We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One of the best hotels I have experienced!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I have experienced!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Castello del Nero is a prize. It is sited beautifully. It is meticulously kept. The service could not be more accommodating. The food was delicious. There is just nothing they could do better. CDN is among my best ever hotel experiences. I recommend it without qualification whatsoever.

We used CDN as base and made day trips to Siena, Cortona, Florence and Greve. All were easy drives.

The hotel staff made reservations at local restaurants they selected. The choices made were outstanding too. The staff arranged for a driver so that we would not need to worry about getting lost at night or have a DD.

There is a spa at CDN which we did not use but it seemed awfully good too.

We will likely use it again during our next trip to Tuscany.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    61
    29
    11
    9
See reviews for
106
325
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grosseto, Italy
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Yap, this is the only word that comes in my mind thinking about my stay in this hotel. I'm not a Spa fan, but I decided to surprise my fiancé with an overnight here. I couldn't have had a better idea. The welcome by Alessia was very warm and professional with a little tour of the common area during our way to the room, which was exactly reflecting the idea of an old charming Tuscan mansion. Huge, clean and comfortable. We had an aperitif and a wonderful dinner: do not miss the "cappelletti with pigeon ragù" and the "pigeon" as main course! The service was very professional and attentive. Very good value for money. The next morning we stopped at the Espa and we had a wonderful experience. The staff was very welcoming and professional. We couldn't have treatments due to the fact that we didn't book in advance, but the "percorso benessere" was very relaxing, including the outside pool. Thank you for an unforgettable week end. Last thing that surprised me: it's rather common to call hotel guests by name, but It never happened to me to be called like that even by the bellman!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Good afternoon,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Experiences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All all the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is one of if not the best if not the best hotel experiences I have had in Europe. If you want to take someone special and give them the Wow factor then look no further. This is one of these hotels where everything just happens with no fuss, the quality of services, food, amenities and location superb. Tranquility at its best ---no noise, silence! Try it , the stress of the world disappears.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU! for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
& All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Castello del Nero we were made to feel most welcome. The staff met us on arrival and helped us with our suitcases to our rooms. We were greeted with bottles of water and crisp green apples as refreshment after a long journey. We headed for lunch and had a light snack before spending the afternoon in the spa. We were only there for one night, but would not hesitate in booking to go back in the future. A big thank you to Fabio, Valentina and everyone else who made our short stay so memorable.

Room Tip: we stayed in a deluxe twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILOVEITALY31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel and to be honest from the last time that I was there something has been change.
The service is better. I still consider that for some point is little be expensive for what they give to you. I was lucky because I went there at the end of the summer and the weather was good, so we can swim in the pool but if you go in the winter time there is no place where you can swim or take your kids. The person that there are working there are always kind but if you have child is not the best place for them. For the rest the room are nice service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickyus-newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Good afternoon from a Sunny Castello del Nero,
I would like to thank you for your kind words, we strive every day to deliver the best service and the best quality to our Guests. I will be more than pleased to learn more about where we are a little expensive for what we deliver as this will help us in fixing a situation that despite our controls might have slipped out.
Almost all the winter time we are closed as we would like to offer the opportunity to enjoy our property during the best season when we are more than happy to welcome families as our policy is to be Family Friendly and we do not advertise to come in winter with kids for the reason above.
We look forward to welcoming you this summer as well and in the meantime we send our best regards
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My boyfriend is from Florence, and when we end up there in the Summer, we always take day trips out into Tuscany when its too hot to stay in the city. Castello del Nero has a really lovely feel to it and the grounds are amazing. The view is stunning, the service is good, and the food is as you would expect in Tuscany - brilliant. We also used the spa on a few occasions, which we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LColey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and all the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
483 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

It is a retreat between Siena and Florence in the country side. It is very beautiful. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the food is good. The spa facility is ok, but nothing special. Rooms are quite small and basic. My overall conclusion is that it is a nice place, but too expensive. Next time I would prefer Four Seasons in Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ales11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good morning from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
13.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
6.3 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
23.3 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa

Property: Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Address: Strada Spicciano 7, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASTELLO DEL NERO HOTEL & SPA - Tuscany, Chianti Castello del Nero a XII century castle, now a 5 star luxury hotel member of the Leading Hotels of the World, is located in the heart of Tuscany. 20 minutes from Florence, Siena and San Gimignano, the hotel is in the perfect spot to start exploring the Chianti Wine Region. Original frescoes, vaulted ceilings and fireplaces are located in common areas and guest rooms alike, exuding the charm and history of the noble estate it was. The 50 rooms and suites are unique and painstakingly restored, furbished with elegance and completed with state of the art technology. The hotel main restaurant La Torre (1 Michelin Star) offers a unique gourmet experience where guests are pampered by attentive and discreet service while savouring the signature dishes of our Executive Chef Giovanni Luca Di Pirro. At La Taverna restaurant guests can enjoy typical Tuscan flavours and during summer lunches by the Pool. The Bar located inside the castle is a cosy venue where guests may sip on one of our many reserve cognacs, grappa and whiskies. The unique wine cellar is housed in the castle's oldest part and it is the perfect location for wine tastings. The SPA branded ESPA is over 1000 square metres and offers personalised treatments, heat experience, vitality pool, relaxation area and the Fitness Suite with the most modern and sophisticated equipment. The outdoor heated Swimming pool boasts a magnificent view of the valley and lakes below. Two Tennis courts, illuminated for night play, are available. Complimentary shuttle bus service to and from the centre of Florence or Siena at scheduled times are available all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel And Spa
Castello Del Nero Hotel & Spa Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing