We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for the Puy de Dome”
Review of Le Relais des Puys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Relais des Puys
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orcines
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent location for the Puy de Dome”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Coming out of hot Clermont Ferrand into the cooler 'mountain' air was a great boon and the views of the city from this hotel are an added bonus. This is very much a stopover place as it does not have much in the way of facilities (a spartan kiddies playground out back). The advantage though is that you are five minutes from the Puy de Dome train and can make a head start on everyone else in the morning. It was very French! No attempt at any stage to engage in the Anglo-Saxon tongue. Fair enough, we're in France, but then this is a service industry! If your French is poor/non-existant, this might prove a struggle. Room fine and functional, with a view. Evening meal very respectable and friendly waiters. Breakfast something of a bun-fight, but we probably arrived at the peak time. Worth a stop and surely better than a steaming city centre on the plain below.

Room Tip: Reasonably quiet and picturesque wherever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valéry E, Propriétaire at Le Relais des Puys, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Jonathan,
I am very pleased you had a good stay with us.
I regret that people who took care of you did not want or dare to speak English. This is unfortunate and surprising because we have a trained staff...
You enjoyed the location and service. So I hope you'll get another opportunity to come.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    160
    35
    15
    1
See reviews for
133
94
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our room was basic but clean, quiet and well equipped, and the staff all seem very friendly. I was able to communicate with them even though my French is quite limited. It was very good value, especially when compared to similar hotels in Britain. The restaurant served fantastic food and, from what I could gather, seems to have a good local reputation. The hotel is also well situated and within easy reach of the magnificent Puys De Dome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SevenoaksRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valéry E, Gérant at Le Relais des Puys, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello,
I apologize for my late reply.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you very much for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostende, België
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

unfriendly reception. I get the impression that they only like french-speaking clients.
Almost all guests were French.
Room was very basic and old, but spacious.
Diner was ok. French cuisine.
There is no outside area where u can sit for a drink.
Pictures on website are very deceiving!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fraans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orcines
2.9 mi away
Mercure Clermont Ferrand Centre Jaude
Mercure Clermont Ferrand Centre ...
#1 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arum Hotel
Arum Hotel
#2 of 3 in Orcines
87 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#3 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Princesse Flore
1.8 mi away
Le Chatel Hotel-Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Campanile Clermont Ferrand Centre
Campanile Clermont Ferrand Centr...
#2 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais des Puys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais des Puys

Property: Le Relais des Puys
Address: 59 route de la Baraque, 63870 Orcines, Clermont-Ferrand, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Clermont-Ferrand > Orcines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orcines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais des Puys 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For leisure or business stays the hotel, le Relais des Puys is ideally situated in the village of Orcines, 10 minutes from Clermont-Ferrand, the Puy de Dôme, the Vulcania Theme park, the Volcan de Lemptegy and 5 minutes from the Golf des Volcans.An ideal place to stay and discover the Volcanic Park, the Auvergne region and its capital Clermont- Ferrand.3 Chimneys LOGIS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Relais des Puys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing