail makes all the difference - homemade cakes for tea every day, towelling robes and proper-sized toiletries in the wet room, and a mix of vintage and contemporary furnishings. Don't miss at least one night in, and ask Diana to cook you dinner. In all, a real breath of fresh air.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWisesAndHounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Usk hotels
0 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
0 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cross Keys Inn
Cross Keys Inn
#4 of 11 in Usk
88 reviews
0 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#11 of 11 in Usk
59 reviews
0 mi away
The Olway Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llanwilcae Farm luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llanwilcae Farm luxury Bed and Breakfast

Address: Rhiwlas, Usk NP15 2JL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Usk
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llanwilcae Farm is nestled in the beautiful rolling landscape of the Vale of Usk. We are sure you will enjoy complete privacy in a separate, converted barn with contemporary artwork and open vaulted living area. Breakfast is served in a feature oak framed glasshouse with lovely views to the south and west. Features include: • luxury private accommodation and bathroom • oak floors • wood burning stove. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Llanwilcae Farm Luxury Bed And Breakfast Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing