We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with character!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Olway Inn and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Usk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed in quite a few pubs and B & B's in Usk. This is the best by far. Lovely pleasant staff, very clean and bright rooms with everything you need, hairdryer, iron, tea/coffee, bottled water, sweet jar, toiletries and umbrella. Fantastic breakfast. Quiet area with nice walk into Usk. Will definitely be going back again...soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turnerfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 241 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Quiet, secluded but within walking distance of Usk. The Olway was perfect for our little getaway, the room was clean and comfortable. The food was exceptional, I enjoyed the breakfast while he thoroughly relished the T-bone steak cooked to order by Nicola. Lots of nice little touches which made the weekend special. Thanks Matthew and Nicola, we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Check the TV, it's probably just the aerial popped out, we didn't miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in June so that we could enjoy Usk Open Gardens weekend without having the move the car over the weekend. The Olway is less than a 10 minute walk from Usk town square so the plan worked perfectly. This is a traditional, quaint Inn with rooms. It's spotlessly clean throughout and is located down a quiet country lane. Our bedroom was well appointed with some nice touches, e.g. jar of sweets beside the bed, bottled water which was replenished daily and good quality toiletries and towels. Its owned and managed by a young couple who work tremendously hard to offer a warm welcome and personal service. This is not corporate hospitality .... this is genuine customer service delivered with a smile. Nicola is an excellent chef and it seems that a lot of care has gone into providing home cooked food which has been sourced locally ... if not grown by themselves ! They work long and hard to provide the best possible and it certainly tells in the food .... both breakfasts and dinner were a delight. They offer some interesting local ciders and not surprisingly, have a loyal local following. For the nature watchers - there is an 'ottercam' in the bar which is directed at the river beside the Inn and otters have been spotted within the last three weeks. Unfortunately for us, they were spotted around 10.30pm and after a excellent dinner and a good but reasonably priced bottle of wine - we didn't actually see 10.30pm in the bar on any night ! If you are in Monmouthshire, give this place a try. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NettePowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Olway Inn for one night on the 28th June and we had a lovely stay. The Owners and the Staff are so friendly and helpful. There was a band on the night we stayed and they were great. The Owners put on a barbecue and the food was delicious.
Breakfast was tasty and our room was lovely.
This really is a little gem and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We also visited here for food the week before and that was absolutely delicious too
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BootsyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Popped in on fathers day while out for a drive with a friend. Asked the landlord if they could fit 2 in for some food. They were fully booked but kindly found a table in the bar for us.

I ordered ribs as a starter and they were delicious. I opted for the three meat mix as a main! All the meats were cooked to perfection especially the lamb shoulder but the star of the 'show' was the homemade gravy! Yummy. Sadly, I was too full to have a desert.

I have eaten here before and bar food is amazing, all homemade and locally sourced. The burger is amazing, home-made fish fingers with chips a must and the curry and chilli is amazing!! 10/10 for every bit of food I have eaten here.

There is also an excellent selection of quality wine and beer. The wine list is what I call real wine and not branded rubbish!

If you like good quality food for an amazing price this is the place to go! Very family friendly and dogs are welcome in the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffCymrocymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

2 night stay whilst exploring this beautiful part of the country with my precious motorbike, which very nicely the trusting and helpful proprietors let me store in their garage. Ample car park otherwise. Atmosphere is relaxed, come and go as you please, with lovely sitting out area to enjoy the peace and quiet and scenery. More a pub with rooms than bespoke hotel but the rooms are very well appointed with comfy bed and good quality linen, TV, tea/coffee making, complimentary bottled water, biscuits and sweets, hairdrier, iron and ironing board, reasonable lighting, ample storage and well appointed en suite with nice towels, toiletries, all spic and span with everything working as it should. Walls a bit thin. Breakfasts are superb- full works really sets you up for the day. Rear restaurant used mainly for functions but bar area pleasant enough to sup from a good drinks offer including real ale and local cider and sample dishes from a better than the usual pub fayre menu, many home made, eg garlic mushrooms, fishcakes, curry, chicken and chorizo kebabs, and many mains priced well below £10. Some nice details too, eg starched linen, oil/balsamic vinegar dip, etc. Would certainly stay again as/when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Needed a night stop en-route from N Wales. Were attracted by the handy location just off major route and the good reviews. Arrived a bit late on a sunday night but they managed a good meal for us. Linen napkits in the bar - nice touch. Nice friendly atmosphere. No public rooms other that the pleasant bar area. Room well furnished and spotless! Hard to fault. great breakfast freshly cooked

Room Tip: All rooms are reached via an outside staircase from the carpark at the rear of the hotel. This woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
2.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
2.4 mi away
The New Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
Llangeview Lodge
Llangeview Lodge
#1 of 11 in Usk
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olway Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olway Inn and Hotel

Address: Chepstow Road, Usk NP15 2EN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Usk
Price Range: $78 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olway Inn and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Olway Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olway Hotel Usk
The Olway Inn And Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing