We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super in all respects”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
ohio
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Super in all respects”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

An outstanding property in all respects. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was at least 500 square feet and beautifully decorated with a large claw foot tub and gorgeous walk in shower. The grounds are immaculate and the views incredible. The pool is lovely and heated, and thus not very refreshing in the heat of summer. The pool service was first rate. Unfortunately, our room was quite hot despite being air conditioned but this hardly diminished the charm of the property.

Breakfast was very average but adequate and served on a lovely terrace with views that are beyond description. We were with Backroads on a bike trip of Tuscany and had a group of 23. Dinner was slow but again perfectly adequate. The staff was very professional and eager to please.

If you are planning a stay in this region, this property has to be at or very near the top of the list.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioMaranello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    73
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
124
372
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The standard room for around eur400 a night is incredibly small, basic and old. It's like staying in an average 3star hotel. Avoid at all cost, not worth the money!

We complained to the hotel staff and manager. At first, they would only agree to upgrade the room for an additional payment. But we persisted, and ultimately they agreed to move us the following day.

The pool is stunning and the views are incredible. However, the pool bathrooms are dirty and smell like sewage.

So overall far from a 5 star experience. Stay at the l'andana or castel monastero.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Real919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Good morning,
first of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at our property.
We do respect 110% our clients opinion and while we really try hard on a daily basis to deliver the best service and the best quality (demonstrated from countless 5 stars reviews we received) we feel sorry and sad to have not been able to 100% accomplish this with you. We really hope you will offer us a second opportunity and you will come visiting us again maybe be with the new baby that will arrive soon in your family.
Just a word regarding the smell in the bathrooms by the pool, unfortunately they are located beside the air extractors of the pool's technical area where the air filtering machine suddenly broke (the smell is chlorine), we fixed it the same day, we do apologies for this.
We wish you all the best looking forward to seeing you soon again at Castello del Nero.
Best regards
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and All the Staff Members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a magnificent property midway between Florence and Siena. In addition to very comfortable rooms and great al fresco dining, we particularly appreciated the helpfulness of the concierge staff, who arranged a number of special excursions and events for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Good afternoon from sunny Chianti,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon at Castello del Nero.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Small, elegant hotel with great views, very peaceful, friendly service and plenty of amenities. Rooms are spacious and breakfast on the terraces was wonderful. Thanks to its relative proximity to the highway, it is very conveniently located to access Florence, Sienna, San Gimignano and other major sites is Tuscany. We enjoyed the tennis courts and the reception can lend you great rackets. The pool is beautiful. We were only a bit disappointed with dinner at the restaurant where the service was a bit cold, especially compared to all other aspect of the hotel service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The views from the terrace of this hotel are beautiful and peaceful. Great heated pool. Large rooms filled with fresh fruit everyday! Service was great. Since we had a car in this area, the staff suggested visiting some small towns and villages that are not as well known. Take their advice and make the time to use this hotel as "hub" for visiting Tuscany. Get the hotel to arrange a tour to the Antinori Winery at BADIA A PASSIGNANO and have dinner and a wine tasting! The Spa at the hotel....very relaxing. The hotel even produces their own olive oil. Great staff, great food, and very convenient in Chianti Country.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valinhos, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are looking for a very nice place in Tuscany with a great food, you are in the right place.
Take the advantage to be in a plece wher you can use the hotel shuttle to visit Siena and Florence, also we recommend to visit the new Antinori Winery near by.

Room Tip: Try to get a view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EduardoLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel, staff and service spot on. Arrangement for wine tasting and bikes made smoothly and well looked after by dining staff, in particular Michael. Taster menu was out of this world and great wine menu too. Bathroom amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
13.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
16.6 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
15.7 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
623 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
557 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa

Property: Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Address: Strada Spicciano 7, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASTELLO DEL NERO HOTEL & SPA - Tuscany, Chianti Castello del Nero a XII century castle, now a 5 star luxury hotel member of the Leading Hotels of the World, is located in the heart of Tuscany. 20 minutes from Florence, Siena and San Gimignano, the hotel is in the perfect spot to start exploring the Chianti Wine Region. Original frescoes, vaulted ceilings and fireplaces are located in common areas and guest rooms alike, exuding the charm and history of the noble estate it was. The 50 rooms and suites are unique and painstakingly restored, furbished with elegance and completed with state of the art technology. The hotel main restaurant La Torre (1 Michelin Star) offers a unique gourmet experience where guests are pampered by attentive and discreet service while savouring the signature dishes of our Executive Chef Giovanni Luca Di Pirro. At La Taverna restaurant guests can enjoy typical Tuscan flavours and during summer lunches by the Pool. The Bar located inside the castle is a cosy venue where guests may sip on one of our many reserve cognacs, grappa and whiskies. The unique wine cellar is housed in the castle's oldest part and it is the perfect location for wine tastings. The SPA branded ESPA is over 1000 square metres and offers personalised treatments, heat experience, vitality pool, relaxation area and the Fitness Suite with the most modern and sophisticated equipment. The outdoor heated Swimming pool boasts a magnificent view of the valley and lakes below. Two Tennis courts, illuminated for night play, are available. Complimentary shuttle bus service to and from the centre of Florence or Siena at scheduled times are available all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel And Spa
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa
Castello Del Nero Hotel & Spa Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing