We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais(Tavarnelle Val di Pesa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Primavera(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mulino dell'Abate(Tavarnelle Val di Pesa)
View Hotel
Borghetto di San Filippo(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agriturismo Il Vello d'Oro(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Hotel Chianti(Tavarnelle Val di Pesa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta Relais Villa Tavolese(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quercia al Poggio(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveler rating
532
80
31
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
80
31
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuscan countrysidemichelin star restaurantbeautiful hotella tavernaexecutive chefwonderful experienceluxury hotelcasual restauranthiking trailspool restaurantstunning viewsdeluxe roomhotel shuttleshuttle servicetravel agentour honeymoonmain building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 668 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Unbelieveable stay at hotel. My husband and I travel frequently for work and stay at luxury properties. This is at Four Seasons / Mandarin Oriental standards. Amazing service, great attention to every detail. Location is perfect. We declined the daily drive to Florence and Siena via the hotel and rented a car (parking is free). 30 minutes to Siena, 30 to Florence, 60 to designer outlets. One day, hotel arranged a car service and we did a variety of vineyards and lunch at Banfi.
What my husband loved best, the weather was brisk/fall, leaves were changing colors, and while we couldn't use the pool, we spent each morning hiking the grounds, checking out the olive and wine vineyards on the estate. The spa was also fantastic and has heated outdoor massage pools to use pre/post your service. The hotel is not crowded during the week -and all staff knew our names. It felt like our own Chateau.
We will be back again next year during THanksgiving week.
one final note - leverage front desk reception prior to your trip. they were so good on emailing us to help us prepare from arranging outings, telling us what to pack, etc.

Room Tip: I don't believe the hotel upgrades regularly, so if you book a Classic Room, you will get a classic room. We reserved a King room with panoramic vineyard views. Was in the main building. PERFECT - yet the highest level of standard room. Next one up is suites and the price skyrockets.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NBL629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Experiences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Visited Castello del Nero in mid November and can't wait to go back. Deluxe room was huge, immaculate and comfortable. The service from every department was exemplary. The dining experience is not to be missed as the menu is seasonal and local. The Chef is outstanding. The surrounding countryside is magnificent as are the views from every window. Trying to think of somthing negative but can't come up with anything. The hotel is central to Siena, Florence, San Gimignano and Greves. Don't miss the Spa, that too is fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is countryside retreat, it is not Florence: the hotel is 21 km away from Florence ring road, almost half way to Siena. We used rental car; a free bus to Florence is, apparently, also avaiable. The good side: beautiful scenery, quiet, excellent setting for walking in the Tuscan countryside. Chianti region is nearby, with all its attractions. Two Michelin restaurants within reach, good own restaurant. Very helful staff, friendly service.

Rooms quite basic given how expensive the place is. No wifi, and a EUR20/day charge for internet surprising. Palestra building is more like a country house, be prepared to swat an occasional centipede.

Spa area is nice, but limited capacity. Again, facilities are fairly basic for the price.

In summary, very pleasant, but expensive. By Florence standards value for money is average, but would probably disappoint most international travellers. Still, a very good choice for a short trip to the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Local_expatAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Exeriences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Now this is a true 4 star hotel. Exceptional service, spotlessly clean, attention to every detail. From housekeeping to the waitstaff, this place did not disappoint. Breathtaking views. The spa and spa services were great. The food is excellent. Close drive to Siena, Florence, and Chianti. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VACATI0NG0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing, beautiful place in Tuscany, this is THE place. As most have said, the service at the hotel is outstanding. Rooms very comfortable and nicely appointed. Ample parking. Amazing spa. Tennis court and heated pool. We stayed three nights and ended coming back for a fourth night at the end of our trip. Can't wait to come back to Castello del Nero.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRD90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews