We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
169
44
6
0
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
169
44
6
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts kids activities jugendstil spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 224 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent a night at the Parkhotel Holzner en route from Innsbruck to Alpes di Siusi. In retrospect we would probably have been better off staying down in Bolzano given our limited time. The cable car ride to and from Bolzano only takes 12 minutes but driving the twisting roads to the hotel was exhausting and time consuming. The Holzner itself is charming and our greeting from Sebastian was very warm and welcoming. However, I think it is better suited for families planning to spend a few days or more there than for a couple's overnight stay. lt was chockablock with children and while we have nothing against kinder (we have four of our own!), the atmosphere at dinner was a bit rambunctious for our jet-lagged sensitivities. The food was generous and decent, but not extraordinary by any means.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank undertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHolzners, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Parkhotel Holzner, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Dear undertone,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at The Holzner. We are sad to hear that you couldn't enjoy your time at our historic house the way you would have deserved and we would have liked to offer you.
Maybe one day, we can welcome you again with your children for a longer stay or in the off season (when many couples and rest-seeking guests linger in our halls and the spa)?

We wish you all the best,
Your Holzner family and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017

I scored room number 1 at Parkhotel Holzner. This gem of a hotel was built in 1908 and our room had original wood furnishings, lovingly cared for since the opening in 1908. This room has a beautiful indoor and outdoor balcony overlooking the park and valley, and the cable car that goes straight to Bolzano.
So restful! The Holzner family has been at the helm since day one and their love for the hotel (and especially their guests) shines through. This is a family hotel, and the Holzners have worked a miracle. There were many families with small children and babies but other guests were not disturbed. This hotel is so family-friendly that the kids are just happy, relaxed ( and well-behaved). There is a little dining room for kids and the indoor play area is all in wood with a circus theme. Adorable! There is a full program of nature walks and activities, too, both for kids and for families. For us, two friends on a break, there was sweet relaxation, cool mountain air and excellent cuisine and wine.
Will I be back? You bet!
Thank you Holzner!

Room tip: Room 1 with best balcony, original furnishings. All original rooms are lovely. If you like modern, there are large, newer rooms too.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHolzners, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Parkhotel Holzner, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Dear brezza,

Thank you so much for this uplifting review! We highly appreciate you taking the time for sharing your experience at The Holzner with other travelers.
The fact, that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though you were traveling without children, means a lot to us: We've been striving to offer recreation and pleasure to guests of all generations since the first day.

We'd love to welcome you again soon,
Your Holzner family & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016

Parkhotel Holzner is a wonderful, almost unique hotel from a different era that is modern and up-to-date t the same time. A beautiful 1906 building, with respective rooms, great personal family-like service and a great location on a mountain above Bozen, connected by cable car. I love it, including the fact that it is VERY child friendly (although I wasn't travelling with children. Just feels right. Sebastian Peer ws a great host.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jcmfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHolzners, Public Relations Manager at Parkhotel Holzner, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

Dear jcmfive,

Thank you so much for your review! We were more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Holzner, appreciating its location, historic structures and personal service.

We hope to welcome you at The Holzner again soon!
Best wishes,
the Holzner family & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016

We have been three times in this hotel already and loved it each time. We like the authenticity of the place, the friendly people, the food. Children are very welcome. Indoor and outdoor pool are clean and the panorama is breathtaking!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHolznerfamily, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Parkhotel Holzner, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2016

Dear msw51,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Holzner here on tripadvisor! We are very pleased to read that you've enjoyed your former stays with us and hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
the Holzner family & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016

This hotel is postcard-perfect and is in a great location near the Renon cable car (which brings you up from Bolzano) and the narrow-gauge train that runs around the plateau to Klobenstein. My husband and I and our daughter stayed in a south facing Jugenstil room (brilliant view!). Everything in the room was immaculate and thoughtfully prepared. Our daughter's single bed was in a study adjoining our main bedroom, which was great for us. We had a half-board arrangement which included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was a great buffet including everything. Dinner was amazing every night! The service was faultless. The hotel caters extremely well for kids, including kids menu, playground, play room. A highlight is the gorgeous pool, with a beautiful view of the mountains. Easy to get around on public transport, either down to Bolzano, or further up the mountain for lots of great walks. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CazMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHolznerfamily, Public Relations Manager at Parkhotel Holzner, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2016

Dear CazMet,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Holzner here on tripadvisor. We highly appreciate, that you took the time for doing so.
We are very happy that you enjoyed the view and location. But we are thrilled, you liked our family-friendly concept and kid's services, our cuisine, pool and service. The entire Holzner family and team thanks you for appreciating our work.

We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Kind regards,
The Holzner family & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews