We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing romantic friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Signum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Signum
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Malfa
Certificate of Excellence
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
590 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“amazing romantic friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I loved this place as soon as is step foot in it, and it was late at night. Beautiful rooms, all different from another, we were supposed to stay one night we stayed 3 nights. Lovely staff, great breakfast . I will definitely return again and will stay much longer. So peaceful and comfortable. Loved It .

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing with lots of character,with a small terass or balcony no matter if it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    62
    24
    12
    5
See reviews for
42
253
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Signum in May 2012 and we had one of the best staying ever.

Position: the hotel has an excellent position on the top of Salina and you can enjoy a spectacular view on the gulf. The hotel is surrounded by wild nature and it features a real 360 Aeloian style (spa, terrasse, rooms decor).

Food: unexpectely, the food was amazing; experiential nouvelle cuisine with abundant portions

Customer service: excellent. The hotel manager Luca was very happy to satisfy every request; the sommellier Vincenzo is a true "wine intellectual", always ready to advise the best wine for each dish and the waiters Marcello and Ivano were simply great!

Terrasse: there is a stunning, big terrasse overlooking the sea, Panarea and the Stromboli. The view reaches its most spectacula colours enjoy on sunset

Rooms: we had a standard room; very sober, quite big, appointed in a truly Aeolian style. Each room has a small terrasse; we did not have sea view but we were surrounded by coloruful lemon trees.

Spa: the Spa is open air and we did not have the time to enjoy it but it is very definitely worth a trial: again, its decor is very Aeolian and fits perfectly the natural and wild environment

We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titoi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from Patmos
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have recently spent a few days at Hotel Signum, together with a colleague in a work recess to give the finishing touches to a joint publication. It was the very end of the season so please keep in mind that because of this the conditions might have been out of the ordinary: a cool, quite pleasant climate and very few guests left in the hotel, therefore we enjoyed a wealth of service attention. Having said that, I was totally impressed and conquered by the experience. 1) Setting. Located on the steep northern slopes of the island of Salina, only a few minutes walking from the bay of Scario, with a beach made of large, round black, gray and red pebbles. The hotel compound consists of an assemblage of traditional buildings from the old village, with an ancient, charming look on the outside, but comfortably modern inside (at least, in the room I slept in); buildings are immersed in the protective shade of a quite lush Mediterranean vegetation, fragrant and diverse. 2) Food was superb in choice and quality, the dining tables under a pergola outside with a sea view and the erupting Stromboli volcano at the horizon, and the selection of wines truly impressive (by the way, Salina produces some very high quality Mediterranean wines); even breakfast appeared particularly special, with delicious citrus- and apple-based cakes, freshly made on a daily basis. 3) Service impeccable, with a strong sense that everybody in the hotel liked their job. I did not use the SPA, so I am unable to provide an assessment on this service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O_Xenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We (my husband and I) decided to have a more conventional holiday and have just returned from a week's stay at Hotel Signum on Salina (one of the Aeolian Islands) .We had always wanted to go there because we love the film Il Postino which was partly filmed there.

Hotel Signum came highly reccommended by all and it lived up to and beyond our expectations. We got a reduced room rate due to it being "off season". The hotel was quite beautiful, the views magnificent , the food and wine to die for and most important ..the staff were delightful . We were spoiled rotten.

Salina is a beautiful island with plenty to do: walking, swimming, snorkelling, the home of capers and malvasia, boat trips,some great places to eat and drink. we hired a moped. Local people were warm and welcoming,

We were sad to say goodbye and will definnitely go back!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe balcony sea view room which was charming,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmacave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel Signum was a delight. Salina is quite and this hotel with it's views out to Stromboli, alfresco restaurant providing delicious food and luxurious spa is the perfect place to recharge. Rooms are shabby chic, the staff were excellent and uber friendly. My one note of dissatisfaction was the jazz music played at dinner over the 3 nights we stayed. Not loud just not my taste in music. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Salina.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atkins888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The impression that I had when booking was that the Hotel is a little closer to the sea/beach when described as "short walk from the beach" whereas it is in fact a long walk.
The room was adequate, large enough and comfortable though the wifi was non existent and the only way to get a signal was to either stand on the balcony (too small for a table or even a chair) or work on the bathroom window sill (for my work I must have internet connection).
You do get a stocked fridge in your room, but then again they do not refill.
We did eat a couple of times at their Restaurant though it seemed the menu did not change at all in the 6 nights we stayed and thus could see it getting a bit boring, food was good though.
I had a brief encounter with the owner while I was there in as much as I was discussing the private charter of a boat to go to Stromboli with the boats captain when I was interrupted by the owner who wanted to speak to the captain about some function that was happening in 2013 !!....I waited 10 mins before I could resume my conversation with the captain.
Presumptuous is the general feeling I got while staying at Signum, yes they have a lovely place, yes the food is good, the waiters and waitresses very courteous but there is the air of being "above it all" from the owner and this seeps through to the front desk and some other staff too.
Maybe I am too harsh but was expecting more warmth from this Hotel which I did not feel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I spent six nights at the Hotel Signum on the Aeolian Island Salina in late September. This was the last stop on a circumnavigation of Sicily (see, e.g. our recent reviews of the Hotel Villa Ducale, Eremo della Giubiliana, Villa Sicilia Baglio and Hotel Villa Igiea.) Like so many reviewers before us, we were very pleased with the hotel, and indeed, while we had reserved for three nights, we extended for three more nights shortly after our arrival.

Signum is a boutique hotel located in the charming village of Malfa. It is not directly on the water, but provides stunning sea vistas, with Stromboli and Panera clearly visible from its perch a few hundred yards inland on the sloping side of the twin volcanoes that form the island. The rooms are generally small (we were fortunate to have reserved one of three larger rooms with a terrace overlooking the pool and sea), and furnished simply, but very clean and fresh and totally in keeping with the overall ambiance of Salina. The public areas, including the outdoor covered dining area, were evocative, and conducive to spending long afternoons and evenings sipping wine and gazing at the jagged coastline in the distance (see the attached photo). The staff was adequately friendly and attentive, though it did seem that some quests received more attention than others, particularly from the owner. But, overall, a romantic gem.

The website, unlike so many others, presents an accurate picture of the hotel, rooms, and the grounds. The hotel also has a spa, but we did not avail ourselves of its services. Signum is not your jet-set, disco noise thumping, yacht anchorage, Mediterranean hot spot – thankfully. Nor is Salina, the greenest of the Aeolian Islands, which produces significant volumes of capers and grapes. The small towns on the island appear to have an existence other than to service tourists. Salina, the setting for the movie “Il Postino”, is a place for long walks (or hikes to the tops of the two dormant volcanoes), lazy afternoons, and motor scooter exploring. Not an island of white sand beaches, but beautiful clear water, ideally accessed from a boat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malfa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.4 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#1 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Quartara
Hotel Quartara
#2 of 9 in Panarea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe di Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Signum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Signum

Property: Hotel Signum
Address: Via Scalo 15, 98050, Malfa, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Malfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malfa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Signum 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Signum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signum Hotel Malfa
Hotel Signum Isola Di Salina, Italy - Malfa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing