We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Olway Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Usk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights for work. You often get fed up with working away and eating rubbish food but at the Olway, I had a real treat. Nichola and Matthew were fantastic from the day I arrived on the Sunday and the rest of the staff were friendly too. Bedroom was not fancy or plush but it had everything you needed (including a little jar aof sweets which were great in an emergency) and to be honest, the most comfortable bed I have slep in for ages. Room was cozy and because the location is so quiet, I had superb sleeps. Food was also very good and Nichola was happy to try to cater for you on a slightly more personal level (one of my collegues is a veggie and there were good options for him and he was very well looked after). Local beers on tap were wonderful - try the "Village Idiot" if it's on - it really was good. Breakfast was also very good quality and a lot of the ingredients throughout the week were local and you could taste the difference! Felt like a home from home for me and I really would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goatgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    51
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
50
101
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We only stayed one night as we were just starting a tour of wales but would have happily stayed longer. Matt and Nicola the hotel owners are very friendly and hard working. The food is great and the locals are very chatty. We will definately be back one day and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Blatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Matt and Nicola were outstanding. we arrived late and dirty from a bike ride, and were looked after like old friends. The food was excellent, the rooms were comfortable, and the sweets next to the bed werea nice touch. cracking cooked breakfast, and more chips than we could eat! Top class joint :-)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting the Wales Open. Had a great time - Nicola and Matt couldn't have been more helpful. The pub is a real joy to stay at - good food, friendly locals and a lovely setting. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

This hotel is run by a young couple who are doing their utmost to get it right and, get it right they do! The rooms are clean and well looked after and the food is excellent. We stayed in 9 hotels during our recent tour of the UK and we can really recommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hegel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Went over for a meal on a Thursday night, bit put off by the restaurant section being closed, but the meal and the sevice were fab. I had steak one of the best I have tasted, They said they paid a premium to get local produce but it was not reflected in the bill, as the preparation was fab (again) . Only proviso, personally I could have wished for a wider selection of real ales, but then I always do. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldpunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Stayed here for one night, considerably better value than others in the town. Very clean room, great pub food in the bar and a nice atmosphere of a country inn, will certainly stay there again if I am in the area, recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
2.4 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
2.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
290 reviews
6.5 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
499 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olway Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olway Inn and Hotel

Property: The Olway Inn and Hotel
Address: Chepstow Road, Usk NP15 2EN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olway Inn and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Olway Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olway Hotel Usk
The Olway Inn And Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing