We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magic stay in a magic setting”
Review of Hotel Punta Scario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Punta Scario
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Malfa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magic stay in a magic setting”
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Punta Scario after a 6 day trip through Sicily during which we had already seen beautiful places and great hotels, but this one was definitely the best.

The hotel is perfectly located, right in Malfa, by the cliff so close to the sea that you feel like in a boat. Our balcony in our room was facing exactly the spot at that time during the year where the sun sets so having an early evening drink there was just amazing.

The room and bathroom were spotless and great nights of sleep. BF is served in the main part of the house, plenty of delicious food.

Highly recommended for a such a rate !

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlaidShorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    31
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
98
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We were so thrilled to find this hotel on Salina. Most hotels were well out of our budget. This was pushing it but we decided to treat ourselves for our last two nights and were not dissapointed. Our travel dates fell in August and so prices were peak. That said, Malfa was quiet compared to everywhere else we went in the Aeolians. The hotel is only a five minute (max) walk up into Malfa. Uphill but easy and lovely scenic stroll. It is built right on the edge of the cliff with direct access to a beach (boulders not sand but you can hire mats and umbrellas down there). The views are sensational.
We had dinner at the hotel one night which was ok, not the best meal we had but worth staying there. We sat and watched the sunset then watched the eruptions on Stromboli (in the distance but after doing the Magnatrek the night before we were thrilled).
Rooms are white and clean, perfect for the summer heat.
Staff friendly.
We caught the bus from Santa Marina Rinella and got dropped off at the top of town. We had to walk down to the hotel which would be a 10 minute walk. We had our suitcases but they were on wheels and it is downhill the whole way so no problem.
The bus back leaves from outside the front door of the hotel so no need to walk back uphill with them.
There is no pool here but you are so close to the beach that there is no need for one.
Definitely better views than the more expensive hotels that are just uphill from it.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Did not dislike anything
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank novellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Only a five minute walk from Malfa town center (or two minutes by bus), this hotel is built on a high cliff jotting out into the sea and giving you the most fantastic 360 degree views. The friendly, efficient, multi-lingual reception reveals the elegant, non-fussy style of the all-ladies staff and management. The architecture also is harmonious and clever (spectacular gently curving winding stairs are leading to the restaurant). The rooms, including bathrooms, are decorated and furnished with impeccable good taste, spotless clean and fully equipped. All rooms seem to have sea views. Our corner room had two balconies overlooking the fishing boats going in and out of the small harbor, Malfa town, the mountains of Salina, and directly from your bed you can watch (from a safe distance of 30 km) Stromboli volcano spewing fire into the sky. The breakfast on the sunny restaurant terrace is richer than European average. Typical of this hotel's particular style: when the receptionist has a quite moment, she steps outside and busies herself watering and tending the flowers.
The hotel has an official three-star rating (and pricing), but would deserve four or five stars. We travel quite a lot and know many hotels - Punta Scario is certainly one of the very best.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Hotel Punta Scario has a fanastic location on the cliffs overlooking the sea at Malfa.

Malfa is a separate town a few km away from the main harbour where you arrive, so a taxi is most definitely needed to get you there (and was 18 euros). I'd also recommend hiring a scooter to get around the island if you're there for a few days - Malfa isn't the most lively of the little towns and the best bars/reastaurants are down by the port.

The hotel is beautifully cool and clean, with a very relaxing ambience. Rooms are large and airy, all with their own balcony and most with sea views. The bathrooms were excellent.

There are gardens to relax in and a wonderful sunterrace with a perfect view of the sunset. You can walk down to the beach in 5 minutes - although it's VERY rocky so not the best for sunbathing.

Breakfast is served on a terrace overlooking the sea, and is a rather tempting selection of home baked cakes and pastries, a rather nice way to start the day.

We opted to eat dinner in the restaurant the first night (30 euros for 3 courses) and were disappointed. It was one of the most average meals of our stay in Sicily.

However this was the only down side. Apart from the food, i would recommend the hotel highly.

  • Liked — the amazing views
  • Disliked — dinner
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flame1982uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malfa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
448 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#6 of 6 in Malfa
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Principe di Salina
2.4 mi away
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
#3 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Scario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Scario

Property: Hotel Punta Scario
Address: Via Scalo 8, 98050, Malfa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Malfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Scario 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Punta Scario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Punta Scario Isola Di Salina, Italy - Malfa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing