We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves no 1 spot”
Review of Signum

Signum
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Malfa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Deserves no 1 spot”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Amazing setting ,awesome service ,very upmarket,hidden away....simply unforgettable....this is a must visit restaurant,but prior reservation is essential

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nordicpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    53
    28
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Ate here 2 nights in a row!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had a lovely 5 days on Salina in April - which is off season so many restaurants were closed. But, I think we still would have been tempted to go here twice!
I am coeliac, and gluten free was not a problem here - I did not miss out on a thing.
The first night we had 5 courses with matching wines - we just kept ordering!
The second night we just had 3 and my husband had the matching wines - lest I repeat the performance of staggering next door to the hotel.
Overall, it was expensive for southern Italy, but nothing ridiculous, and worth it for the standard of food and service. Definitely recommend

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussiePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The fare was meh”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was just okay. Bland without much seasoning - but the service is extra special. They make fresh pastas so I'd stick with that!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mControl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magic place”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just everything was right: staff, food, rooms, gardens, view. If you're ever in need for quiet, sensual and inspiring moments, looking after your mental and bodily well being, I wish you'd go to Malfa and Hotel Signum.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DorisEdwardsGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious and perfect setting”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The food was delicious as was the wine. The staff were delightful and the service excellent. The hotel Sommelier was passionate about his wines and we more adventurous with our wine choice thanks to him.

Not cheap, but lovely as a treat!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank emmacave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signum also viewed

Malfa, Isola di Salina
Malfa, Isola di Salina
 
Lingua, Isola di Salina
 
Santa Marina Salina, Isola di Salina
Malfa, Isola di Salina
 

Been to Signum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing