We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price”
Review of Playadulce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playadulce Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aguadulce
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good value for the price”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed her at the end of October and had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is a little tired and needs some investment to take it back to the 4 star rating.

We stayed Half Board and the standard of the food was overall good. All meals are buffet style with a 'hot plate' station for both breakfast (omlettes/bacon) and grilled steaks/fish in the evenings.

As the hotel was very quiet (lack of guests staying) the buffet meal was quite tedious and repetitive but the standard of the food presented was good.

The pool/jacuzzi area is a great spot and the jacuzzi was amazingly warm, a great retreat from an overcast sky.

The surrounding village/resort is nice and Spanish, very little British influence which was great. The small bars and restaurants in the harbour are nice although as it was out of the main season some of them were clearly closed for the winter.

A great promenade running for a good distance both ways and a beach/decking walk right through to Roquetas Del Mar for those who like to keep active.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to have a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bambi1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    316
    150
    47
    39
See reviews for
404
172
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
172 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during the last week of September 2012. Its a curious place which seems to have been built back to front. In fact on arriving at about 11pm we found it very difficult to find our way out onto the promenade and in the end gave up trying and just went to bed. The roads to the front of the hotel are nothing but access roads, you will find just one small supermarket about 200 yards to the front of the hotel The sea and the swimming pool is to the rear of the hotel and is accessed through a security gate but not before negotiating your way down a series of some 7 flights of steps. There are disabled ramps alongside each but some of those looked quite steep to us. Even after using the lift to the ground floor there are still a few of these ramps to negotiate, so perhaps its not the perfect hotel for the disabled. The pool is large and practical as was the jacusi bubble pool (which is hidden away to the rear of the pool).The list of things not allowed around and in the pool seemed endless.
The rooms were clean and spacious but basic, a bit tired and Travel Lodge standard not a place to spend a comfortable hour reading or watching TV - but the bed was comfortable and we slept very well (would have been even better with better pillows). The hotel is a quiet one, no traffic noise was experienced. The service was very good, very attentive staff who tried their best (mostly).Food was good and drinks were as you would expect in a hotel - not cheap, in fact the whole area is not cheap. The hotel has a major fault; it has poor facilities for internet. In fact unless you had your own lap top it was impossible to access your emails and even then they charge for access for most of the day (that was a real set back for us and the hotel management if reading this account would do well to change its policy in this respect. None of those who had I.T. facilities of there own liked this point.) There was just one computer consul allocated for guests internet use but that was out of service and no one seemed bothered about getting it repaired. The nearest internet cafe was up on the main highway (up the hill, turn right over the bridge and its on the right) which we found ourselves (the hotel staff didnt know where there was one.) Once out onto the promenade you are faced with a magnificent beach; turn right for an hour and a half's stroll along flat a surface but be warned there is nothing either side of that walk but sand and sea after about an hour you will find intermittently placed toilets (take your own tissue paper!).
Turn left at the hotel gates and you will find the restaurants and bars. The hotels dishwater coffee is best left there so after breakfast try the great coffee at 1.30 euro is served at the Riveria Cafe relax with sea views. There are a series of large beach huts spaced every 250 yards or so, these are council owned and numbered rather than named. Try number 2 for a superb Paela with house wine at 10 Euro a bottle (offer them 4 for it and see them laugh !!) - a perfect meal and an idilic spot to ease away the stresses of life. Be warned, the proprietor of number 2 used to sell time shares he is an Italian and so loves himself (the ladies all love him too) he was good fun to talk with and has excellent English (quite rare around these parts). Walk for about half an hour more towards the quay where you will find lots more places to eat and drink. Its well worth the walk especially if you like to see speed boats and yaghts. We found the one and only Indian restaurant there and someone said that a few blocks up the hill there is a Chinese restuarant to be found. We diidnt find it.
Overall we had a good time and would say this is a hotel for those who dont care too much about luxury and like peace and quiet more than comfort.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the gardens facing West. Suits are available and looked worthwhile if its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FraternalEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston Super Mare
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Not so well known Costa del Almeria, but has everything you would need, Currently staying All Inclusive in Playadulce in Aguadulce. Very pleased with our choice, Room is very spacious and has a small view of the sea. Has massive wardrobes, Sky news, & BBC world. a fridge very spacious bathroom, a 2 enormous queen size beds, have to shout to my wife she is so far away" close to the lift. All staff have been very friendly and helpfull and unusualy many named international spirits and beers are included in AI option. there is an indoor pool, heated & an outdoor pool still enterable without shivering and a gate to the beach 20mts away and what a beautiful sand beach. Almeria airport is around 50 euos in a taxi ew. we have driven fron UK . Toll and petrol make flying a much cheaper option these days but my wife is disabled and convieience is necesary.

Room Tip: there are many options available on arrival to suite all pockets and needs, just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarkan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel should have not more than 2 stars ... the rooms are small and smelly. It was described as familly friendly which it is obviously not. There was no baby-cot which I ordered in the room so I bad to wait in the lobby between midnight and 1.30 am with a baby crying on my hands. The baby cot we were given after that was thorn and ther was no appropriate materrace in it - just three pillows from the arm chair.
The food was awfull - old and smelly. So called kids menu was hot-dogs or pasta. Nothing healthy for children.
There is very few activities for the children possible. Three slides end up in the small pool in wich other children are playing, so you have to be extra cautious that noone falls on your childs head.
I wouldn't call the staff friendly, especially waiters who throw thing instead of handing them.
Defenately NOT worth it!

Room Tip: there bad rooms and very bad ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kasia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aguadulce hotels

Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was my worst hotel exprience in the last 5 years. The hotel is very old and rooms ar small. After spending 3 hours at the reception because there was no rspace in the room to put a second bed for one of our kids, I was told to change my booking online! No assistance provided, understaffed, expensive, old and ugly. Need urgent renovation and management change. After one night we changed to a hotel nearby and had a very good time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLuzA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I did not like the evening meal so I changed to bed and breakfast for the extension of my stay for an extra eighteen nights. I got a refund from Travel Republic which was very fair of them. The breakfast was cooked freshly every morning and was very good. The fresh coffee was most pleasant. After breakfast I did line dancing and keep fit with the Entertainment Manager, Zaria with a small group. She was so pleasant and worked to a very professional standard. The beach was close by through the back gate and just across the road. The weather was lovely and sunny. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi outdoors was great and clean. It is geared more towards the Spanish families and retirement. This was not a problem. The resort was not that built up and I liked this as it was more Spanish and not spoilt by tourism. On the whole I enjoyed myself. A nice break of a month from London and I missed the wet English weather!

Room Tip: A higher floor facing Roquetas de Mar is quieter as the 501 Centre comes lively at night facing Alme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The hotel and area are ok but........ the whole of Aguadulce is not geared towards English tourism. We found that 97% of the hotel guests were Spanish retired guests and although they were lovely it's very hard to hold a conversation if you only speak the basic Spanish!!!!! Hotel staff tried really hard on the whole but outside of the hotel very hard - we found that only a few bars/restaurants could understand our requests, although my daughter did find her Spanish had improved at end of our 10 days!!! Don't know if it may be different later in the season but very little to do at Easter as lots of shops etc seemed closed. We had room only so ate a lot but on the whole most food was ok.

Room Tip: Hotel ok but you need to speak good Spanish!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy49282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playadulce Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We thank you for your comments to which we will bear your impressions in mind, we will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Francisco Meroño
Gerente Playadulce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguadulce
6.4 mi away
Playacapricho Hotel
Playacapricho Hotel
#6 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
1,498 reviews
6.7 mi away
Playaluna Hotel
Playaluna Hotel
#5 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
1,440 reviews
2.5 mi away
Diverhotel Aguadulce
Diverhotel Aguadulce
#1 of 4 in Aguadulce
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Playasol Spa Hotel
Playasol Spa Hotel
#15 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
921 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mediterraneo Park
Mediterraneo Park
#13 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
1,196 reviews
6.1 mi away
Diverhotel Roquetas
Diverhotel Roquetas
#12 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playadulce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playadulce Hotel

Property: Playadulce Hotel
Address: Avda del Palmeral s/n, 04740 Aguadulce, Roquetas de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar > Aguadulce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aguadulce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playadulce Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Playadulce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playadulce Hotel Roquetas De Mar
Playadulce Hotel Aguadulce, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing