We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A countryside retreat in a beautiful area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A countryside retreat in a beautiful area”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is countryside retreat, it is not Florence: the hotel is 21 km away from Florence ring road, almost half way to Siena. We used rental car; a free bus to Florence is, apparently, also avaiable. The good side: beautiful scenery, quiet, excellent setting for walking in the Tuscan countryside. Chianti region is nearby, with all its attractions. Two Michelin restaurants within reach, good own restaurant. Very helful staff, friendly service.

Rooms quite basic given how expensive the place is. No wifi, and a EUR20/day charge for internet surprising. Palestra building is more like a country house, be prepared to swat an occasional centipede.

Spa area is nice, but limited capacity. Again, facilities are fairly basic for the price.

In summary, very pleasant, but expensive. By Florence standards value for money is average, but would probably disappoint most international travellers. Still, a very good choice for a short trip to the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Local_expatAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Exeriences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    70
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
118
366
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Now this is a true 4 star hotel. Exceptional service, spotlessly clean, attention to every detail. From housekeeping to the waitstaff, this place did not disappoint. Breathtaking views. The spa and spa services were great. The food is excellent. Close drive to Siena, Florence, and Chianti. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VACATI0NG0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing, beautiful place in Tuscany, this is THE place. As most have said, the service at the hotel is outstanding. Rooms very comfortable and nicely appointed. Ample parking. Amazing spa. Tennis court and heated pool. We stayed three nights and ended coming back for a fourth night at the end of our trip. Can't wait to come back to Castello del Nero.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRD90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

excellent front desk, service, room, housekepping, breakfast and so on. we did dinner once that we arrived and menu is ok. acceptable for the value. location is perfect. only difficulty is that mobile phone and wifi is no strong even in the main building. no more cable wifi should be in the room. anyway the hotel is really god.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Exeriences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What an amazing visit We had! The hotel is a unique blend of old castle and fabulous 5-star resort. From the moment you walk through the double doors you feel like you've been transported to a different world. The mysterious little hallways and stairways throughout the structure stirred my imagination- what must it have been like so long ago? The concierge staff was unbelievably helpful, the attention of the staff in the bar and dining room made us feel like we were the only guests there, housekeepers, grounds-keepers, everyone was so attentive. The room was beautiful- pristine and comfortable. The views from everywhere were magnificent! Breakfast was delightful complete with an amazing view, and dinner in the dining room was absolutely delicious! The visits to the spa were heaven- another incredible staff! The spa was beautiful and relaxing and the body products like no other. I will definitely return to Castello del Nero and recommend it to anyone who asks!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The hills of Tuscany ARE just as beautiful as their pictures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

There is no bettr place to stay.... Everything from the way you are greeted to the rooms and the food was first class. Chef Giovanni was the highlight of the trip.......If you want to find a little bit of heaven this is the place........

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Experiences.
Our Executive Chef Giovanni Luca sends his personal regards.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Castello del Nero was one of the best finds ever! The property is beautiful. The entire staff was very attentive to our needs and called us by name. My boyfriend was celebrating his 50th birthday and was treated like royalty. The services provided was well worth the price. This is a "must stay" if you are visitng Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melonie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Experiences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
13.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
663 reviews
16.6 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
5.5 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
620 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
334 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa

Property: Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Address: Strada Spicciano 7, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASTELLO DEL NERO HOTEL & SPA - Tuscany, Chianti Castello del Nero a XII century castle, now a 5 star luxury hotel member of the Leading Hotels of the World, is located in the heart of Tuscany. 20 minutes from Florence, Siena and San Gimignano, the hotel is in the perfect spot to start exploring the Chianti Wine Region. Original frescoes, vaulted ceilings and fireplaces are located in common areas and guest rooms alike, exuding the charm and history of the noble estate it was. The 50 rooms and suites are unique and painstakingly restored, furbished with elegance and completed with state of the art technology. The hotel main restaurant La Torre (1 Michelin Star) offers a unique gourmet experience where guests are pampered by attentive and discreet service while savouring the signature dishes of our Executive Chef Giovanni Luca Di Pirro. At La Taverna restaurant guests can enjoy typical Tuscan flavours and during summer lunches by the Pool. The Bar located inside the castle is a cosy venue where guests may sip on one of our many reserve cognacs, grappa and whiskies. The unique wine cellar is housed in the castle's oldest part and it is the perfect location for wine tastings. The SPA branded ESPA is over 1000 square metres and offers personalised treatments, heat experience, vitality pool, relaxation area and the Fitness Suite with the most modern and sophisticated equipment. The outdoor heated Swimming pool boasts a magnificent view of the valley and lakes below. Two Tennis courts, illuminated for night play, are available. Complimentary shuttle bus service to and from the centre of Florence or Siena at scheduled times are available all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel And Spa
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa
Castello Del Nero Hotel & Spa Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing