We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Locanda Dell'Angelo
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ameglia
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my mother (70) and could not have asked for a hotel with more helpful or kind staff , they looked after us from the moment we arrived . It is a shame the present economy sees less visitors but this is not a reflection on the hotel .
We ate in the resturant one evening , the food and service were fabulous .
If we are in the area again i wouldn't hesitate to stay there .

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room which was great for my mother who is less mobile .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Traveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    53
    19
    17
    19
See reviews for
24
87
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We love this hotel and have been here many times...family run, with a professional but relaxed attitude.a modern hotel in beautiful gardens and one of the nicest pools I have been in.Fresh spacious rooms with a large terrace.Close to Sarzana,which is a wonderful town to explore.Many beaches close by..it really is situated well...we always have a car and is recommended to get around to the nearby attractions..you won't be disappointed...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolabaudone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

A strange but ultimatley satisfying stay. We needed to stay somewhere for a night on our way from Tuscany to the Appenine mountains.

Was hard to find (my fault, I hadn't printed off a map) but we were pleasantly surprised when we got there. Cool architecture if you like Frank Lloyd wright. Rooms minimal in a 70's way (but good TV). Pool fine. Eclectic mix of people, a little bit transient but it worked. Had some nice chats with other guests. It felt like an American desert hotel (execept we were surrounded by cornfields)...MOSQUITOES a problem at night.
The restaurant food is SUPERB...it's a shame there were only two tables eating, service and wine list excellent. Breakfast was he best we had in Italy which we didn't make ourselves (fresh cake!)
Good if you don't want the glamour of Lerici or just want a place to pass through and relax.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2010

The hotel is over 35 years old and you can notice this everywhere in the hotel. Maintenance on the hotel is very poorly. All over the bathroom you can find mould, on the ceiling, on the shower, on the tiles of the bathroom. In the room itself you will find a 15 inch TV probably the first they ever bought. The furniture in the room is very basic which is okay but doesn’t give a nice ambiance. The carpet is dark brown with spots all over. There are a lot of mosquitos which people killed on the walls and the stains are still there. Noisy air-conditioning which isn’t cleaned in a very long time.
If you would like a quit day at the pool, you’ll be surprised how many cars come buy since the pool is right next to the road. They do have free Wi-fi but it works very poorly.
We stayed in lot's of hotels all over the world but never had such a bad expercience as we had during our stay at Locanda Dell'Angelo. Overall an hotel which I would never go back to and highly overrated with 4 stars and overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ameglia hotels

manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

The hotel itself is very pretty and it is in very quite setting. Even though it is near main road, it is divided from the road by green strip and guest car park.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. And spotless. The whole place is. The reception/lobby and breakfast room are very light and feel very comfortable too. Place you can just sit in leather sofa and relax.

There is a pool outside with quite a few beds and seats for the guests, surrounded by lovely greenery.

The staff is just incredible. They will go out of their way to help you. They will advise where to go, how to get there and what is good and what is not. You feel like you are being really looked after, like they care. No impersonal nonsence.

They also have a restaurant. It is not cheap, but it is cheap for what it is. I recommend you make a space in your budget to eat there at least once. Excellent service, 6* restaurant.

The beach is about a 15 mins walk away through lovely fields. Nearby town 9about 5 miles) will offer lots of restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2009

An authentic experience. The owner was really hospitable and nice as was all the staff. Perfect location to see the whole area and very close tothe beach. Great food and lovel atmosphere. Definitely recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm-sm-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhereoutthere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Bottom line: We spent the most money on this hotel and it was our least favorite of the 11 hotels we have stayed in thus far on our European vacation. A five star for service, a two star for quality. It really should not be more than a 3 star! Husband and I were split on how we felt about this hotel- hence our title of 50/50. We both loved it and disliked it for different reasons. If you are all about service and feeling welcome and do not care about the quality of the bed and room, this is the place for you. If you care about quality of the room and having a comfortable bed, this is not the place for you!

It should be noted that while it says there is free internet, it will not work if you have the typical Windows Vista as most do. We were disappointed because we had been looking forward to it.

When we first arrived, we were a bit discouraged by the location since it is a bit removed from town- a car is absolutely necessary if booking this hotel!

The staff was very kind and welcoming so we felt at ease arriving here. This is the reason we 50% loved the place. The gentleman is absolutely delightful and so helpful. He recommended various areas for us to go and visit and we liked him a lot.

The room itself was rundown and filled with mosquitoes- our 50% disliked. I left with 12 bites on my legs and arms. Not a fan of this. Then, in the evening, I ran a bath which was brown in colour. Albeit, the same friendly gentleman came and fixed it, but I was just a bit discouraged at this point.

The breakfast was good as we enjoyed fresh fruit salad with ham and cheese and bread. As well, there three cereals provided along with various flavours of yogurt.

Liked: Service, breakfast
Disliked: Location (removed from city and absolutely NO VIEW), lack of internet for Vista, frenzy of mosquitoes in our room ( screens are in order), dirty bath water, rundown stained ceilings and stained floors (this place needs a makeover desperately).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chellebelle2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ameglia
0.7 mi away
River Park Hotel
River Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ameglia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ala Bianca
Hotel Ala Bianca
#1 of 3 in Ameglia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sette Archi
Hotel Sette Archi
#1 of 1 in Bocca di Magra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residenza Alberghiera Italia
4.3 mi away
Doria Park Hotel
Doria Park Hotel
#2 of 18 in Lerici
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Fiascherino
Hotel Fiascherino
#2 of 3 in Fiascherino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Dell'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Dell'Angelo

Property: Locanda Dell'Angelo
Address: Viale XXV Aprile, 60, 19031, Ameglia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Ameglia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ameglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda Dell'Angelo 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Locanda dell'Angelo is set on the border between Tuscany and Liguria, surrounded by greenery of the farm of Marinella, and surrounded by a campaign rich in archaeological treasures from the ancient Roman city of Luni. For its strategic location, the Inn of the Angel is ideally placed for visiting both of the Cinque Terre to the very close Versilia. The original structure of the 70's, was designed by Vico Magistretti and preserves the poetry of the dialogue between the white Alpi Apuane and the nearby sea. The facilities consists of 31 rooms and suites, where the guiding principle of the furniture is the same hospitality of an house where no two rooms are identical; each room is made without leaving anything to chance in an apparent total simplicity. The garden surrounding the house has a large variety of native plants and incorporates a swimming pool with Jacuzzi, which reflects in his bathtub of white marble, the Alpi Apuane of Carrara ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Locanda Dell'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Dell`Angelo Hotel Ameglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing