We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We could have stayed for ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Punta Scario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Punta Scario
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Malfa
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We could have stayed for ever.”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This hotel in Malfa on the Island of Salina is in a lovely location. The staff are helpful and welcoming, the rooms are clean and spacious and the breakfasts were just right. We had a car and took the car ferry but really we could have done it with the hydrofoil and then taken one of the little blue buses which stopsright outside the hotel. This is a restful place with lovely views. We awoke to the sunrise and in the evening we watched the sun set. Both were spectacular

Room Tip: Book room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flooze36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    29
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We went with our daugther, almost age of 2 years - I did miss a kithen, or a better possibility to make her something to eat. Everything else was just perfect. And the owner was the nicest person, makes you feel like home :) Fantastisc view - even when the rain kept pouring down :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solskinssky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Hotel Punta Scario in the town of Malfa on Salina is a lovely base to have for a holiday spent mostly on that island. We booked a premium room so had lots of room for our week long stay (20% discount for 7 day stay as well). Good sized room and balcony overlooking the sea with large bathroom so it was ideal for a week stay.  Breakfasts were good and the staff leave you to your own devices.  Well worth the money. A hotel up the road had a pool but we made di with the rock beachside and considered the climb up and down the cliffs the justification for a big meal at the end of the day.
Island hopping is mostly out of Lipari and we tried to get on the local excursion boats but they were not going on the days we wanted.  We did take a aliscafi to Alicudi but that is another story in itself. 

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueO_RonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Stay here! Period! Get a superior room. It's a bit extra but so worth it. I go to bed at night in New York dreaming about this place. It's breathtaking and you'll not want to leave. It's truly a magical place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atreegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Punta Scario after a 6 day trip through Sicily during which we had already seen beautiful places and great hotels, but this one was definitely the best.

The hotel is perfectly located, right in Malfa, by the cliff so close to the sea that you feel like in a boat. Our balcony in our room was facing exactly the spot at that time during the year where the sun sets so having an early evening drink there was just amazing.

The room and bathroom were spotless and great nights of sleep. BF is served in the main part of the house, plenty of delicious food.

Highly recommended for a such a rate !

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlaidShorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We were so thrilled to find this hotel on Salina. Most hotels were well out of our budget. This was pushing it but we decided to treat ourselves for our last two nights and were not dissapointed. Our travel dates fell in August and so prices were peak. That said, Malfa was quiet compared to everywhere else we went in the Aeolians. The hotel is only a five minute (max) walk up into Malfa. Uphill but easy and lovely scenic stroll. It is built right on the edge of the cliff with direct access to a beach (boulders not sand but you can hire mats and umbrellas down there). The views are sensational.
We had dinner at the hotel one night which was ok, not the best meal we had but worth staying there. We sat and watched the sunset then watched the eruptions on Stromboli (in the distance but after doing the Magnatrek the night before we were thrilled).
Rooms are white and clean, perfect for the summer heat.
Staff friendly.
We caught the bus from Santa Marina Rinella and got dropped off at the top of town. We had to walk down to the hotel which would be a 10 minute walk. We had our suitcases but they were on wheels and it is downhill the whole way so no problem.
The bus back leaves from outside the front door of the hotel so no need to walk back uphill with them.
There is no pool here but you are so close to the beach that there is no need for one.
Definitely better views than the more expensive hotels that are just uphill from it.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Did not dislike anything
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank novellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Only a five minute walk from Malfa town center (or two minutes by bus), this hotel is built on a high cliff jotting out into the sea and giving you the most fantastic 360 degree views. The friendly, efficient, multi-lingual reception reveals the elegant, non-fussy style of the all-ladies staff and management. The architecture also is harmonious and clever (spectacular gently curving winding stairs are leading to the restaurant). The rooms, including bathrooms, are decorated and furnished with impeccable good taste, spotless clean and fully equipped. All rooms seem to have sea views. Our corner room had two balconies overlooking the fishing boats going in and out of the small harbor, Malfa town, the mountains of Salina, and directly from your bed you can watch (from a safe distance of 30 km) Stromboli volcano spewing fire into the sky. The breakfast on the sunny restaurant terrace is richer than European average. Typical of this hotel's particular style: when the receptionist has a quite moment, she steps outside and busies herself watering and tending the flowers.
The hotel has an official three-star rating (and pricing), but would deserve four or five stars. We travel quite a lot and know many hotels - Punta Scario is certainly one of the very best.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malfa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Principe di Salina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
2.4 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#1 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#6 of 6 in Malfa
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Scario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Scario

Property: Hotel Punta Scario
Address: Via Scalo 8, 98050, Malfa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Malfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Scario 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Punta Scario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Punta Scario Isola Di Salina, Italy - Malfa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing