We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best winery tour I have ever had”

Osteria di Passignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $91 - $156
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best winery tour I have ever had”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I have visited several wine regions around the world (Italy, France, California, Niagara etc.), but this was the best wine tour we have ever been on. This may have been influenced by the fact that the regular tour guide was on vacation, and we received our tour from the winemaker himself. We were taken into the vineyards and shown where Tignanello, Solaia, Badia di Passignano chianti grapes are grown. We tasted grapes right off the vine in various stages of development, and then we went into the Monastery where the barrels are kept. Obviously, he was extremely knowledgeable and surprisingly honest about the wines.

The tour was followed by a delightful 3 course lunch at the Osteria (including olive oil tasting, breads etc.) and a tasting of several Antinori wines (Chianti, Chardonnay, Tignanello, Solaia, Brunello). The service was a bit detached, but this is typical for high end restaurants. The food did not blow my mind, but it was very good.
I have noticed that many people have had issues with the expense. The experience was $150 per person, but this is a Michelin starred restaurant, and Solaia alone is >$250/bottle retail at home. Though it certainly isn't inexpensive, I think that it is in line with other restaurants of its calibre.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atrmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    101
    41
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing dinner!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

the environment fabulous,food wonderful,wine divine! now i know where to go to have fun in Tuscany!!!!!!!!!!!Next time we will choose from the a la cart menu!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mairaGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
173 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“one of the best”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

on our 3rd tour to Italy we've decided to make a gastro marathon.it includes winery,olive oil,zafferanno,aceto balsamico(tradizionali di Modena,as Davide from acetaia villa san donnino says),parmigiano reggiano &prosciutto(di Parma).
among the restaurants this one was one of the best.
kitchen,salon,service...reading some reviews I wonder if they've been at the same place.
I agree it is expensive but one must know where is going before entering the game.

Helpful?
Thank acarajapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour and Lunch”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We did the tour with lunch, which was $150pp. After we finally got there through the muddy roads and off roading in our little fiesta we were met at the top of the hill by an amazing church. The road, which you are told to go up in the directions and following the street signs takes you to a closed road. If you go there in the next couple months, make sure to call ahead.

The tour is really cool and there is some really neat history of the church, which monks still live in. After the tour, which lasted about an hour, we went in for lunch. There were 7 of us on the tour, but they split our parties up for lunch which was nice. The servers were very nice and attentive to us and the lunch was nicely spread out between plates. There was plenty of wine to be poured, but we drove two hours to get there from Umbria, so we didnt drink much. I'm not going to go into detail about what we had for lunch, as it was pre-fix and it changes. But don't count your pennies here.. Just do it!! It was well worth the money. We even took some wine with us from the store in front.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmcki60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Missing good service”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We expect an excellent dinner, unfortunatelly we had only average experience for to much money.

Food creation was fantastic, except fish which was not fresh, but service has bad day.
We usually sitting with empty glasses, with no waiter to order...
First cources plates was given incorrect, so some of us must wait for new meal...
We have receive dirty knife and when we ask for clean the waiter answer that we made the knife dirty :(
We decide to take desert on other place...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CukyCuky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria di Passignano also viewed

Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Poggibonsi, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria di Passignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing