We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready to book for next year”
Review of Torre Antica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Torre Antica
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We, a family of 4, visited Torre Antica late April, early May. What a great vacation we had.The appartment was spacious and clean. The owners were very friendly. They had a lot of good suggestions for day trips and restaurants (do try the restaurant suggestion for Sienna, we liked it so much that we went twice). The kids loved the swimming pool, although it was rather cold this time of year. The location between Sienna and Florence is great. A perfect base for a host of daytrips. We are ready to book for next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0chem74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 33 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

I recently got back from Torre Antica where me and my family (10 adults + 8 children) spent an absolutely fabulous week. We rented the whole house and Signora Maria Antonietta cooked for us almost every evening. Do try that, what a treat!
Torre Antica has it all, beautiful apartments, gourgeus countryside landscape and the most kind and helpfull hosts you could ever imagine, Sergio and Maria Antonietta. And within easy reach loads of cultural treasures, such as Sienna, Florence, Lucca, Perugia etc.....
I strongly recommend!

All the best, Kina & family
Stockholm, Sweden

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Where to I begin! First, the villa complex is incredible. As previous reviews have mentioned, the villa only has 5 apartments, and so, it is not crowded with tourists. It is a true sanctuary where you can go and let all of your worries go away!

The view from the pool is amazing; stunning view of San Gimignano. The rest of the garden is beautiful and very well kept, Sergio (owner) is out every morning careful and meticulously taking care of the many flowers.

We stayed in a larger apartment with a great view of the surrounding valley. The furnishing were typical Tuscan and it was nice not to have a TV; who goes to Italy to watch TV?!?!

The location could not be better: 45 minutes from Florence and Siena; 30 minutes from San Gimignano; 45 minutes from Volterra; 1 hour from Pienza; 25 minutes from Castellina in Chianti...I could go on and on.

Lastly, and most importantly, Sergio and Antoinetta made the experience unforgettable. Sergio is a well of information on Tuscany and makes the experience feel truly Tuscan. What makes this place so different than anywhere else is the feeling you get in your soul; you feel as if you now Italian living the Tuscan way of life.

Antoinetta is the BEST cook. Period. She made the most amazing lunch, and it was the best meal I have ever had. Every meal after the lunch simply did not compare.

In all, I would highly recommend Torre Antica to ANYONE looking for an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrpepperdine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Torre Antica was all we expected - and more. We were in the smallest of the five apartments - 'Loggia', which is studio-style, in a building dating from the 15th century. While our studio was small and simple, it had the best access to the garden and swimming pool. The only downsides - a rather firm bed, we could have used more storage space (we were staying for two weeks), and one of us would have appreciated a dressing table. But the upsides more than compensated. Meals in the garden outside Loggia were idyllic - plenty of trees, so you can choose sun or shade. And from in the pool, you can see the towers of San Gimignano across the valley!

We did not see the other apartments - they are all bigger, and probably smarter. For much of our time there we were the only guests.

Tavarnelle itself, just a 10-minute walk away, is not Historic, but we found it pleasant and attractive. It has at least five restaurants - we went to three, of which two were first class and the other quite good too. The great thing is that there are not too many tourists around - you get a genuine Italian experience, and the restos have to be good to attract and keep local custom. Also, it is well placed on the road network to get around the surrounding area.

Saving the best to last - the owners, Sergio and Maria Antoinetta, live on site and take great pride in keeping their guest satisfied. Sergio is a fund of information on restaurants, places to visit, and the Tuscan way of life. We learned a lot, particularly about olives, vines, and food.

Definitely on our list for a second visit!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BampaOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We have stayed at Torre Antica on three separate occasions. On one occasion, we stayed at the villa for over two weeks.

First, the location. It is situated a short distance south of Florence and north of Siena so it is ideally located for visiting all of the fabulous destinations in this area, including being comfortably close to many of the Tuscany hilltop towns. From Torre Antica, you can walk to the main part of the little town of Tavernelle Val de Pesa. The village has a wonderful owner-run restaurant with authentic Italian dishes and homemade wine. The village also has on of the better tasitng pizzerias in all of Italy.

Second, the lodging. Torre Antica has several rooms as part of the main building which is well over 300 years old. It sits on a hilltop overlooking olive groves and grape vineyards. The rooms are clean, attractively rustic, comfortable and spacious, charming and relaxing. They include a small kitchen area so you can make coffee and enjoy dining in your rooms after a busy day of sight-seeing. There is also a pool.

Third, Torre Antica's owners, Segio and Antionetta, are the most caring and wonderful people whom we have considered friends for over ten years. There is nothing they will not do for their guests. They are very Italian (read gracious and accommodating), they know everything about the area and Italian food and wine, and they are fun and lovely to be with.

Can not say enough about Torre Antica, its owners, and Tavernelle Val de Pesa. We can not wait to return to our favorite Italy destination again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2011travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Torre Antica is nicely placed for sightseeing - especially, Florence, Siena and San Gimignano - and although the local town of Tavernelle was not as picturesque as we'd hoped for, the fact that we had a village and shops within walking distance was a bit of a bonus anyway.
The property itself is just outside the village and is very lucky to take all its views from the surrounding countryside.
The accommodation is simple, clean and comfortable and the owners are welcoming and friendly - you get the feeling that nothing is too much trouble.
Cooking utensils and cutlery could have been better quality but were perfectly adequate and probably about what we now expect to find in the majority of self catering apartments in general.
The garden is lovely and it was a pleasure just to sit out and soak up the views with the wonderful scents from some of the flowers and shrubs filling the air.
The 'infinity' pool is adequate for the number of apartments as although the accommodations were full, everyone seemed to being doing their own thing at different times during the days so it never got crowded. It also has the best position at the edge of the garden to take maximum advantage of the views while your swimming.
In all a decent property in a quiet but central location with nice owners and a lovely garden. Just what we were looking for!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AViiolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Torre Antica is in Tavernelle, a small community about half way between Florence and Sienna. The complex was initially built about 1000 years ago as a "halfway" post for horse traffic between the 2 main cities. It is built on the crest of the valley, so all views from the apartments are down the valley and directly towards San Gimignano (you can see this village from the terrace and while relaxing in the pool).

There are only 4 apartments in the complex so it's never going to be crowded. Sergio, your host, is very helpful with any info you need and speaks excellent english. Sergio and his wife host a great dinner for all guests one night of the week with some great local tucsan food and his own very good wine (made in the true Chianti Classico style) for a very reasonable 25 euro. It's a good opportunity to sit around a communal dinner table with the other guests and get as much info as you want about the history of the buildings and all the surrounding area.

While Torre Antica sits atop of the valley, it is on the outskirts of the township of Tavernelle which sits behind and out of view. Tavernelle is not a pretty village necessarily like many of the others, but there is a supermarket, the village square, restaurants and cafes all in easy walking distance. So, you have the rolling hills of Tuscany for an approx 270 degree view, with the convenience of shops and some restaurants an easy 5-10 minute walk behind you (try the Calzone Magnifico at La Fornace).

The apartments all have terraces, great views, kitchen facilities and modern bathrooms. A great place to unpack and settle into for a week. Easy drive (about 30 mins) to San Gimignano and all the other villages along the Chianti Road (Castellina and Radda in Chianti 2 particular ones worthy of a lazy visit).

I'd easily stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TeebooTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
634 reviews
3.0 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
497 reviews
1.4 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Borgo Sicelle
Borgo Sicelle
#9 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
146 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chianti Village Morrocco
Chianti Village Morrocco
#2 of 15 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
256 reviews
4.0 mi away
Palazzo Malaspina
Palazzo Malaspina
#1 of 5 in San Donato in Poggio
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Antica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Antica

Address: Via di Magliano 7, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range: $104 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Antica 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torre Antica holiday homes for rent in medieval tower in Tuscany. Swimming pool with panoramic view of Sangimignano and Chianti. All pets allowed. Cooking classes with home owners to learn traditional italian recipes. Chianti wine and olive oil tasting with home owners. Romantic environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Torre Antica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Antica Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing