We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Portomagno
Nearby Hotels
Playadulce Hotel(Aguadulce)
$101
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$64
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Mirablau(Aguadulce)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Los Alamos(Aguadulce)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveler rating
68
164
214
112
153
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
164
214
112
153
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 711 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

First impressions were not good the large Glass roof over the front desk was dirty and the glass broken in several places. The reception staff spoke very little English, but later we found spoke it well enough for their Gests to get by if they wanted. Reception staff were not very helpful and in one case we were trying to buy tickets for a trip out which the Hotel sold and as soon as we spoke the reception guy turned his back and went into the back room not to return. Bar staff however were great and very helpful.Spa staff looked us up and down and decided that we would not pay for their services very rude before we could enquire we were asked to leave thinking that the English were not interested the costs were high even for guests. The Room was a good size and clean in most cases. However the balcony rail was covered in Bird poo and stayed that way all the whole 2 weeks we were there. Only one pool open even though it was over 30 and early Oct.Most of the Hotel was in a complete mess as we walked around the hotel warn and dirty carpets,wires and elec not safe. There were no shops close and very quite not a Holiday to do things. Also the hotel shop and fac could not find them.The Hotel was full of Spanish OAP who seemed to come and go and it was a srum at meal times pushing rude ness and filling their bags with food from the food hall and total lack of respect. They NEVER purchased a drink but filled the bar area playing cards and board games so it was difficult at times to get a seat. It was welcomed that the all inclusive did go on till midnight and you could take a drink to your room. If you want a quite Holiday doing nothing with the wonderful Beach across the road great this is for you. Hotel only really 2 star but when they finish I am sure they will bring it up to the 4 star they want but not yet.

Room Tip: End of season was very very quite.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank patrickchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Me and my friend stayed at the porto magno hotel for 5 nights and we thought it was great. It was very clean, the room had everything you need however our hair dryer didnt work at the time. We had a pool and sea view with a balcony. The staff were friendly however spoke little english which was a bit of a problem.
We were all inclusive and therefore took advantage of the free drinks at the bar. The only thing that let the hotel down was the food. It was absolutely awful. Breakfast was horrible. The cereals were mixed together, there were no croissants and the bread was hard. However the night time meals were better and there was a lot of variety.
The location was excellent and couldnt fault it. We were right outside the beach, there were a few shops near by and the centre commercial was only a 5 minute walk away. We went there most nights to drink at the bars. Its not a lively holiday if your wanting clubs and to party but there are plenty of bars.
We had a great time, and will definitely go again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked a room with seaview for an extra cost. This was totally unneccesary since all rooms had seaview in a manner!

The room was goodsized with a clean and nice bathroom. The hotel in all fet a bit dated and the large windows towards the sea and the glass roof in the receptionhall was very dirty and worn. The Fountains towards the sea were all closed down and looked abandoned.

The poolarea was nuce with four or five pools under large palm trees and set in a nice garden.

The breakfast was huge but lacking in quality and rather boring and tasteless. It was like a school kitchen at its worst!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SushiX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our weeks stay at this hotel was super. 15 mins from airport, 30 euros in a taxi. Reception staff could not speak any English, and a little grumpy. Our room was on the 11th floor with a full on sea view. Room was spotless, bathroom was very modern and so was our room. Had a fridge in room which was very useful.
The seettings for meals was very long so you had plenty time to get your meals. Food was okish after a week was getting fed up with the same. The alinclusive drinks were very good and went until midnight. You had to sign a piece of paper with a pencil before you had your drinks, not sure what that was all about.
The location was to die for beautiful empty beaches with no shops and no English bars or restauramts.
there was a supermarket 15 minutes walk away up a hill. You could also catch buses along this road. We caught a bus to the city and it only cost 1.25 euros each, each way. City was lovely and managed to see all the sights.
Try and sit on the coast side on the bus as the coast line you go along is amazing and so unspolit.

Room Tip: most rooms will have some sort of sea view. Room 1136 was super and very modern
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beverleySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently has our fourth stay at the Porto Magno and as before the staff were very pleasant and patient with two Brits (the only two in the hotel) who speak a little Spanish and the staff don't speak much English. It makes for an interesting stay. The food on offer was very good and fresh with plenty of variety. The options were very Spanish which my husband and I prefer as we can get English food at home. A previous review said the food was always cold we didn't find this but there is a microwave on hand for anyone who needed their food hotter. We made use of the spa as the weather wasn't as good as it has been on previous visits so we made the most of the indoor pool and relaxed on the sunbeds around the pool. We also used the local buses to venture further afield at a very reasonable cost. There are still parts of the hotel that need refurbishing although they have done quite a bit since our visit last year. Although they still haven't done anything about the awful smell in the downstairs bar toilets which is quite bad but their is other toilets near the reception which are very nice. Having said that we would recommend the hotel and look forward to staying their for our fifth time some time in the future. We really like the area and we enjoy the promenade every evening and if we something a bit more touristy then there is Rochetas De Mar a good walk away or for those less able a short trip on the bus. Also a bus into Almeria where there are plenty of tourist attractions to see also cafés and shops that are worth a visit. It is very nice to sit at a café around the marina for a coffee and ice cream. As I said earlier my husband and I speak enough Spanish to get us by but we didn't encounter any problems and the locals made us feel very welcome. Unlike the previous travellers we were on the 12th floor and the lift went all the way up there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sidina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews