We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay at Castello Del Nero ( 27/07/12 to 10/08/2012 )”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family stay at Castello Del Nero ( 27/07/12 to 10/08/2012 )”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

An absolutely splendid hotel in an equally splendid environment .
The service was outstanding in all respects & the hotel infrastructure superb.. We warmly recommend this hotel , should you wish to "chill out " and enjoy the scenery.
Two suggestions to further enhance the overall customer service level : change the background music at breakfast ( the voice of the same jazz singer on a repetitive basis every day, can be very depressing in the morning !!.. ) , and , more importantly, ensure that senior managers , like me, do have access to their professional mails through VPN ( Virtual Personal Network ) when they connect to the hotel WiFi.

Room Tip: We had a gorgeous & sunny corner suite. What more can you ask ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank didierharel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuscanGlobeTrotter, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Good day from Castello del Nero,
thank you very much for your kind review of your stay at our property.
We have already made plans for a new Internet and Wifi connection that will be available for all our Guests for the beginnign of the new season at latest.
We will bring the 12th C. Castello del Nero in a new high-tech era.
We look forward to welcoming you and you beautiful family again and in the meantime we send our best regards
Fabio Datteroni & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    72
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
120
368
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

From the moment we checked into this reteat, we were made to feel very special. These are smart, energetic, people running this establishment. They know how to deliver excellence. They rearranged the logistics of our transportation to make this a seamless holiday. Accountable and responsible. I want these people working for me. After returning home, I discovered a error in my car rental bill. The manager quickly researched the problem and communicated the solution. The food was excellent. Breakfasts and dinners were excellent and served with real class. If you are looking for a memorable get away, this is the ticket. Treat yourself to some of the best...

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor with vaulted ceilings and a great view. The bathroom was on a separate le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuscanGlobeTrotter, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Here is the bottom line - it was a very nice property - but it costs way too much. It's very cool to stay out in the country, literally in the middle of Chianti. The property is wonderful, but the amount they charged for the room did not equal the value you recieved. Other reviewers are totally correct - The front desk staff, including Emma, Sara and Guilia were great and made a lot of nice suggestions and helped a lot. But I will say this about the service and the vibe of the place - it is very serious and professional. The staff doesn't smile a lot and look like they are all a bit unhappy. From my perspective, I just prefer everything to be a bit more relaxed. All in all a B+ stay. Nothing to hang your head about, but nothing to shout about either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Procurare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuscanGlobeTrotter, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Good day from the Chianti Wine Region,
we would like to thank you for taking the time in reviewing our property, we all need our Guest's feed back in order to elevate the quality of the service we all aim to deliver in our daily job. As you pointed out our Staff is the most important part of our road to Excellence and as all the reviews can prove they are all motivated to create the right ambiance and make all our Guests feeling so well welcomed. We really try to make Hospitality in the real meaning = hosting and welcoming Guests to become Castello del Nero friends and really try hard to make them all happy. We really hope we will have another opportunity to show you our genuine smiling attitude during a next soon to be stay.
Warmest regards
Fabio Datteroni & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel was our “splurge” on our anniversary trip you Italy. It was definitely worth it. When we checked in Emma at the front desk gave us a wonderful tour of the grounds while sharing ideas on activities to enjoy during our stay. The service was phenomenal and our room was fantastic (well decorated, comfortable bed, plenty of space and a large separate bathroom). We loved the house wine, however, we never ate dinner at the hotel so I can’t comment on the food. My advice is to visit some of the local towns for lunch and dinner. We had no trouble finding many fantastic restaurants close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latraveller2009
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

The staff at this hotel is amazing. They were always so helpful. Sara and Guiliana at the front desk provided phenomenal service. The cooking class was a great experience - and you get to eat the food for dinner.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank latraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Check-in: prompt and courteous; very organized;

Room: Spacious, clean and luxurious. My first real king size bed (normally they put 2 twin beds together to form 1 king). Etro bath products with a heated towel warmer.

Food: Fantastic and great service; Very passionate about food and wine. I took the pasta making course and it was good experience! A must do, take cooking lessons in Toscana!!

Location: In Chianti region.

One regret was I did not make it to the spa, though I heard it was fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinTwinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Exeriences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent our honeymoon weekend at Castello del Nero. Amazing view of the Tuscan landscape, enjoyed wine tasting and lunch at nearby top of the line vineyard. Laid back, quite, serene and romantic. Small enough hotel that you feel service is personalized. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmv61262016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
13.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
668 reviews
16.6 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
5.5 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
620 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
336 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa

Property: Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Address: Strada Spicciano 7, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASTELLO DEL NERO HOTEL & SPA - Tuscany, Chianti Castello del Nero a XII century castle, now a 5 star luxury hotel member of the Leading Hotels of the World, is located in the heart of Tuscany. 20 minutes from Florence, Siena and San Gimignano, the hotel is in the perfect spot to start exploring the Chianti Wine Region. Original frescoes, vaulted ceilings and fireplaces are located in common areas and guest rooms alike, exuding the charm and history of the noble estate it was. The 50 rooms and suites are unique and painstakingly restored, furbished with elegance and completed with state of the art technology. The hotel main restaurant La Torre (1 Michelin Star) offers a unique gourmet experience where guests are pampered by attentive and discreet service while savouring the signature dishes of our Executive Chef Giovanni Luca Di Pirro. At La Taverna restaurant guests can enjoy typical Tuscan flavours and during summer lunches by the Pool. The Bar located inside the castle is a cosy venue where guests may sip on one of our many reserve cognacs, grappa and whiskies. The unique wine cellar is housed in the castle's oldest part and it is the perfect location for wine tastings. The SPA branded ESPA is over 1000 square metres and offers personalised treatments, heat experience, vitality pool, relaxation area and the Fitness Suite with the most modern and sophisticated equipment. The outdoor heated Swimming pool boasts a magnificent view of the valley and lakes below. Two Tennis courts, illuminated for night play, are available. Complimentary shuttle bus service to and from the centre of Florence or Siena at scheduled times are available all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel And Spa
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa
Castello Del Nero Hotel & Spa Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing