We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another new venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Olway Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Usk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another new venue”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

As new residents of Usk this was our third venue to sample. My husband and I enjoyed a lovely bar meal at a very reasonable price. The food was plentiful and piping hot, a must with me (the piping hot part). We are early birds around 6pm so there was not many customers but gradually the place began to fill up, it looked like a party was forming so we gleaned that this must be a popular venue. Overall we enjoyed the food and the ambiance and felt welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyetapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    50
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
48
100
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Usk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Myself and my partner eat here regularly and it is a fantastic restaurant. The food is all homemade and cooked to perfection, we highly recommend the Olway Burger, the Glamorgan sausages and the curry. Sunday lunch is also amazing, the mixed meat is usually our choice as you can have all three meats on one plate, it's enough to fill you up until Monday! The Olway is always our first choice when we decide to go out for food. Matt, Nicola and all the staff work so hard and always make you feel very welcome. Long may it continue!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reethebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed just for one night but found everything to be perfect for us. The Inn is a short walk to the centre of Usk which suited us as it's off of the main road which made for a peaceful night's sleep. The room was great. Comfortable and spotlessly clean. Tea/coffee, biscuit, water and sweets were provided. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with plenty of hot water for the shower. Good food in the evening and a fabulous breakfast to start your day with. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was only because we missed the Abergavenny turning that we found our way to this hotel. All we wanted was a sandwich and cups of coffee - and what we were served was both generous and tasty. The home-cured ham was very tasty.
The young woman who saw to us was very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful and we shall make every effort to return to stay overnight and sample the menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reckittmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Dropped in for a drink one lunchtime, and we were made to feel very welcome. People eating and drinking gave it a nice warm, atmosphere. We called back for our evening meal, and had a wonderful meal. Classed as bar meal (as Sunday lunch had been served, restaurant was closed). More than bar food - homecooked brilliant food. Whatever you choose, it was fantastic. Large portions which made change. We ate there the following night, and the quality of the food, and excellent service, plus friendly atmosphere has made us make a promise that we will go and stay next time as they do have rooms. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our stay at Olway Inn was perfect. The room was large, well decorated, spotlessley clean and well equipped with tea/coffee - sweets - bottled water and toiletries. We really liked the quiet location and lovely countryside and the convenience of being just a short walk from Usk town. We have stayed in Usk many times at various hotels/pub and will go again; it is very likely that we will return to the Olway Inn. Good value for money, friendly hosts and a good, freshly cooked, hearty breakfast. The only negative for us was the big hairy dog (belonging to other diners) sitting beside us and wagging its hairy tail while we were eating our evening meal but, it is a country pub and dog friendly so we accepted it. Lovely break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cas443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Friendly and welcoming from the get go . Very clean rooms with nice thoughtful touches [umbrella on the bed - useful in Wales] . Pub food well done [pie with decent filling and excellent pastry] . Very friendly and helpful staff . Great garden by the stream [pity about the rain] . Good quality beers fro Tomas Watkin . The owners are making all this happen so well - fine work !
Thanks to Matt and Nicola for a great stay .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
2.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
4.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
6.5 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.6 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olway Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olway Inn and Hotel

Property: The Olway Inn and Hotel
Address: Chepstow Road, Usk NP15 2EN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olway Inn and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Olway Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olway Hotel Usk
The Olway Inn And Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing