We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Starhotels Grand Milan
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saronno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was booked In advance as a stopover on a driving holiday from the UK to Italy. When we arrived, we wished we had booked fork longer! Plush wasn't the word and the fact that our 'in advance, no cancellations' rate was miniscule was the Icing on the cake! Room wasENORMOUS!, whole hotel was clean and tidy, breakfast was lush and the bed was very comfortable - well done Starhotels!! A prossimo anno!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chazzer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
There are newer reviews for Starhotels Grand Milan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 775 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

Modern, spacious hotel which I've used several times when visiting relatives nearby. The only downside of staying in a hotel as good as this is that, to quote Bart Simpson, "It makes our own home look like crap!" A five minute stroll from the station (Use the passageway under the tracks and walk away from the station buildings). Note that the Malpensa Express from the airport no longer always stops at Saronno- some go non-stop to Milan, so ask for platform number when buying your ticket. Saronno itself is a pleasant but unremarkable town, but the station puts you about 25 mins from Milan and a similar distance from Como in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saronno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Booked a room here as a stopover on our way to Tuscany by car. Just about managed to find a car parking space within the grounds of the hotel, although you can pay for underground parking if you wish.
The check in process was painless, with the reception area situated in a very large air conditioned foyer. Large being the operative word. The bedrooms were on a par with the size of rooms I associate with hotels in the States. Spotlessly clean with a huge comfortable double bed which seemed miles away from a suprisingly small flat screen television !
My wife would have slept in the bathroom, as it was so well appointed and comfortable !
We always bring our own tea making facilities, having bought a kettle from Belgium several years ago, and so we never worry about the absence of tea/coffee making facilities. I often wonder, how other Brits manage in this area ?
Anyway, as a treat we thought we would have room service and ordered breakfast to be taken in our room. It stated that there was a service charge of 5 euros for this service. The breakfast arrived dead on time, on a single tray (we're not greedy), brought up by a hotel worker. Missing my bacon and eggs already (we were on our third day of travelling to Siena, via Dunkerque, Epinal and now Saronno), I thought I would sample Italian bacon and eggs. The bacon was streaky but tasty, and the eggs were scrambled, and boy were they yellow! I
Whatever they feed those italian chickens sure produces a lot of colour in their yolks !
I also sampled a german sausage - which suprised me because I almost liked it ! However, there is no hiding the fact that when you order room service, you can not expect it to be piping hot - and my food wasn't. What suprised us was the fact that on check out we were charged 5 euros EACH. This is not clearly stated on the menu.
However, at the start of the holiday I had plenty of money, so what's 5 euros. More expense lay ahead in Tuscany and Umbria.
Fascinated by the colour of my scrambled egg, and indeed by the general quality of this hotel, we decided to book a night on our return when travelling back to Swansea from Florence in two weeks time - but this time, we went down for breakfast, so the bacon and eggs were piping hot - and even more yellow !!
And this time, I booked a single room, and my wife did sleep in the bathroom !
Only joking !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drkelvinsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Modern, clean hotel, comfortable room. Close to the railway station, only a five minute walk. Due to flight delays it was well after 10:00 PM when we turned up but the staff were friendly and polite, and the restaurant staff didn't seem too put out when we turned up 1 minute before closing time. Hot and cold buffet breakfast was fine. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Glengavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were booked into this hotel for 3 nights as we had to visit a factory close by, just before the summer vacation brings Italy to a halt.
The hotel is very convenient location to Milan MXP airport, and is 2nd stop on the express train to Milan from MXP. Don’t bother with a taxi from the airport, it will be about E70, and the train on Fri afternoon at least goes every 20 minutes and is cheap. Ticket price is 6 euro so much cheaper than a taxi. Some of the hotel booking sites give the hotel location as 150m from the Saronno train but it is more like 500m, but still reasonable walking distance, about the same distance as in many airport terminals to go from baggage claim to carpark. The easiest path from the station to the hotel is to go to the exit near platform 6, and not the main entrance. Then turn left, and follow the road around keeping the building construction site on your left. The hotel is large and is the only real landmark in the location.
The check in was smooth and efficient, and the room was good, but surprise was the really small TV, and it only has the dreaded BBC world news, where everything is on a half hour repeat endlessly for days. No CNN, and no eg Skynews.
The bathroom was OK with a shaving mirror and bidet, but the tub was narrow so standing for a shower was a bit tough, especially as the shower head kept dropping to spray water backwards! Still managed.
Bed OK, but only one pwer point near the desk, so had to do everything there, charge the GPS, the mobile and plug in the laptop.
Free wifi in the hotel but frankly the wifi in the room I was in was a disaster, kept dropping out, with a weak signal, but good enough for emails.
Breakfast was good and included in the reasonable tariff, Typical selection of juices, cereals, coffees (not very good surprisingly) and bread rolls, croissants, cold cuts etc. There was also quiet good scrambled eggs and bacon around behind a wall.

I recommend this hotel very much

Room Tip: You don't get a choice when book on the internet. But the location is very very quiet so not a p...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was a better hotel than I was expecting, pretty modern, nice beds, good bathroom, strong A/C (which in the summer in Italy/Europe is saying something). The breakfast is good, you can get it for room service for only a 5 Euro upcharge which was great. Easy 2-3 blocks to the train station with direct trains to either Milan Malpensa airport (MXP) or Downtown Milan. Just a few blocks beyond the train station is also the little Saronno downtown area which was also pleasant.

MXP airport is far away from downtown Milan, and Saronno is about mid-way. The taxi to and from was about 70 Euro and took about 25 minutes.

The only issue I had was the WiFi internet access, but they offered to change rooms to one where the signal was stronger (no wired access avail.).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricAllred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Last week, we stayed 2 days in Starhotel Saronno.The hotel is near the highway .
We had a late arrival. The check-in was quick and efficient.
We parked the car in front of the hotel.
The room was very clean. Breakfast was good : fresh fruit , juices, ....
Only 5 minutes walk, you reach the trainstation where you can take the train to Milano Centrale ( 20 minutes )
This was our second stay in Starhotel Saronno. And we would definitely stay again.
ps : This morning, I received a 'thank you ' e-mail !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mieke4803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saronno
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pioppeto Saronno
Hotel Pioppeto Saronno
#2 of 6 in Saronno
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peralba Motel
Peralba Motel
#4 of 6 in Saronno
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Della Rotonda
Hotel Della Rotonda
#3 of 6 in Saronno
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Litta Palace
Hotel Litta Palace
#1 of 4 in Lainate
327 reviews
6.0 mi away
Just Hotel Lomazzo Fiera
2.3 mi away
Albergo dei Laghi
Albergo dei Laghi
#1 of 1 in Turate
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Grand Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Grand Milan

Address: Via Varese 23, 21047 Saronno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Saronno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saronno
Price Range: $81 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Grand Milan 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Grand Milan in Saronno. Our location is exceptionally convenient beside Ferrovie Nord train station, only 20 minutes from Malpensa airport and the new Milan Exhibition Centre and 20 minutes by car from Como Lake.Our beautiful avant-garde design offers you everything you need. There are 248 chic spacious rooms and residences for long stay; 14 flexible meeting rooms with an overall capacity of 1,000 delegates; Hostaria restaurant and bar; a Cigar Room featuring some of the world's finest luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Starhotels Grand Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Grand Milan Saronno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing