We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Salina”
Review of Hotel Signum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Signum
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Malfa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The only place to stay in Salina”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fantastic decor, great pool (not huge but not overcrowded), great restaurant and fantastic food, incredible view for cocktails and did I mention what has to be an award winning spa?
The rooms are very comfortable and yet very simple and natural. The staff is accommodating and professional.
We loved it and will definitely aim to go back.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room by the pool or overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rimmersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    62
    25
    13
    5
See reviews for
45
259
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The moment we arrived on Salina, we basically feel in love with this island. We hesitated a long time between Hotel Signum and Capofaro resort. Having been to Capofaro resort for dinner (see review) we definitely made the right choice!

Hotel Signum is not in the main town but in a pretty part of the island in Malfa. Taxi ride from the ferry to the hotel cost 20 euro.
The Hotel is hidden away after a lovely path. Very pretty communal part, very boutiquy. Does not feel corporate in any way shape or form. I’d like to stray straight away that the staff was absolutely adorable, very helpful, especially Marina.

We booked a luxury room/Deluixe, with balcony and sea view. Our first room was a small room overlooking the swimming pool and facing a wall with no balcony (my definition of balcony is somewhere you can actually get onto if not, its French doors!) Quite rightly people were having fun in the pool hence it was very noisy. When we complained, we were told we could only be moved the next day. We were woken up at 7 am by kids palying in the pool. New room, much, much nicer and much, much bigger, still overlooking the pool but from higher and direct view of the sea, still French door. But this room was modern, crisp, great bathroom. To this day I don’t believe that the two rooms were in the same category…. We asked and they said yes…
We ate there 3 night, food is very nice indeed but the menu does not change much. For some unknown reason the maître D’ is very concerned about sitting plan. Instead of just giving tables on a first come first served basic as some of the table are directly onto the balcony, he gest very directive about sitting you where he wants. We did not agree and changed table ;-)
We went to the spa one day. Because we booked via Mr and Mrs Smith we had a voucher to use the sap. The Spa is fabulous, old spa, very well kept with lots of different outdoor baths. It normally cost 25 euro to use it (which is expensive!). We booked to have two massages but were told that we still needed to pay 25e to use the spa. Management really need to change that rule. In all the spas I’ve been to, the fact that you book a massage or any other therapy gives you the right to use the sap itself, the pool, hamman, etc. It really feels wrong top pay 110 euro for massage and have to pay on top of that. When we complained, they graciously agreed and allowed us to use it without paying.
I would still recommend the Hotel Signum as it has a great location and a very nice feel, just need to be very careful about the room you will get. A lot of the rooms have no view at all as they are below in the garden (I guess these are the classic ones) . The best ones I believes are overlooking the main terrace where cocktails are served before dinner. Getting the right room here will make all the difference as there are huge differences between them within the same category..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margauxhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

For 300 euros we received a room in an unlit basement with a handicap bathroom with a seat that was too high for a five foot four persons feet to touch the ground. After making two requests to switch rooms, we were moved to a room with a normal toilet. This was a huge undertaking for the staff, and in response, when we asked for a recommendation for a nice restaurant, they sent us to a daycare center / pizzaria on the farside of the island. To compound upon this, the hotel site is overrun with mosquitos from its gardens, this renders the terraces unusable without a boatload of deet so bring your mosquito repellant, or better yet, find a place where service and quality is more commensurate with the price charged.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msivilotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Probably the best place to stay on Salina. Delightful hotel, made from houses and decorated in pure white with antiques all round. Absolutely loved this hotel, finding myself immediately relaxed once we arrived. We had a classic room and then were upgraded to a superior, but they were just as nice as one another, so no need to splash out. Delightful views from both. The restaurant is very good with an extensive wine menu and sommelier. Views of Stromboli, although in the distance, do show the lava glow every 15 mins or so at night. Couldn't really see that during the day. The spa is too expensive but using the pools with the products is fabulous. Very nice indeed. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but classics are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
193 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were there in April so it was still very quiet. Only a few other guests. Everything was simple and wonderful. The breakfast terrace, the hotel restaurant, the room. Each was done with a casual, unpretentious style that delighted. The staff was warm and helpful. The website pictures don't convey the sense of relaxed hospitality you will find.

My wife indulged in the spa which is fed with hot springs and declared herself cured of all ailments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

After a three and a half hour ferry journey we drove through the winding roads of Salina trying to find Hotel Signum. This wasn’t that easy, we arrived in the little village of Malfa wondering where a hotel could be hidden... after enquiries, we finally found the small sign pointing down a small alleyway, dumped our car and went exploring. A left and a right turn later we eventually entered a small reception with glass doors onto a stupendous terrace full of tables laid up for lunch and surrounded by plants and flowers. We were obviously quite high up as the sea stretched out below us and as we gathered our breath back and wondered how on earth we were going to get our bags of luggage here someone appeared, gestured for us to sit down to lunch and said they would fetch someone to go and retrieve our bags. Within 5 minutes all was calm again, we had a bottle of cold water, a bottle of wine, a menu and were pointing the direction of the car to someone advising them to take a trolley...

Leisurely lunch done and bags in sight, Isabelle came over to welcome us, tell us about dinner and offer her services for anything we may want while we were there. An upgrade to a new suite went down as well as the bottle of Aeolian wine we had just quaffed and we were soon ensconced in our suite and heading back through the terrace to discover the infinity pool. The pool was probably the thing we liked the least, don’t get me wrong it is a lovely pool but there isn’t a huge amount of room around it and therefore not enough sunbeds for people. Most of the beds are in full sunshine and with no umbrellas this can be taxing (oh the hard work we must endure sitting in the sun..). The next day we went down to the small garden area near the pool where there is shade and this solved this problem of incessant sun whilst still being close enough to the water to cool off. These are however small issues in the grand scheme of things but with the sea being a way down and there not really being any beach to speak of, are things to consider.

A good way to deal with this is to hire a boat and get away from everyone else whilst looking around these gorgeous islands and stopping wherever you feel like it to jump into the crystal clear sea and hang out with the fish. Isabelle recommended a fantastic boat www.barcajost.it The captain is an affable fellow called Pierre and he has a beautiful boat with a great sun deck, all the snorkelling equipment you may need and he is also a fantastic cook and will cook up lunch whilst regaling you with stories of his life before he took to the open seas.

The food at Signum is fabulous, wine list extensive and reasonable and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. We can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidayhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Words cannot describe this spectacular hotel in Salina. It's a travel experience never to be forgotten. From the fabulous rooms, spacious with modern amenities but oozing original charm , we could see across the ocean to Stromboli and Panarea. Sunrise sent a golden glow through our shutters bathing the whitewashed room in glorious soft light. What a way to wake up. The staff were exceptional.....first name basis , nothing too much trouble. The terrace and outdoor dining area are sublime, the food amazing , and to top it off a pool and day spa. We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WKoopmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malfa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
433 reviews
12.3 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe di Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
2.4 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#1 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mamma Santina
Hotel Mamma Santina
#2 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Signum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Signum

Property: Hotel Signum
Address: Via Scalo 15, 98050, Malfa, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Malfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malfa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Signum 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Signum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signum Hotel Malfa
Hotel Signum Isola Di Salina, Italy - Malfa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing