We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The highlight of our Italian honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The highlight of our Italian honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this amazing hotel! My wife and I stayed there for a few days during our honeymoon in Italy, and it was definitely the highlight of the entire trip. Perfectly nestled in the Tuscan hills, the location is gorgeous and secluded. The restaurant is delicious, and the free wine/olive oil tasting offered is great as well. What really sets this hotel apart, however, is the staff. Every single employee we encountered was simply wonderful and went above and beyond in every way to ensure that our stay was memorable. They were definitely the nicest, most accomodating staff I have ever encountered at a hotel, and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    147
    20
    12
    2
See reviews for
111
258
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel is very nice, very nice location, nice rooms, nice pool, nice view.
There is only one drawback: the food. We had lunch, and was not good, very basic; breakfast is also basic, service is poor. Restaurant needs to be drastically improved, sorry to say.
Apart from this, a very nice hotel, that I would go back to willingly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank italiantraveller1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very nice location with easy access to Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Monteriggioni, etc. The restaurant there was fantastic! Food and service were wonderful and the staff was very knowledgeable about local wines. We ended up canceling another nearby reservation to get in a second wonderful dinner there. Also, great breakfast buffet w/ multiple cappuccinos included with hotel stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had an amazing time at this hotel in the Chianti wine region in Tuscany. The hotel is about 30 minutes out of Florence by car (you definitely need a car to get to know the region!). From the hotel you have a beautiful view of the wine region, especially the sunset seen from the pool is stunning! The room was nice and clean with everything you need, make sure you get a room on the back of the hotel since they are nice and quiet and have a better view. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They helped us to book horse riding, a private wine tour in Greve in Chianti which was amazing and recommended us a restaurant (La Castellana) where we had the best meal of our entire stay. The restaurant of the hotel is also very good, although the price is a bit high for the ambiance of the restaurant (= breakfast room). The only real downside of this hotel was the breakfast. It was ok, but nothing spectacular at all, but at least the coffee was good. Thank you for an amazing time in beautiful Tuscany! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I had an amazing stay at Borgo during our recent honeymoon to Tuscany. The hotel is close to nearby villages in wine country and rooms are spacious with an amazing pool. The restaurant is really what made the experience. Max and his team went out of their way to make the two dinners we ate at the restaurant very special, with fabulous service, attention to detail, letting us sample various Italian delicacies, and even by removing the label from the bottle of wine we had that even and affixing it to a personalized note to commemorate the occasion. Not only was our experience fabulous, but hotel and restaurant are both reasonably priced and tremendous value in terms of bang for your buck.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAbes1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

It was absolutely fantastic. An amazing view on the Chianti region. Very clean, stuff extremely friendly and delicious breakfast. Also the restaurant insiede was amazing. You must go there guys. Tip: You need to have a car.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Manuele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgodiCortefreda, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Grazie Manuele!

We are happy you find the place and people nice!
We hope to see you again soon...in summer the Borgo's garden is wonderful!

A big hug from Chianti!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Very pretty hotel in a wonderful central location, convenient to get to most towns! Beautiful views from the rooms, great friendly staff very willing to help! Definitely recommend it and will come back again!! Loved our week there!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellochka66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
0.7 mi away
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel...
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
14.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
6.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
7.2 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais

Property: Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Address: Via Roma 191, Loc Spoiano, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 units (double rooms/Junior suites) with bath, telephone, TV satellite, safe, frigo-bar, conditioned air, Internet, american bar, restaurant, hall for conferences from 10 to 100 persons fitness and sauna, parking, swimming pool, idromassaggio Jacuzzi type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais Hotel
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing