We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria di Passignano

Osteria di Passignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $91 - $156
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stopped for lunch on a whim on our travels around Chianti and what luck; wonderful setting in an ancient building; impeccable service, fabulous food and a nice local Chianti. The chef offered complimentary small seafood starters on a pea puree (hubby had mine as I don't eat fish--said it was delish); I had herbs risotto for my main and hubs had the monkfish; again beautifully prepared and delicious. Homebaked breads and rolls; lovely. Again the chef offered a complimentary set of small delights -- sweets of chocolates, raspberry puree with whipped cream garnish and tiny cookies. Cafe to wind up. You pay an appropriate amount for the meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    96
    41
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Superior Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was our best meal in Italy. Extensive wine list (strongly recommend the '07 Brunello Reserve). The venison entree with wild berry reduction was maybe the best dish I've eaten. Excellent service and ambiance.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mkg623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
272 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A second time around...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I recognized hosts and waitstaff. This is a welcoming staff, a gorgeous location, they pride in efficient service. Antinori considers this one of their jewels. The wine selection is extensive - a book - and the dedicated wine staff provide suggestions and expert pairing assistance. This establishment has definitely arrived ON the beaten path. On our last visit, on a beautiful afternoon, we were alone in the dining room. Not this time and we are happy to have made a reservation. In addition to the large dining room being occupied with a full tour (who knows where they stashed the bus!) the front room was also very busy.

The meal begins with a gift from the chef, a study of tomato: Tomato mouse, tomato burrata, Bavarian granita, tomato soup. Each unique, well balanced, perfectly prepared, beautifully served - a gift for the senses. We were anticipating the entire meal to be Michelin star perfection.
We passed our option for anything pumpkin! Seems to be pumpkin (as well as things turkey) arrived in Italy!
For starters, polenta cubes (described very differently on the menu) topped by poached quail eggs, in a pool of light, delicate sauce with shaved white truffle - amazingly fragrent, 2 of 3 quail eggs were overdone (not a bit of run in the yolk, very disappointing for this caliber of chef and staff), but very delicious. Pasta rabbit ravioli, in a creamed chestnut sauce, accented with sweet, rich balsamic and decorated with a flurry of infant sprouts. My husband started with a crispelle rolled with meat (forgive, it was rabbit or pigeon!) served with arugula, decorated with a roughly minced apple 'sauce', balsamic and baby arugala. His squid risotto was a beautiful presentation bowl. The 3" rimmed bowl made a swimming pool for the serving which was heavily incorporated with chunks of squid and it was surrounded by a wide band of black squid ink, and a perfect round transluscent veil of squid covering just the rice, topped by some cruchy bits for texture and visual. The risotto was just ok. Not what we expect at this level. But, I wish I could attach the picture (Mac technology not cooperating). The venison filet was mouthwatering tender and prepared rare to perfection, served with shaved potato and a very light au jus, just enough. We passed on dessert, but took coffee and with that the small tray of bites - a perfect shiny chocolate candy, a whipped cream shot with strawberry, a parcel of chocolate dipped cumquat, and a dried fruit reduction atop a shortbread base.

It was little things about the meal that made it 'off'. The overdone quail eggs, some sauce too prominent, and the size of portions have become what I refer to as 'silly small' for the pricing (although the venison plate was actually a perfect portion of 3 medalions). We are not looking for giant or disproportionately plated meals. And, the bottle pricing has gone through a huge increase - my extensive knowledge of pricing asks 'why?' Particularly on there own vinyard labels.

I can still vividly recall the first meals we ate here, a tasting menu with wine pairings. This recent experience sits decidedly behind, but still very, very good. Don't miss sitting out for the view, and a stroll.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babbettandcaptbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good tuscan restaurant but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Food was ok but as the restaurant is mainly targeted at overseas tourists the prices are adjusted accordingly. Service was attentive and we had a nice evening but would not visit again for the above reason and as the restaurant lacks a bit the typical tuscan charm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TobiasWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal, Tour, and Wine Tasting Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a spectacular lunch with wine/olive oil tasting after an excellent tour of this old and venerable winery. Our tour guide was excellent and very knowledgeable about Tuscan wine in general, its cultivation and production, and its merits vis-a-vis wine produced in France, the US, and elsewhere. The restaurant staff was super and very attentive. Make sure you sign up for the tour of the winery, which includes entry to the old monastery cellars. Gallileo is said to have taught mathematics here while being sheltered by the monks after his indictment by the Catholic Church. The wines are excellent, as is the olive oil, and you'll be sure to come away with a few bottles of each after this wonderful experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mobysfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria di Passignano also viewed

Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria di Passignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing