We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Olway Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Usk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

we stayed at the Olway inn for a week-end and we were greeted by very friendly staff. We had a most fabulous evening meal, the best we have had for a long time, also the breakfasts were good and plenty. Would certainly go again to go through the rest of the menu

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkg165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    50
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
48
100
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The best meal I've had in pub/hotel for a long time excellent staff and no waiting around for your meal five star all the way. Landlord mixes some excellent cocktails well worth checking out the chilly vodka

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Lovely night away, whilst the room was not large it had everything you could want, even down to a small jar of sweets! Had a lovely bar meal in the evening which was great,although there is a fomal dinning room which other gests said they has had a lovely meal in the previous evening. the Inn is full of locals and very olde worlde ..........log fire burning brightly at one end of the room. The breakfast was superb hot tasty and lots of it!.
We were staying the night as attending a wedding reception in another nearby hotel we were unable to book a taxi at short notice ....however what fabulous people the barmaid offered to take us, another couple in the bar who heard our plight offered to drive us........but a gentleman who was on his way home said no trouble he would take us ..........thank you Mike. What can you say were would you find that kindness and help .....great stay with lovely people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrisCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed one might whilst touring around Wales. Run by a very hardworking couple. Rooms are nothing flash but clean and comfortable. Free wifi provided. Pub provided good meals. Great, quiet location and great for walking into Usk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

B&B for a friend's wedding - looking for somewhere that afforded a short walk into Usk but away from street noise, this place is not expensive so don't expect rooms to be more than basic,
having said that, clean, smart and above what is a nice pub/bistro this is as good a choice as any in the area.
Breakfast "the full Welsh" included locally grown produce (chickens are in the side yard)
always a big plus on a budget weekend .

Room Tip: seemed much of a muchness, none with views that I could see,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I discovered this place via a last minute accomodation website. Looking for somewhere not more than an hour's drive from our home in South Wales, I checked out the reviews on trip advisor and was confident enough to go ahead and book an overnight stay for my husband's 60th birthday. We were not disappointed. A pretty building with a lovely garden at the front complete with the sound of babbling water from the brook adjacent to it. I had booked a table in the restaurant, in the event no-one else was dining there and so we ate in the bar which is cosy and welcoming. Matt is a thoughtful host, who whilst certainly cannot be described as gushing (which wouldnt suit us anyway!) , is clearly attentive to ensuring that his role as a provider of hospitality of the highest standards. We ordered an aperitif of gin martinis and it is the first time in more years than we cared to remember that we were able to watch Matt demonstrate his skill as a cocktail maker - James Bond would have expected no less than the accoutrements, the prechilled glass and the careful execution of a perfect martini! The menu is compact & seemingly conventional pub fare, however, the food which is locally sourced has interesting twists to it and we thoroughly enjoyed every morsel. Nicola (the chef) and Matt both made time for us as we were the last guests in the restaurant and I am at a loss to understand the more negative reviews posted here! Admittedly our room was on the bijoux side but it was lovely, attention to detail and nice quality toiletries, bottled water and a jar of old fashioned sweets were a great touch - the golf brolly on the bed just topped things off perfectly. Breakfast in the morning with locally sourced produce set us up for the rest of the day and it was gone 8 pm before we felt hungry! The only thing which prevents me from giving the Olway five points is the access to the rooms. We had to go outside of the building up a metal staircase/fire escape in order to get to our room. This could be dangerous in wet or icy conditions and would certainly make it impossible for people with significant disabilties to stay there - which is a pity for a place that is clearly so well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stay here on a regular basis for business and have to say that of the many large hotels and smaller family owned B&B's I have stayed at this is near the very top of the list. If not top!

The rooms are pleasant and clean and probabily not out of this world. However they have a good flat screen TV, bath with a shower over it, water and a jar of sweets. What more can you ask for?

However the real pull are the hosts Matt and Nicola. Nicola is an excellent chef and every dish on the menu is worth trying. Portions are large and prices are more then reasonable. I wish I could recommend a dish but they are all so good. But despite all these plus points my highlight is always playing rugby/football with the beautiful pub dog in the Beer Garden!

Excellent!

Room Tip: Phone signal is not great but usually works in the Bar. WIFI is also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bassitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
2.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
4.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
6.5 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
7.6 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olway Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olway Inn and Hotel

Property: The Olway Inn and Hotel
Address: Chepstow Road, Usk NP15 2EN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olway Inn and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Olway Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olway Hotel Usk
The Olway Inn And Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing