We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Aeolian Village Renovation”
Review of Hotel Ravesi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ravesi
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malfa
Certificate of Excellence
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Aeolian Village Renovation”
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Hotel Ravesi is the result of an exquisite renovation that honors the site's history. Ms. Ravesi, owner, is an excellent host, and Julianna, who speaks excellent English, is her knowledgeable, helpful assistant. We had the good fortune of being upgraded to a beautiful junior suite, which was housed in a free standing building. Grounds are exquisite, breakfast excellent, view is superior and hotel enjoys an excellent location. Travel was in October, so bar was closed, which eliminated potential of noise, as mentioned in some other reviews. A special memory is the music of a fine choir from the adjacent church on a Sunday morning. Despite excellent bus service, we rented a car to easily explore and to access wonderful hiking trails and found the hotel's free parking area useful. If fortunate to return, this would once again be our destination.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    71
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
276
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ny, ny
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Loved every minute of being here. The views are unbeatable, the surroundings filled with rosemary, lavender, lemon trees and beautiful flowers, the staff so accommodating, and the location right in the middle of Malfa.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nn510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We arrived at Ravesi after a hard days travelling and were greeted with a warm welcome by the lovely and helpful Giuliana. From the off everything was exceptional - we had a deluxe room with sea view, overlooking the elegant infinity pool, in which everything was sparklingly clean.
The breakfast was delicious - plenty of choice and really attentive (but never intrusive) staff. Spent lovely days just relaxing by the pool and taking in the view out to smoking Stromboli and Giuliana had helpful recommendations for how to spend our time - such as hiring a scooter and driving around the island. She was also invaluable and very patient when helping us to check ferry and bus times.
The hotel is ideally situated for Malfa's amenities, with the town square, bus stop and a cheap and cheerful pizzeria just next door.
Thank you Ravesi for making our holiday so special.
Claire and James

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights at the hotel Ravesi and completely fell in love with the place. We can't wait to spend another holiday there!
We booked a standard room but got upgraded to a junior suite (thanks so much, Giuliana) which was beautiful (we had a look at the other rooms and they are lovely too) and quiet. The pool is small but never crowded and the view on Stromboli and Lipari (was it Lipari?) are unforgettable. The breakfast was one of the best ones we had in Sicily and the absence of a restaurant in the evening isn't a problem at all; the Lumarrada, located 5 mn walk from the hotel is good and very convenient (super friendly staff too). For a treat I'd recommend the Porto Bello in Santa Marina and our favourite, the wonderful Al Cappero (cheap, delicious and organic) in Pollara (recommended by the lovely Giuliana @ ravesi).
It's very easy to go around the island with the bus (which stops 3 mn from the hotel); the beach of Pollara is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen - much nicer than the beach of Punta Scario which is located 10 mn walk from the hotel. It's also super easy to visit the other islands....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e8vsse15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stated at the Ravesi in June 2010. With regard to the review below, we booked two superior rooms for our party which provided the cheapest room option and were advised when we booked that if we wanted a full sea view we should book a deluxe room. So werent disappointed with out room - on the contrary the terrace and view we did have was better tha we'd been led to believe. We were also a day late arriving at the hotel as we were stranded on the island of FIlicudi when all the ferries were cancelled. We were aware of the hotel's cancellation policy abd were fully expecting to have to claim for the missing night on our travel insurance. So we were pleasantly surprised when we were charged only for the nights we stayed. And my brother was upgraded to a deluxe room into the bargain!
The hotel has beautiful grounds (well tended gardens with lovely plants) and pool area with wonderful views out to Stromboli - water is very cold though! Delicious breakfast with choice of freshly baked pastries, fruit etc served on the terrace of a nice outbuilding near the pool/ The hotel also provides lunches (mainly salads) which were quite expensive and too large for us. So we asked to share a salad and this was served withut any question. No evening meal option, which means the hotel is quiet in the evenings and there are a number of restaurants within walking distance, ranging from trattorias serving pizza/pasta dishes to more expensive a la carte options. Hotel receptionist will book and often get a discount for you. There are also a number of bars in walking distance for aperitifs and nibbles. Some of them also offer a mouthwatreing choice of ice creams
We prebooked taxis through the htel on arrival and departure but at other times used the bus service from Malfa works well - we went to the main port and also to the village beach where the film Il Postino (The Postman) was filmed but there are other options as well if you stay longer with buses to most destinations every hour to hour and a half
Our one reservation about the hotel came when we wanted to find out about ferries when we were leaving. Given the probelms we had getting to the island I was quite anxious about getting to our next destination (Stromboli). The hotel receptionist couldnt get through to the ferry office and then pretty much left us with the phone number and to our own devices to find out if the ferries were running. We felt she could have been more helpful and we spent quite an anxious last day wondering if we would be able to get away (my brother had to get back to the mainland to catch a plane). But apart from this the hotel and the village of Malfa were beautiful, elegant and well worth the effort to get there

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amethystgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2010

A superb hotel. The photographs do not do the swimming pool and garden area justice, they are wonderful - just wish we could have stayed in this oasis for longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338GDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2010

A delightful blend of Tradition and modern touch: An old Aeolian mansion restored with great concern and respect for its original features.

Very charming and exquisite hospitality: the owners of Ravesi surely know how to make you feel at home! That kind of service you can only find in family run businesses with a very strong attention for details.

Lovely "aperitivos" with musics around the pool, overlooking a mesmerizing panorama.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolacaligiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malfa
12.2 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
400 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Borgo Eolie Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lipari
582 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#4 of 33 in Lipari
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Principe di Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ravesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ravesi

Property: Hotel Ravesi
Address: Via Roma 66, 98050, Malfa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Malfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Malfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ravesi 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ravesi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravesi Hotel Malfa
Hotel Ravesi Isola Di Salina, Italy - Malfa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing