We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent speedway venue”
Review of Friends Arena

Friends Arena
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Solna
Attraction details
burntwood, staffs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent speedway venue”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I attended the SPG event there last weekend and was pleasantly suprised at the set up.

The beer was reasonable and toilets plentiful.

I will be back next year so keep my seats free.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhat206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    79
    40
    31
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Very average stadium”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I recently attended the Iron Maiden gig and although the show itself was excellent, the same cannot be said for the stadium.

It's around a fifteen minute walk (at a fairly fast pace) from the overland train station and the surrounding area is a building site. The trains themselves are full to bursting. Not a pleasant experience. Neither was the sight of many Swedes (male and female) relieving themselves in the roadside bushes!

Good luck getting some food and drink within the stadium as the queues are ludicrously long. I've been to a lot of stadiums and arenas over the years and never seen queues like it. We didn't bother wasting an hour queuing up.

There's plenty of toilet facilities, and free wifi. Those are the only good things I can say about the stadium facilities.

There was a good atmosphere within the stadium, and the gig was excellent but I wouldn't rush back to an event at the Friends Arena. Considering its such a new stadium, it is a bit of a disappointment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Queneth_Veneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice arena”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Saw two Bruce Springsteen concerts here 55,000 people each night and the roof covered.

New stadium good facilities plenty of food kiosks and toilets and free wifi in the stadium.

There is a short walk from the train station but it helps to build up the excitement it's a bit like Wembley Way.

There is still building going on around the stadium in a few years it will look even better.

I would attend events here again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank broooce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The traffic is a mess”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The arena itself is alright, but getting to it and getting out of there is a nightmare. The infrastructure is not ready for another 2-3 years, so you always have to walk quite a distance to get to the arena. It doesn't matter if you traval by car, bus, subway or commuter train, the problem is the same.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdTrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Most modern arena in Scandinavia”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

New Arena where the Swedish national team plays its home games. Compared to the old arena Råsunda so this is a big better arena. Big screens, roof that can be pulled to the side so the stadium can be used even in the cold Swedish winters.
The stadium's name is from an anti-bullying group which I think is a good thing from the Swedish Football Association.

Stockholm have Globen Arena and Freinds Arena as mayor Stadiums. The Globe is probably still best for concerts indoors and Freinds for soccer.
The only downside Freinds Arena is that it is a bit outside Stockholm City.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyRudeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends Arena also viewed

Solna, Stockholm County
Solna, Stockholm County
 
Solna, Stockholm County
Solna, Stockholm County
 

Been to Friends Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing