We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... value for money”
Review of Santa Maria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Maria Resort
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Orosei
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Excellent location for visiting the (beautiful) region. Very kind staff, nice swimming pool, .. in other words value for money ! The rooms are small but the price for the room is also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan999Antwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Santa Maria Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 320 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice welcoming with luggage and travelers "delivery" to the house with the electro car! Friendly staff. Comfortable rooms with the spectacular view to the mountains and swimming pool. Peace and quiet arround. Excellent breakfast with cheese, ham, omelet, sweets,etc. Excellent value for money! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solvita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a mini 2 nights break as we were visiting my family in Sardinia. The resort is located just outside Orosei and it is decorated with a lovely Sardinian style. We arrived around lunch time, sadly we were welcomed from a "I will be back soon" sign on the reception desk, we had to wait about 10/15 minutes for a young guy to appear (?) was him at lunch?
You need a car and a boat. The surrounding beaches are really poor, I guess what you see on brochures is accessible only via boat and they don't tell you that! The first night we decide to go out for dinner (very good choice as we found a superb agriturismo 10 minute away by car). The day after, breakfast was a disaster they had a restricted selection of both continental and English breakfast, UHT milk, packed plain croissants, coffees/cappuccinos from a vending machine and fruits were literally three bananas and few apples. I actually think they don't have any clue about what an English breakfast looks like as they prepare rolls, cheese and ham slices...WOW! My English boyfriend was very disappointed.
We got in our car and we drove to the north coast looking for a decent beach - at the least on our second day we hoped to find a nicer beach - but nothing what we could see were just rocks rocks and rocks. We were that fed up that we went back to the hotel and we left one day early. We will try to visit again in future on a BOAT! :-(

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sabrie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for three nights end of September on our first trip to Sardinia. It was charming and very peaceful. The rooms are individual Sardinian style cottages surrounding a lovely pool. Most of the guests who stayed whilst we were there disappeared after breakfast and didnt return until early evening. It is the perfect spot to relax and unwind. Our room was clean and well furnished with a TV, ample wardrobe space and two Queen sized beds. The bathroom was fine, but no bathtub which wasn't a problem for us as we like to shower. There was a small mini bar which we didn't actually use and a guest-safe which we didn't use either. Can't comment on the food as we didn't actually eat there, but there didn't appear to be any complaints from other guests. You definitely need a car if you are thinking of staying here though, and it is ideally situated for you to explore many east coast beaches. Very reasonably priced for our stay too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turkeytrotter10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

upon arrival/ check in , front desk attendant seemed pre occupied, as if we were interrupting him.
When he acknowledged us (finally looked up, from his papers) he took our passports then took us to the room across the parking lot.
It was very compact/small. We brought in our luggage and tried to unpack but there was not enough space to open the suite case except the bed.There was a cabinet with drawers , but you could not open them because the bed was too close and attached to the wall, so it could not be moved over. We tried to set the code for the safe - according to the instructions provided, but we were not successful. We went back to the front office for assistance, again this did not go well.... While the attendant waved his hand by us, 5 min wait. A couple had just pulled up, and he was assisting them (they spoke Italian) We watched as he greeted them.. Helped them unloading there bags to the golf cart, then took then to there room about 30 min's later (while we were waiting another couple stopped in the office as well, but left after a few min's. of waiting themselves) When he did arrive back his attitude was unacceptable. We told him that our wait was a long 5 min's. He said that was not his problem- he was by himself and had to check guests in, and he was very busy. Excuse me! But we were guests as well, and did not to waste 30 min's of our vacation to get assistance from this person. We told him about the safe, enquired about the Internet service (which is available..for an extra charge, you would receive a code and let him know in advance of using it so he could apply the hourly charge) He made a call about the safe and some one came to our room. We also had to ask for our passports back as he said he was too busy to process them and needed to make copies. The instructions were not right and that was the problem, the door to the desk (where the fridge may have been located was locked) but we were told to go back to the desk. There was no chance this was going to happen because the man was both rude and arrogant in dealing with us. The way we were spoken to was unacceptable, we are paying guests and he should treat ALL guests with respect. This was very disappointing overall and for these reason we give this whole experience a bad rating, for a hotel that claims to give 4 star service. I would strongly suggest that you hire 2 attendants to be available to the guests if they are they are that overwhelmed with checking people for there stay. Had your policy not been - pay in advance and no refunds .We would have left your hotel and spent our 2 nights somewhere else with pleasant-helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TellTheTruth2Friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After reading some of the reviews for this place, we were a little concerned. However, since our trip was last minute we were limited on where we could stay, we took a chance. This place turned out to be fantastic. The room was great (We were in a family room with a King sized bed and a bunk bed for our kids). The breakfast wasn't fantastic, but was decent for the price we paid for the room. The pool was very refreshing and there didn't seem to be a shortage of sun loungers. The staff went out of their way to accomodate to us. One night at dinner, our 3 year old got very sleepy and fell asleep in my arms. We had just ordered a bottle of wine and the waiter allowed us to take the glasses and wine back to our room to enjoy so that the little one could sleep. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the staff was very helpful to us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We originally planned to stay here for 2 nights and ended up staying for 3. What a beautiful place; calm, friendly management and staff and a gorgeous swimming pool.
Fantastic price/value and great location considering its just outside of Orosei which isn't that beautiful itself but is comfortably close to places like Cala Ganone.

Really enjoyed our stay and had an amazing experience there- very relaxing and ZEN atmosphere.
Would definitely had stayed longer if we hadn't been travelling around the island.

Salvatore- thank you ever so much for printing out lots of information for us for our day trips :)

We'll be back for sure !!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Joana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orosei hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Rosaria
Hotel Maria Rosaria
#13 of 22 in Orosei
216 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel & Residence Cala Liberotto
0.8 mi away
Hotel Baia Marina
Hotel Baia Marina
#11 of 22 in Orosei
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Club Hotel Torre Moresca
4.6 mi away
Gli Ontani
Gli Ontani
#18 of 22 in Orosei
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo Diffuso Mannois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Resort

Address: Localita Santa Maria SNC, 08028, Orosei, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Orosei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orosei
Price Range: $46 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rural setting 2 km from Orosei and the Mediterranean Sea, Santa Maria Resort is a new property offering a modern Sardinian design and a large swimming pool surrounded by greenery. Resort Santa Maria features attractive rooms with wood-beamed ceilings and pastel colour schemes. Each one is air conditioned and comes with satellite TV and a minibar. Breakfast is buffet style. On request, you can also enjoy wellness facilities including a gym, hot tub and hydrotherapy showers. A range of massages and beauty treatments are also on offer. Staff can organise a variety of activities for you, including horse-riding, trekking and food and wine tours. Guided quad-bike tours are available as is bike and scooter rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Santa Maria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Resort Orosei, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing