We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, perfect cottage!”
other travelers have booked this property
vanilla exterior.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
vanilla exterior.
Terrace at Vanilla cottage Vanilla Cottage contemporary welcoming master bedroom 5ft bed,TV,USB,Ipod dock, duvet, towels robes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
vanilla exterior.
Terrace at Vanilla cottage
Vanilla Cottage contemporary welcoming master bedroom 5ft bed,TV,USB,Ipod dock, duvet, towels robes
Vanilla Cottage contemporary welcoming master bedroom 5ft bed,TV,USB,Ipod dock, duvet, towels robes
Vanilla Cottage contemporary welcoming master bedroom 5ft bed,TV,USB,Ipod dock, duvet, towels robes
Bright well equipped kitchen dining room
Vanilla  smart well equipped kitchen
Smart bathroom with whirlpool showerbath
Shiny bathroom
vanilla lavender terrace
vanilla  comfortable  and cosy sitting room
Tea by the fire
Tea in our special service
Relax!
Single bedroom is small but perfectly formed!
single bedroom
Dining area ready for Christmas arrivals
You have arrived!
Vanilla Cottage at Christmas with real tree
World Heritage Centre Blaenavon and Big Pit convenient from Vanilla Cottage
Stunning Monmouthshire scenery
Riverbank walks on the River Usk very near Vanilla
Usk Agricultural Show early September
Raglan Castle close by and fun to explore
Tintern Abbey- a must to visit
Tintern viewed from Offas Dyke ( Devils Pulpit)
Excellent cycling and mountain biking locally
View from Vanilla Cottage's lane
View from further along our lane
Christmas Windowledge at Vanilla
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Usk, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue S
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, perfect cottage!”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

As this was a last-minute booking, we did not have time to fully research our choice. We were pleasantly surprised. Set in a wooded location, next to the River Usk, we were delighted with the accommodation. The 19th-century cottage, which still retains many of its characteristic features was fully equipped for 21st-century holidaying, and it was cosy, clean, and comfortable. It was lovely to be able to sit in the garden, also a sun trap, and hear the river, and the variety of birds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thanks so much for this review. we are so very glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for leaving the cottage in good order. Not everyone does and its very much appreciated. Come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperSeag...
Hove
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfectly beautiful little cottage and a fine welcome in this valley!”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Really well equiped and beautiful little cottage. Fiona and Malcolm are always very attentive and show a keen attention to detail. We have also stayed at their Tintern Abbey cottage and have been visiting Wales with the Wiltons for four years. Vanilla's garden is perfect. The kitchen is really well equiped. The bed is really comfy. The cottage simply has everything you could need. There are nice walks along the river Usk and there is a cute little wood just behind the cottage. Monmouthshire Cottages are thoroughly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen J
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My husband and I spent christmas 2014 at Vanilla Cottage. It was a faultless stay. The owners had thought of everything to provide us with a wonderful christmas. From the roaring wood burner blazing upon our arrival, to the mince pies, mulled wine, christmas tree and tasteful decorations. We would have loved to stay longer and will definately stay at the Cottage next time we visit the area. To complement our stay, the owners had also provided a wealth of materials on the amazing activities, restaurants and walks in the region. The wonderful Black Bear Inn is within walking distance. Highly recommended to complement your stay at the Cottage. Exceeded expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Care and attention to detail of the owners made the cottage outstanding. Home from Home.
Liked least: having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect! A home from home, with a little extra class, & in GLORIOUS Wales!”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We visited in November for two weeks with our six year old daughter, who wasn't too well during our stay, confining us to base somewhat more than usual, so you could say we tested the facilities well. Vanilla Cottage is a delight. Well equipped, comfortable, warm, with a delightful woodburner. It was perfect for our stay as we like to stay put and cook for ourselves a good deal, reading and walking, with the occasional visit to a town or castle, it was a relief to find that the cottage was just perfect for this. A nearby gym and pool helped keep the cooking from shrinking our clothes too much, and overall, despite a sick daughter, we loved our stay!
Usk is only 'down the road' and the cottage is well placed for exploring Monmouthshire and beyond, something we'd not done before. We'll definitely visit again if we return to this area.
Malcolm & Fiona were amazingly helpful and detailed in both the pre-flight checks, and the 'in flight' assistance when we needed it for our daughter's sake.
All in all we'd highly recommend both Vanilla Cottage, and will gladly re-visit any that they run.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort with design & location
Liked least: the fact that we had to leave
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave g
1 review
“calm and restfull”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Cottage is small for three adults (!) but with all you could ask for by way of modern cooking, bathing etc. The garden is a delight and we had breakfast on the patio every morning. We welcomed having the local maps and guides for walks. We were glad to escape from busy city lives and unwind at Vanilla Cottage, and would definitely recommend it to others - so peaceful.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devonkell...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have stayed at one of Fiona and Malcolm's other properties, Tintern Abbey Cottage, with the family several times before but this was our first visit to Vanilla Cottage. As expected it was all lovely. Very peaceful location. We had a lovely relaxing break. Just what we have come to expect from these lovely owners who really care that you enjoy yourselves and have an excellent eye for detail. Thank you guys.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tort_10
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Couldn't have had a better four days . . .”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We just returned from Vanilla Cottage after 4 days of heaven. The cottage is very well kitted out (everything you need) and spotless. It sits just above the River Usk and there is great walking from the doorstep for us and our dogs (2 Norfolk terriers; this was their holiday).
Easy for the Brecon Beacons National Park and the Forest of Dean as well as th Wye Valley and in the heart of the magnificent Vale of Usk.
There are great places to eat within 10 - 35 minutes from the cottage as well. The Black Bear pub is just 5 minutes up the lane and it is dog friendly with a great selection of food on offer.
This is the second of three cottages that we have stayed at and are looking forward to our next stay (maybe in #3 of 3?).
We would like to thank Fiona and Malcolm for a lovely time and experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Not enough time!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing